We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dankeschön!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Goldener Ochs
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bad Ischl
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dankeschön!!”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We came across this beautiful hotel (and town) by chance. After a long day of driving in heavy rain we were just looking for a place to spend the night - and then we changed our plans and stayed for three nights - mainly because we felt more than at home at the Golden Ochs. We were captured by the warm friendly atmosphere, the very large room (a perfect mixture of classy and modern), the great food (international breakfast - delicious Austrian dishes for dinner along with regional wines and schnapps), the luxury spa (my husband loved to swim in the pool before breakfast), and - last but not least - Monika, the lady at the front desk, who went out of herself to fulfil all our wishes. Wireless is available for a small fee, and if you are lucky you can even get a room overlooking the river Traun.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gab852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    40
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
17
58
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baden-Baden, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

The room we had was definetely not 4 Star rather 3 star. The Bathroom had no door but opened to bed room but there is a separate toilet. Carpets look tired and need refurbishing. Food (half board) is varied and well presented. Excellent wines. Service is ok.
Breakfast buffet offers good choices and is replaced quickly.
Dogs are accepted in dining room at lunch and dinner but not at breakfast. We did not understand the logic of this policy. So we had to have breakfast in the adjoining 'gastraum' which doubles as staff canteen for the housekeeping clerks during their coffee break.
The highlight of the hotel is the newly refurbished spa and sauna. It is well equipped and clean.
A nice hotel, friendly owners and staff but rooms and lobby need updating.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

After reading the negative reports here, we were worried, but happy to say that our stay at this hotel was all positive! Service was good and with a smile!
Fantastic location next to the river in the centre of town; amazing spa and free internet connection in the rooms. Parking for a fee, but there is a street parking for free.
Breakfast was of very good standard and dinner at the restaurant was good and reasonable priced too.
Only "downside" was old fashion TV and furniture.
Warmly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hershie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miakoda1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2010

I booked at this Hotel because of its 4 Stars but in retrospect I do not know how they earned them. During my one week stay the bathroom was seldom cleaned and I was provided with only one very small soap bottle at the start of the week. Outside there was ongoing construction which started early in the morning and to make matters worse, the service was for the most part not existent. The front desk girl was rude, arrogant and unfriendly, I actually caught her talking about the guests with the Hotel maid. Their beautiful Spa is so full of chemicals I walked out with a migraine that lasted into the next day. If you want nice friendly people that appreciate your business and make you feel welcome, this is not the place for you. If you want to feel like you got your money´s worth, this is not the place for you. I would never recommend this Hotel to anybody (including my mother in law).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1SexySuperMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verbania
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We've been in the hotel for a weekend in mid July during the mountain bike race in the area. The hotel is well located and offers an excellent breakfast, staff and lady owner was friendly and helpfull. Unfortunately our room was not made one day and even asking for the service they didn't come. Parking in the garage was a problem for the first night since there wasn't space for our car even if we were assured so.
In any case the stay was positive and the town is pretty nice.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MauroTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Ischl
0.2 km away
Hotel Goldenes Schiff
Hotel Goldenes Schiff
#2 of 9 in Bad Ischl
100 reviews
0.4 km away
Villa Seilern Vital Resort
0.6 km away
Landhotel Hubertushof
Landhotel Hubertushof
#5 of 9 in Bad Ischl
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#4 of 9 in Bad Ischl
86 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Stadt Salzburg
Hotel Stadt Salzburg
#7 of 9 in Bad Ischl
48 reviews
13.3 km away
Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Ochs? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Ochs

Property: Hotel Goldener Ochs
Address: Grazer Strasse 4, Bad Ischl 4820, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Bad Ischl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bad Ischl
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,664 - ₹ 10,502
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Goldener Ochs 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Goldener Ochs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing