We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,621)
Filter reviews
4,621 results
Traveller rating
1,126
1,851
987
371
286
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,126
1,851
987
371
286
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspirate shipsoft play areapizzaceiling fancrew roomswimming poolplantation restaurantcaptains libraryshuttle buswear speedospowdered milkgreat hotel for kidscroissantskids loved the poolenglish breakfastgreat poolseparate toilet
Filter
Updating list...
2,126 - 2,131 of 4,621 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We had a lovely stay here in October 2011. Our room was clean and comfortable. The childrens playarea downstairs is fantastic, after a hard day at the parks we could sit and have a pizza and a drink while the children (ages 5 and 10) played safely in the big ship and in the wacky warehouse style jungle gym. The pool is good as well, really fun with slides and a fun interactive ship with water cannons etc. Beware of the chlorine though as it is quite strong. Food was ok, expensive but you learn to expect that with all DLP food, we went for the evening buffet twice and there was enough to please all tastes, the pizza bar is also a handy option if you don't fancy anything too fussy. Breakfast is a busy affair but it was fine for us, we went down at about 10am each day and never had to wait more than a couple of minutes to be seated. We just wanted to get in, eat and get off to the parks so never paid much attention to how helpful staff were or how messy some of the tables were. One of our party needed to see a Doctor during our stay and reception organised it all very quickly, he was at the hotel within 40 minutes.
Shuttle busses varied, some days they were heaving and others they were virtually empty. The good thing is that you always get dropped off first on the way back.
We will come back here again. We are trying Newport Bay in a couple of months as we wanted to try an 'onsite' Disney hotel, but I am already worrying that we should have stuck with The Explorers as its such a good all rounder.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We booked 2 rooms last October/November for a 4 night stay. My son and wife, plus 3 children under 6, chose the hotel as they had "family rooms" which the Disney Hotels lacked or charged a fortune to book. My wife and I had an "executive" double room.
With the 3 young children my son thought it was ideal with the swimming pool, play area, and evening options. Food and drink in the evening ("buffet" or pizza) was average and typical French prices - certainly not good value for money, but adequate and convenient. We walked to the nearby petrol station and bought other options.
Breakfast was a "zoo" but with plenty of choice as a French "continental breakfast" - yogurt, fruit, cold meat and cheese, fresh rolls and croissants, reasonable coffee etc etc. We had no complaints about the breakfast offerings other than the crowds.
The double room for my wife and I was barely adequate - basic but clean facilities but poor value for money considering the price paid. Windows opened but on the ledge outside was a disgusting display of cigarette ends and garbage - a non-smoking room but so what?
Another disturbing discovery was when using the stairs between floors rather than the lift. Several of the staircases were open to birds which were living and nesting in them. A disgusting (and possibly unhealthy) stairwell just off the room corridors.... See pictures
To sum up - if you have a young family the pool is good and the hotel is adequate - if you are just a couple stay well away - we shall.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WyoBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExplorersHotel, Sales Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear WyoBus,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review on your stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed some of our facilities such as our swimming pool, the playing areas and our continental breakfast during your stay.

However, we noticed that some points did not meet your satisfaction.

We truly appreciate your feedback; it's only thought comments like yours that we are able to improve our service where necessary.

Your comments were reported to the Operations Manager and our Cleaning Staff and the stairs and the staircases between the floors were cleaned and disinfected since your last visit.

Please be reassured that the cleaning of the stairwells is part of our monthly cleaning task.

It was a real pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to welcome you again soon to improve your judgement about our hotel.

With kind regards,

Stefania Pederzoli (Sales Assistant)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We are from London, so its an easy pop across the channel and just before Christmas its a treat for us all to be surrounded by a little bit of Disney Dust without having to pay a fortune for the room
If you take along the extra aunt or cousin this is the place to stay.
Cracking Swimming pool and if you are 300% protective you can watch the kids through the glass
Bar open until late, you will need it. if you have 5 kids and a couple of aunts along with you.
Rooms are clean tidy and if there's more than 4 in the party, they provide a couple of rooms called a crew or captain room
Breakfast, its a big barn effect, but you get enough and I have seen fat people stealing bread rolls I assume to eat in the parks, no one seemed to mind, and you can eat as much as you like bread ham diced cheese tomatoes coffee tea general cereal .
If you want a restaurant experience there is a couple on site which provide excellent food
If you fancy a stroll after the park experience you can visit the Dream Castle and Magic Circus they are all much the same.
Free Bus ride to the Parks which links to, the direct train to Paris ?
Excellent value for money

Room Tip: They can accommodate up to 10 bodies
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blabla1079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Went to this hotel at Christmas. The rooms are a good size but the drawers were all broken, okay for a couple of days though. There were two nice flat screen televisions in both rooms and plenty of space for a family of four.

Did not eat here so cannot comment on the food. The whole of Disneyland is so expensive for not very good food. Paris is also very expensive but really had a nice time and glad to have gone.

There is a nice swimming pool at the Explorers Hotel, but we were made to pay 8 euros for the four of us to swim, we expected to get the 8 euros back when we gave the towels back, but the attendant said we could use these for the week so take the towels to our room, first of all 4 soaking wet towels in a room would not have been very nice and as we were not going swimming again, I thought this a cheek for a half hour swim. The breakfast in the morning was quite a nightmare with children and adults running all over the place, not a great way to start the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindaoshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We used this hotel as a one night stop over before going on to the more expensive Disneyland Hotel. We travelled with three children and booked a family room. Its never a good start when the receptionist is unwelcoming and unhelpful. The room was very basic indeed, although it was clean. There were no nice touches, the tea and coffee making facilities are very poor. There was no room service, no mini bar, and the price of a family evening meal was very expensive. The one good point was the pool which all the children enjoyed. I definiately won't be booking again though.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 187060Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews