We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience of a resort”
Review of Swosti Palm Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swosti Palm Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gopalpur On Sea
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Good staff , exorbitant food , does not feel like a resort the beach facing rooms have a lousy view you can see the sea of course but there is a cess pool of sorts more like a large sewer filled pond between the resort and the beach . It looks more like a resort in the later stages of its life with quite a few unused buildings around so ambiance wise the rating would be poor.
The food is good but expensive , staff is excellent , very friendly and helpful. That is the only reason why I have rated it to be average and not poor . I would not call it a resort left to me.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sai P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 88 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

It is a good property and the staff is also friendly, but the management has the tendency of cutting corners of the promised packages. So, read between the lines when booking, and insist on the assured services when there.

Room Tip: The first floor road facing rooms are good to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gautam1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights. The staff here was very welcoming. As soon as I entered the hotel the receptionist was pleasant and instantly connected with my reservation. The Manager then came and introduced himself. Served me some Pepsi as a welcome drink. My room was on the 2nd floor and I couldn't locate the A/C. The staff was very prompt in attending to me and switched on the A/C. Was provided with the essentials - but do not expect the spotless bed-linen / towels or spring mattress. But it was comfortable and did the job.

Ordered dinner via room service. The Tomato Dhania shorba was good, but rest was average. The portions are Huge - can easily serve 3. So beware. But service was one of the best I have seen, clockwork like cleaning and serving of starters and main-course. This would beat any 5-star hollow. Simply outstanding service.

Had some issues with the room on the 2nd night when the A/C conked off. The staff again was very prompt in offering me an alternate room and sent across staff to ferry my luggage, but I declined as I was scheduled to check out the next morning.

The beach is about 1km away, but makes for a pleasant walk through town. The entrance is not very enticing with a slushy swamp ahead and a slum next door. Hence mosquitoes are a drawback though. There is a new Hotel coming up adjacent and am sure it would pose serious competetion to this.

Pricing is moderate - reasonable but not cheap. Bottomline: Infrastructre is a little old and worn down. But a warm and efficient staff make up for it. Best option in and around Gopalpur / Behrampur for sure.

Room Tip: Take a room on the side to avoid open view of a slum or swamp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aamadmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed in this resort (i wonder why it is resort..not more than regular hotel) during mid July for 2 nights. We had a bitter experience staying here:

1) we did not like the location of this resort - it has a dingy swamp..slum area in front of it, the approach road is filthy.
2) we entered our room on the 2nd floor, the room was in bad shape..with broken sinks, chipped beds, dangling wires from the socket & no working AC
3) we changed rooms 4 times during our stay as the AC just does not work & when it works, makes a lot of noise.
4) view the room - horrible..they say sea view, but sea is nowhere to be seen, it is the slum view
5) when we complained about the AC issues, the manager blamed it on power cuts. then why charge for AC if you cannot provide it continously during the stay. We want AC to work throughout our stay & not be disturbed by the swealtering heat of this place
6) Due to AC not working & unbearable heat, i had an eye infection & just could not enjoy my vacation here & had to beg hubby from not taking my snaps with the swolen eye :( :( no doctor on call in the hotel, had to go out somewhere in Gopalpur..which we did not do..very scared to go to some random doctor on the street!!

Apart from the above, the service staff is really courteous..albeit a little short handed. 1 man handles the restaurant, room service, taking orders, serving food etc.

Ofcoarse, after reaching my home town, i called up Makemytrip & blasted them for choosing this resort for our stay & now after a month long delay..they offering me a paltry refund

Extremely dissappointed !!!

Room Tip: make urself a favour by not staying in this resort... wait for few months till the Mayfair Hotel is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Madhumathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I visited Gopalpur On Sea with my family on 9th March'12 & I stayed in this hotel in a Suite Room for 3 nights.The hotel is a nice one in Gopalpur as well as the staffs were very helpful & the food was awesome.Service is also very fast.The only drawback is the location of the hotel.It is too far from seabeach.But at last I enjoyed a lot in the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swosti, General Manager at Swosti Palm Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We very sincerely thank you for your appreciative and very encouraging kind words of praise for our unique hotel product and services, your generous love and affection towards us is an indication of our performance and customer service is a source of inspiration to our team.

We are glad to note that you had found our hotel excellent in every respect and that you had left us with the very positive & good impression of our unique product quality and services.

You had very much liked and enjoyed our good quality & delicious food, services, etc for which Swosti Palm Resort has earned its reputation and has build its image all through the world.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Swosti Palm Resort in the near future.
Thanking you

Rajendra Kumar Puhan
Operation Manager
Swosti Palm Resort
om.hspl@mailswosti.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gopalpur On Sea
165.3 km away
Mayfair Palm Beach Resort
Mayfair Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Gopalpur On Sea
359 reviews
15 km away
Mayfair Lagoon
Mayfair Lagoon
#1 of 61 in Bhubaneswar
817 reviews
15.2 km away
Pal Heights
Pal Heights
#5 of 61 in Bhubaneswar
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 km away
Swosti Premium Hotel
Swosti Premium Hotel
#10 of 61 in Bhubaneswar
515 reviews
14.7 km away
Ginger Bhubaneshwar
Ginger Bhubaneshwar
#3 of 61 in Bhubaneswar
929 reviews
17.1 km away
Hotel Hindusthan International
Hotel Hindusthan International
#12 of 61 in Bhubaneswar
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swosti Palm Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swosti Palm Resort

Address: Gopalpur-On-Sea, Gopalpur On Sea, India
Region: India > Odisha > Ganjam District > Gopalpur On Sea
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gopalpur On Sea
Price Range: ₹ 2,837 - ₹ 7,608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Swosti Palm Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Yatra, MakeMyTrip, ClearTrip, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and TravelGuru so you can book your Swosti Palm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swosti Palm Hotel Gopalpur On Sea
Swosti Palm Resort Gopalpur On Sea, Odisha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing