We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
US$ 96
US$ 80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Aidan Hotel(Seahouses)
US$ 177
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 216
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 147
US$ 142
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,376)
Filter reviews
1,376 results
Traveller rating
933
275
110
40
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
933
275
110
40
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teabeautiful hotelmorning roomjacuzzi bathgeorgian roompublic roomsspa facilitiesrobes and slipperslovely groundshigh standardsconesfirst classwedding receptionwedding guestsevening mealboth nightsdining room
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 1,376 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2018

We found this superb hotel after a random search on the internet - we were so lucky. We stayed at this great hotel, in lovely grounds with excellent staff and facilities, for 6 nights during which time we enjoyed superb 'fine dining' in the George Runciman restaurant and faultless service from the whole hotel team along with comfortable accommodation. Most impressive.

Room Tip: The suites are larger but the Executive rooms to be as good ( we moved rooms for one night due to a previous booking)
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Room (No 34) excellent with splendid en suite bathroom. Hotel very busy with a wedding and a luncheon function but regardless of that the Reception and Dining Staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful. Dinner was very good too. Location is handy for coastal visits (Seahouses, Bambroughand and not too far to Lindisfarne). Obviously easy drive through to Alnwick.

Room Tip: Room 34 in corner situation facing South and West was very comfortable
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank 700doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Pulling up to Doxford you can’t help but be impressed. Stunning house with beautiful gardens. Room was massive with a huge comfy four poster bed and great amenities. The food in the fine dining restaurant was really good, very well priced and with a really good offering of wines.
My only comment that could put off some people is that we were by far the youngest couple there, with the Hotel having a feeling that they didnt really cater to the younger crowd. Very quiet in the Hotel with a bit of a museum feel.
Great location though, only a few minutes drive from the fantastic Alnwick Castle and Bamburgh Castle.
Overall a really nice relaxing couple of days in a very friendly atmosphere.
Would definitely go back.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

We booked our room at Doxford several months ago to attend a family wedding unfortunately there were several instances that were well below par for a hotel such as this. Firstly we arrived at 1300 for a check in (we had informed the hotel of the time of the wedding and a request for a room to be ready beforehand) on arrival no room was available and we were told it would be ready in 30 mins as they had allowed several late check outs. With a wedding service scheduled to begin at 1430 we were informed tat 1400 that the rooms would not be ready beforehand and that we would have to look to share a room with another guest to change. Annoyingly and its only second hand but we were told that this had also happened the day before with another party. Secondly and more worrying during the afternoon my grandchildren were playing in the garden grounds near the entrance and without any warning signs on display we had the 6 yr old fall into an unguarded and unmarked pond, fortunately he was clever enough to get out but things could have been far worse if the 3yr old had fallen in. My concern as stated above is that there are no warning signs no disclaimers etc that could have warned us of the ponds (on further survey there are other around the garden equally unguarded in this day and age this is unacceptable. Having looked at previous reviews this is not the first time someone has fallen in to the pond https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g6651308-d1173303-r222072641-Doxford_Hall_Hotel-Chathill_Alnwick_Northumberland_England.html. The hotel did say that they could wash and dry his clothes and if I took him to the room and rang down someone would collect them however the phone was unserviceable, nonetheless the hotel provided a great service in washing and drying his clothes and I thank them for that. Two further things have left us dissatisfied with the hotel; the staff at the time obviously thought the child falling into the pool was funny as guest overhead conversations, furthermore I informed them on the need to place warning signs or cover the pools not only to protect children from falling in but to protect the hotel. The reception staff did say at the time they would ask the gardener to sort something but clearly nothing was done after the fall a few years ago. To finish off the experience there was a 40 min wait from ordering a cooked breakfast to it being served.! My daughter has contacted HSE and the County Council and rang the hotel to request that the area manager contact her, this was to be by today (7th Jun) but unsurprisingly no call had been forthcoming. For the prices they charge per room and across the bar they need to provide a greatly improved (and safe) experience if they want people to return

Stayed: May 2018
6  Thank DeanL9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

Review of Doxford Hall Hotel, May 23-25, 2018

We stayed at this lovely hotel for three nights in late May, occupying room 43 (called Aln). The room is the largest of three in a lovely building that looks like a barn conversion, although the hotel may refer to these rooms as courtyard rooms. They are situated beyond the gardens and a fine maze; to reach the main building you have a choice of walking along a paved path or alongside the maze and through the gardens.

The room is quite beautiful: high ceilings with wood beams, stone for some of the walls, three enormous windows with gorgeous heavy drapes. There is a fine king-sized bed, an armoire, a chest of drawers (delightful – plenty of room for folded clothes), two easy chairs, a writing desk, and a round table with two additional chairs which make an ideal place for spreading out your brochures to plan the next day’s activities. The lighting is very good, except for the area right at the round table, which deserves a floor lamp.

The bathroom has high ceilings as well, again with a bit of wood and gorgeous red paint; there is a nice shower and an excellent bathtub for soaking. The heated towel rack is enormous and much appreciated, for laundry as well as for heated towels. The towels are wonderfully thick and fluffy, and facecloths (aka washcloths) are provided.

Doxford Hall excels in hospitality. Upon check-in, a member of the reception staff gave us a tour of the public rooms, which include a large parlor for pre- and post-dinner gatherings, the Georgian Room near the lobby, a lovely gathering space with tall windows on two sides, a charming fireplace, and several groupings of furniture for separate conversations. This room is also available for the consumption of food from the bar menu, which we took advantage of on the first night of our stay. The library Is another fine room, again with tall windows on two walls, and a spectacular collection of volumes on three of the four walls. We used both the Georgian Room and the library frequently while connecting our devices to WiFi, which is not available in the courtyard rooms. The décor in all of the public rooms is simply marvelous. We were especially taken with the whimsical wicker dogs in various poses, the rocking horse in the library, and the marvelous fabrics and pillow tops throughout. The Hall looks like a much-loved place, both by its staff and its guests.

Breakfast is served in a handsome room which is used for fine dining in the evenings. There is a very good cold buffet, and numerous hot breakfast items are available, cooked to order. Breakfast provided the best opportunity for people watching, and led us to conclude that Doxford Hall has many satisfied guests of long standing.

We have only a few very minor quibbles. The WiFi is very slow, a function of the Hall’s location and its thick stone walls. It is prudent to have a data plan for your phones and tablets a a backup. There is no laundry service. And finally, the parking area for the courtyard rooms would benefit from lines delineating the three spaces. While we were there, a large SUV decided to take up half of the available parking.

Doxford Hall is excellent! We hope to make a return visit one day

Room Tip: we loved room 43
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GHgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews