We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food nice but expenisve, bar very dark & eating tables are tiny”
Review of Johnny Burke's

Johnny Burke's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Restaurant details
Reviewed 25 June 2017

The place is extremely dark, you can hardly see where you are going inside.
The menus are on clip boards so one person had the full menu and the others only had a page with the small bites on it. The staff should ensure that the menus are all there before they hand them out to customers.
There was 5 of us around 1 tiny table. We had 2 starters and they barely fit on the table so I don't know how the waiter thought we were going to manage 5 main courses along with drinks on this table. We had to go and find a solution for ourselves.

Had Chicken Wings to start - went for the large portion which was E12.95. They were tasty, crispy & freshly cooked but over priced for the portion size.
Goats Cheese was also very tasty and nicely presented.
Tasted the fish n chips - didn't like the batter found it gooey and nobody touched the garden pea pureé - stick to simple mushy peas.
Had the Red Curry & asked for it spicy but was told not possible as it was cooked that morning. Presentation again was lovely and had a nice sized portion of rice and the naan bread was a nice touch.

If in the area again will try it out again

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sampler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

Best Guinness in the west and manager Darren knows his wines and whiskies even if he is a Tipp fan. The bar menu is superb and the lamb was excellent.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Liam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

Nice location, nice variety of beers on offer, all good until i seen a gent who had been drinking there all evening and was quite drunk asked to leave by a member of staff i can only presume because he was singing along with the musicans who were playing a little loudly however no one minded,No duty of care taken with this guy but they were happy to take his money all evening. Certainly turned me off going there again.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 186621Johnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

Stay at Armada Hotel and leave your car in park because there are 2 places to eat in the hotel. Johnny Burke's featured old books, antique Guinness Bottles, art & newspaper articles. The food was outstanding & great portions!

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank valerie115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

This pub is amazing - it's old-fashioned style but with all the comforts of modern Ireland and the available beverage selection. Open fire, snugs, nice bar, friendly staff and I have to say, beautiful wallpaper. The pub reminded me of really nice 'Irish' pubs in other countries that really capture old-school Irish pub. Location can't be beat either, with the stunning view over Spanish Point outside.
We were only here for drinks so can't refer to their food.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Oravad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Johnny Burke's also viewed

Miltown Malbay, County Clare
Spanish Point, County Clare
 
Lahinch, County Clare
Miltown Malbay, County Clare
 
Miltown Malbay, County Clare
 

Been to Johnny Burke's? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing