We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“heavenly oasis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Habarana Village by Cinnamon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Habarana Village by Cinnamon
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Certificate of Excellence
oxford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“heavenly oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Hard to explain how beautiful this place is - The head chef is not only charming but having recently worked in Abu Dhabi he has brought a quality to his restaurant that is second to none. 4 Fresh lobster for a £3 surcharge... wow. The location is stunning with elephants and monkeys trying to join you but wisely kept away by the wonderful smiling staff. The rooms are clean tidy and fresh in a chalet style and the facilities stunning - Well done "Full Circle Travel" what an amazing place

Room Tip: everything is so lovely just kick back and enjoy - so different to the normal pace of life
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fruitbat0784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PramukshiKariyawasam, Pramukshi Kariyawasam- Public Relations, Chaaya Village Habarana at Habarana Village by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thank you for your review and feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Asian and Continental cuisine. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again at Chaaya Village Habarana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    538
    131
    26
    10
See reviews for
318
700
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

This was our first hotel on arrival in sri lanka. The staff were welcoming and friendly, the rooms were lovely and the food excellent, with a comprehensive high quality buffet for breakfast and dinner including both western and sri lankan food. The pool was nice. It was well located for most of the major sites in the cultural triangle including Dambulla, Sigiria and Polonnaruwa, and the Minneriya national park. The spa seemed very expensive so we didn't try that.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harold59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PramukshiKariyawasam, Pramukshi Kariyawasam- Public Relations, Chaaya Village Habarana at Habarana Village by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thank you for your review on our resort, it was a pleasure to host your group at our property. We appreciate your feedback on the rooms, food and beverage and the easy accessibility to the major tourist attractions in the area. Our spa may seem premium priced, however the quality and service of the spa is second to none. We hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

In truth we were expecting a lot from the Chaaya, based on reputation, reviews and the price. The air on in our room was barely working and the pool was filthy, when I asked to speak to someone I was given a paper review form to complete. This happened on 2 occasions so I filled it out and got no where. I also filled it out upon check out.

The dinner and breakfast buffet were very very good and varied.

We were not on a tour package at the Chaaya, they do get the majority of their guests on tour buses.

The pool is located in a lawn setting and it was absolutely burnt out. The little bugs and smell of sewage was overwhelming wherever you sat. When you come back from a hot day of climbing sites and you want to jump into the pool to cool off and you see the murky water it was a real turnoff. The filter system was not turned on and the staff was indifferent to the issue.

I did try and speak to the manager but they are well protected behind layers of people. An apology after a 2 night stay does not change the experience, they did have that opportunity while we were there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdlanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheharaAnthony, Pramukshi Kariyawasam- Public Relations, Chaaya Village Habarana at Habarana Village by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback on Chaaya Village Habarana. Your comments have been reviewed and taken into consideration.
Please do note that we maintain relevant standards of cleanliness at all times hence please do pardon us on the rare occasion of the pool not meeting your standard as it may have been due to the high winds which may have caused the leaves of the surrounding trees to land in the pool.
Since our resort is located in the dry zone where we do not expect regular rain fall, the feeling of dryness and dust could occasionally be experienced.
With regards to your comment of not being able to approach a Manager to address your concerns, we are quite alarmed that you were not assisted, as we always have a manager on duty who is approachable at all times.
We thank you sincerely for your comments and look forward to having you stay with us again.
Thank you for patronizing Chaaya Hotels & Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pune
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

a beautiful experience i should say. had cast a spell on me the moment i checked in. the staffs were extremely helpful and friendly. set in the midst of nature with a river flowing right behind the resort, the mornings and the evenings seemed to be magical. i suppose more than 70% of the total space was set aside for open space and greenery which really helps you to unwind. they have beautiful cottages for staying and when it rains at night , you can sit outside , watch , listen e and feel connected to nature.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bodhisattva b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

This hotel is charming and was the first hotel used by our Tour organisers Diethelm Travel, who put together a fantastic 4 day tour of Sri Lanka for us incorporating all the necessary wonderful sights of Sri Lanka, staying 2 nights at this hotel and one night at Hotel Topaz in Kandy. I can’t sing their praises high enough as they gave us our wonderful driver Anura who was so knowledgeable about everything, so passionate about his country, spoke beautiful English and was a really lovely gentle gracious man, who went out of his way to make sure we enjoyed our time in Sri Lanka. Their contact details are www.diethelmtravel.com and if you are interested, email Pradeepa to put together a 4 day trip for you.

Chaaya Village was an absolute joy to stay at situated in a lovely location on the side of a lake, where elephants would come down in the evening to drink at the water hole, cheeky monkeys would start their day on the roofs of your lovely room, then play in the trees around the pool and then take over a little tree house for their afternoon snooze before roaming around the resort looking for more mischief – very amusing with little chipmunks and birds everywhere.
The hotel itself is rather lovely, rooms very nicely put together, a lovely open sided Lounge area with Bar which is next to the restaurant area, where a fantastic spread of food, covering all tastes would be presented every evening all overlooking a very nice tiered triangle swimming pool in a lovely setting. Light entertainment was laid on both evenings which was very pleasant.

We really enjoyed our time at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triptrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
0.4 km away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
22.3 km away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
0.3 km away
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Habarana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 km away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,306 reviews
4.9 km away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
12.4 km away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habarana Village by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habarana Village by Cinnamon

Property: Habarana Village by Cinnamon
Address: Habarana 50150, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,847 - ₹ 12,773
Hotel Class:4 star — Habarana Village by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Habarana Village by Cinnamon lies sprawled across 27 acres of luxuriant land bordering a stunning lake of Habarana. The hotel's cozy cottages, inspired by the typical thatched roof huts found locally, lie in clusters with low roofs and brownish yellow exteriors. Habarana Village by Cinnamon boasts of 94 Superior Rooms, 12 Deluxe Rooms and 2 Suites set in the middle of thousands of high-rise trees that provide fruit, medicinal properties and plenty of shade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Habarana Village by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Village Habarana Hotel Habarana
Chaaya Village Hotel Habarana
Chaaya Village Resort Habarana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing