We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip staying in this resort”
Review of Swosti Palm Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swosti Palm Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gopalpur On Sea
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed in this resort (i wonder why it is resort..not more than regular hotel) during mid July for 2 nights. We had a bitter experience staying here:

1) we did not like the location of this resort - it has a dingy swamp..slum area in front of it, the approach road is filthy.
2) we entered our room on the 2nd floor, the room was in bad shape..with broken sinks, chipped beds, dangling wires from the socket & no working AC
3) we changed rooms 4 times during our stay as the AC just does not work & when it works, makes a lot of noise.
4) view the room - horrible..they say sea view, but sea is nowhere to be seen, it is the slum view
5) when we complained about the AC issues, the manager blamed it on power cuts. then why charge for AC if you cannot provide it continously during the stay. We want AC to work throughout our stay & not be disturbed by the swealtering heat of this place
6) Due to AC not working & unbearable heat, i had an eye infection & just could not enjoy my vacation here & had to beg hubby from not taking my snaps with the swolen eye :( :( no doctor on call in the hotel, had to go out somewhere in Gopalpur..which we did not do..very scared to go to some random doctor on the street!!

Apart from the above, the service staff is really courteous..albeit a little short handed. 1 man handles the restaurant, room service, taking orders, serving food etc.

Ofcoarse, after reaching my home town, i called up Makemytrip & blasted them for choosing this resort for our stay & now after a month long delay..they offering me a paltry refund

Extremely dissappointed !!!

Room Tip: make urself a favour by not staying in this resort... wait for few months till the Mayfair Hotel is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Madhumathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 93 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2012

I visited Gopalpur On Sea with my family on 9th March'12 & I stayed in this hotel in a Suite Room for 3 nights.The hotel is a nice one in Gopalpur as well as the staffs were very helpful & the food was awesome.Service is also very fast.The only drawback is the location of the hotel.It is too far from seabeach.But at last I enjoyed a lot in the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swosti, General Manager at Swosti Palm Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We very sincerely thank you for your appreciative and very encouraging kind words of praise for our unique hotel product and services, your generous love and affection towards us is an indication of our performance and customer service is a source of inspiration to our team.

We are glad to note that you had found our hotel excellent in every respect and that you had left us with the very positive & good impression of our unique product quality and services.

You had very much liked and enjoyed our good quality & delicious food, services, etc for which Swosti Palm Resort has earned its reputation and has build its image all through the world.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Swosti Palm Resort in the near future.
Thanking you

Rajendra Kumar Puhan
Operation Manager
Swosti Palm Resort
om.hspl@mailswosti.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed here for four days, hotel staff are really friendly will go out of there way to please you. I wish i could expereince such staff in popular location.
Hotel has blocked open garbabge dump in front, not a pleasent expereince. Beach is dirty with people [--] in sand. To much litter and garbage.
Food - poor guys dont know how to cook, they will try most of them need a lot of trainning. The govt/council needs to put in a lot of money for the town to work as tourist destination

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baldeagle8869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The hotel itself is good and we had a comfortable stay. However, our room was facing a huge cesspool, which was a real turnoff. I don't know if the rooms facing the other side have a better view. Since we stayed only for a night we did not investigate. It was really in a convenient location to visit the beach as it was just a 5-minute walk, but as soon as you came out of the hotel the terrible stench hit you.

Room Tip: Check out the view from the window before choosing the room. Our room was facing the beach, but beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nandini n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We were supposed to have been there for lunch between 1 & 3 pm with a group of 40 persons approximately, but could reach there only at around 6.30pm. There was nothing lacking though, the warmth with which we were received, the quality of food served, the attention paid to us by the staff. Well, definitely deserves appreciation.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmergingOrissa2156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swosti, General Manager at Swosti Palm Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We very sincerely thank you for your appreciative and very encouraging kind words of praise for our unique hotel product and services, your generous love and affection towards us is an indication of our performance and customer service is a source of inspiration to our team.

We are glad to note that you had found our hotel excellent in every respect and that you had left us with the very positive & good impression of our unique product quality and services.

You had very much liked and enjoyed our good quality & delicious food, services, etc for which Swosti Palm Resort has earned its reputation and has build its image all through the world.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Swosti Palm Resort in the near future.
Thanking you

Rajendra Kumar Puhan
Operation Manager
Swosti Palm Resort
om.hspl@mailswosti.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gopalpur On Sea
165.3 km away
Mayfair Palm Beach Resort
Mayfair Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Gopalpur On Sea
359 reviews
15 km away
Mayfair Lagoon
Mayfair Lagoon
#1 of 61 in Bhubaneswar
818 reviews
15.2 km away
Pal Heights
Pal Heights
#5 of 61 in Bhubaneswar
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 km away
Swosti Premium Hotel
Swosti Premium Hotel
#10 of 61 in Bhubaneswar
515 reviews
14.7 km away
Ginger Bhubaneshwar
Ginger Bhubaneshwar
#3 of 61 in Bhubaneswar
930 reviews
17.1 km away
Hotel Hindusthan International
Hotel Hindusthan International
#12 of 61 in Bhubaneswar
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swosti Palm Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swosti Palm Resort

Address: Gopalpur-On-Sea, Gopalpur On Sea, India
Region: India > Odisha > Ganjam District > Gopalpur On Sea
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gopalpur On Sea
Price Range: ₹ 2,820 - ₹ 7,562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Swosti Palm Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Yatra, MakeMyTrip, Booking.com, ClearTrip, Agoda, Hotels.com and TravelGuru so you can book your Swosti Palm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swosti Palm Hotel Gopalpur On Sea
Swosti Palm Resort Gopalpur On Sea, Odisha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing