We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very modern and funky.”
Review of AC Hotel Som

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AC Hotel Som
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We wanted to take the kids to Barcelona so booked adjacent rooms on the top floor and spent 3 nights here. Very nice hotel, modern and funky, great bathrooms and the free mini bar with soft drinks was a big hit with the kids (aged 14 and 16). We found the location very convenient - only 12 euros for a taxi to Plaza Cataluna - and just three mintues walk across the road to the Gran Via 2 shopping centre and restaurants. The staff very helpful and friendly - could not fault them - and the rooms were spotless. Only drawback was the fact that the air con does not work on the "cold" setting and the rooms were absolutely roasting - also no extractor fan in the bathroom and we had to have the window open to breath. That seriously needs adjustment - would hate to stay there in the summer, it must be hell. Breakfast was nice but a bit over priced at 15 euros per head - still I suppose they have to get the money back somehow for the free mini bar! Overall nice hotel and we had a good time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DolphinEspana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IgnacioArias, Director General at AC Hotel Som, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear reviewer,

Thanks so much for your kind commets, and sorry about the heating. As you know we are having a warm winter (¿?) and this is driving us crazy, with the temperatures in the rooms.

If we have the expected time on summer, the air conditioning will be working properly, so our guests won´t have problems.

We wish you come back and check it, so it will be my pleasur to welcome back again!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

256 - 260 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

Nice rooms though very small. Had to go to lobby to get wifi - kind of a pain. and out in the middle of nowhere. if going to conference at New Fira Center you are close, if downtown my Montejuc then out of the way, and if you are a tourist and want to hang out in Old Town then you are pretty far away.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnsnsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IgnacioArias, Director General at AC Hotel Som, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Dear reviewer,

The wifi policy is a Chain standard, free in the Lobby, but with pre-paid telefonica´s cards in the room.

Obviously I don't think we are "in the middlr of nowhere", as far as we are placed in a quiet neightbour near one of the biggest and nicest Shopping Mall (Gran Via 2) and only two subway stations to Plaza de España,then no more than 20 minutes far from Plaza de Cataluña.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I just had a two night stay at the AC Hotel Som. Although the hotel is not in the heart of the city, but the location is very convenient given the following:
1. Direct bus #46 (cost: 2 EUR) from the airport for 25-30 minutes (depending on your airline terminal), which drops you off at Gran Via 2 Mall/Carrefour and you walk behind the building, cross the street and walk further down toward the apartments - and there you will find the hotel.
2. Metro station is less than a 5 minute walk - and right next to it there is the bus stop for #46 to take you back to the airport and the other bus that takes you to the city if you don't to use the metro
3. Gran Via 2 Mall is right across the street with lots of shops, restaurants and Carrefour (huge grocery store)

The beds are so comfortable. Room size is okay. Very clean, however, with toiletries and such things that you need. The hotel staff is very helpful and will give you directions and look things up for you regarding transportation, bus schedule, etc. Alex was very helpful and always with a smile on his face. The minibar with water and soft drinks (replenished daily) is a nice touch.

Only concerns with the hotel are:
1. I'm used to Marriott hotels and having a kettle and tea and Nescafe packets to make yourself a hot drink whenever you need one. There isn't such a thing at this hotel. While it's now part of/affiliated with Marriott, I think this is something they should definitely consider adding to the rooms. I have to give them credit though because I asked for hot water and they immediately delivered a pot of hot water that we used for tea. So not a really complaint, but a suggestion.
2. What's with the bathroom design?! I wish I took a picture. The bathroom door is apparently contemporary and trendy, BUT it's like tainted glass (see-thru) with ~1 inch gap from both sides of the door so there is no privacy if you're with others in the room, and obviously it has no knob/lock. The other issue is the bathroom does not have a vent.

Definitely, great value for the price and location.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mon82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IgnacioArias, Director General at AC Hotel Som, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thaks so much for your nice review of the AC SOM Hotel.

Most of all for your nice words of our staff and, particularly, about Alex. he will be delighted with them.

We feel sorry about your concerns of the kettle and facility tray for hot beverages. It is not an standard in AC Hotels by Marriott. Maybe in our next future it will be revisited.

About the WC, the glass door is just a matter of design, and there is a vent in the ceiling with a special pipe, so as in most of the inside (no window) bathrooms.

Hope we will welcome back you in your next visit to Barcelona

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I paid 70 eur for 1 night and found the hotel is quite appropriate. Staff was efficient and helpful, I was allowed to make early check-in at 10:00 and late check-out at 14:00. Rooms are quite comfortable, clean and well-furnished, I like such style. Minibar with lots of drinks is for free. Location is convenient, easy to get to the airport by bus (and very cheap, like 2-3 eur) and the city centre by train. Definitely i'll stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cestovatel_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IgnacioArias, Director General at AC Hotel Som, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your good evaluation, most of all for the staff remaks.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back in your next visit to Barcelona.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

AC Som is a very nice hotel located around 20 minutes from the city center by metro (the station is a 5-minutes walk away). It is in a calm and secure area with an enormous shopping mall right next to it. The hotel presents itself as a modern stylish hotel: it looks nice, is clean, has good service and great breakfast. However, don't expect anything too charming like in a vintage hotel! The free non-alcoholic minibar is a very good idea. I also need to congratulate the staff that is nice and extremely helpful.

On the downside, I most of all noticed that the AC group is part of those stupid hotel chains that do not offer free WiFi in the rooms. Any independent hotel has that today, however some groups think that 6EUR/hr are acceptable. I know it's a company policy and not the hotel's fault (they at least have free WiFi in the lobby) but this has to be said! You should also be aware that the rooms get very hot in winter due to overly efficient heating that cannot be properly regulated and too small windows.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on one of the top floors, they have a very nice view over the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ExpatGenevois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IgnacioArias, Director General at AC Hotel Som, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks very much not just for your kind words about our facilities and location, but for the staff. I know they are always trying to do their best and work hard to make our guests feel comfortable. They will be happy with your recognition.

Sorry about the wifi system in the room, but as you've said, it is a Chain policy... Surely you know that now we are part of Marriott (world's leading hotel Chain) so maybe we can improve these details.

The issue with the climatization is that we are having a quite warm winter, and depending on the side of the building the room faces, the sun and large glass windows' surface increases the in-room temperature up to an abnormal way for these days. We are working with our technical services to fix a different range of temperatures depending on each façade.

I'm glad you've enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to welcome back soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
0 km away
Hotel SB Plaza Europa
Hotel SB Plaza Europa
#3 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,358 reviews
0.9 km away
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
#1 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,641 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Porta Fira
Hotel Porta Fira
#2 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Euro Hotel Gran Via Fira
Euro Hotel Gran Via Fira
#8 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
318 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Fira Congress
Hotel Fira Congress
#5 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
695 reviews
2.5 km away
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
#132 of 516 in Barcelona
2,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Som? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Som

Address: Arquitectura 1-3, 08908 L'Hospitalet de Llobregat, Spain (Formerly Minotel Capital)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
#5 Family Hotel in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Price Range: ₹ 3,948 - ₹ 11,085 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Som 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AC Som Hotel has an ideal location for all guests, especially for those who come to Barcelona, either for leisure or for work, finding a few minutes from downtown and the airport. This modern and functional hotel is located in the new trade fair area of Barcelona, at the Fira 2 and within walking distance of some of the most famous museums and cathedrals of the city. In the surrounding area has a wide range of shops and restaurants by the mall near the Gran Via 2El Hotel AC Som cuenta con una localización idónea para todos sus huéspedes, en especial para aquellos que llegan a Barcelona, ya sea por ocio o motivos de trabajo, al encontrarse a pocos minutos del centro de la ciudad y del aeropuerto.Este moderno y funcional hotel está ubicado en la nueva zona ferial de Barcelona, concretamente en La Fira 2 y a poca distancia de algunos de los museos y catedrales más famosos de la ciudad condal. En sus alrededores dispone de una ámplia oferta de tiendas y restauración por la proximidad del centro comercial Gran Via 2 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Som reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Som Barcelona
Ac Som Hotel Barcelona
AC Hotel Som Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing