We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids”
Review of Explorers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Explorers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Magny-le-Hongre
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We spent 3 nights at this hotel on our recent trip to Disneyland. It was mostly clean although the bedding is questionable..blood and strange maks on the double bed!! You get only 2 tea bags and 2 coffees and a couple of sugars in your room but if you ask at reception they happily give you more. The room is basic but fine, we had a room with a double and 2 singles then a seperate cabin with bunk beds. The swimming pool is fantastic for the kids as was the soft play and they were open late so after a day at Disney we came in went swimming for an hour or so, showered the kids as they got out, put on there pj's, let them play in the soft play while dressed for bed which they thought was brilliant then by 8pm they were so shattered they went flat out and slept better than they ever have before. The main downside was that the only shop was a disney shop...there is enogh of that at disneyland!! they should have a shop to buy shampoo and conditioner or snacks and magazines like most hotels or holiday resorts have!! Other than that it was great and we bought all that stuff at the train station shop outside disney.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donna1981xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,920 - 1,924 of 4,182 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

We had a lovely stay here in October 2011. Our room was clean and comfortable. The childrens playarea downstairs is fantastic, after a hard day at the parks we could sit and have a pizza and a drink while the children (ages 5 and 10) played safely in the big ship and in the wacky warehouse style jungle gym. The pool is good as well, really fun with slides and a fun interactive ship with water cannons etc. Beware of the chlorine though as it is quite strong. Food was ok, expensive but you learn to expect that with all DLP food, we went for the evening buffet twice and there was enough to please all tastes, the pizza bar is also a handy option if you don't fancy anything too fussy. Breakfast is a busy affair but it was fine for us, we went down at about 10am each day and never had to wait more than a couple of minutes to be seated. We just wanted to get in, eat and get off to the parks so never paid much attention to how helpful staff were or how messy some of the tables were. One of our party needed to see a Doctor during our stay and reception organised it all very quickly, he was at the hotel within 40 minutes.
Shuttle busses varied, some days they were heaving and others they were virtually empty. The good thing is that you always get dropped off first on the way back.
We will come back here again. We are trying Newport Bay in a couple of months as we wanted to try an 'onsite' Disney hotel, but I am already worrying that we should have stuck with The Explorers as its such a good all rounder.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We booked 2 rooms last October/November for a 4 night stay. My son and wife, plus 3 children under 6, chose the hotel as they had "family rooms" which the Disney Hotels lacked or charged a fortune to book. My wife and I had an "executive" double room.
With the 3 young children my son thought it was ideal with the swimming pool, play area, and evening options. Food and drink in the evening ("buffet" or pizza) was average and typical French prices - certainly not good value for money, but adequate and convenient. We walked to the nearby petrol station and bought other options.
Breakfast was a "zoo" but with plenty of choice as a French "continental breakfast" - yogurt, fruit, cold meat and cheese, fresh rolls and croissants, reasonable coffee etc etc. We had no complaints about the breakfast offerings other than the crowds.
The double room for my wife and I was barely adequate - basic but clean facilities but poor value for money considering the price paid. Windows opened but on the ledge outside was a disgusting display of cigarette ends and garbage - a non-smoking room but so what?
Another disturbing discovery was when using the stairs between floors rather than the lift. Several of the staircases were open to birds which were living and nesting in them. A disgusting (and possibly unhealthy) stairwell just off the room corridors.... See pictures
To sum up - if you have a young family the pool is good and the hotel is adequate - if you are just a couple stay well away - we shall.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WyoBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExplorersHotel, Sales Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear WyoBus,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review on your stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed some of our facilities such as our swimming pool, the playing areas and our continental breakfast during your stay.

However, we noticed that some points did not meet your satisfaction.

We truly appreciate your feedback; it's only thought comments like yours that we are able to improve our service where necessary.

Your comments were reported to the Operations Manager and our Cleaning Staff and the stairs and the staircases between the floors were cleaned and disinfected since your last visit.

Please be reassured that the cleaning of the stairwells is part of our monthly cleaning task.

It was a real pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to welcome you again soon to improve your judgement about our hotel.

With kind regards,

Stefania Pederzoli (Sales Assistant)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We are from London, so its an easy pop across the channel and just before Christmas its a treat for us all to be surrounded by a little bit of Disney Dust without having to pay a fortune for the room
If you take along the extra aunt or cousin this is the place to stay.
Cracking Swimming pool and if you are 300% protective you can watch the kids through the glass
Bar open until late, you will need it. if you have 5 kids and a couple of aunts along with you.
Rooms are clean tidy and if there's more than 4 in the party, they provide a couple of rooms called a crew or captain room
Breakfast, its a big barn effect, but you get enough and I have seen fat people stealing bread rolls I assume to eat in the parks, no one seemed to mind, and you can eat as much as you like bread ham diced cheese tomatoes coffee tea general cereal .
If you want a restaurant experience there is a couple on site which provide excellent food
If you fancy a stroll after the park experience you can visit the Dream Castle and Magic Circus they are all much the same.
Free Bus ride to the Parks which links to, the direct train to Paris ?
Excellent value for money

Room Tip: They can accommodate up to 10 bodies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blabla1079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Went to this hotel at Christmas. The rooms are a good size but the drawers were all broken, okay for a couple of days though. There were two nice flat screen televisions in both rooms and plenty of space for a family of four.

Did not eat here so cannot comment on the food. The whole of Disneyland is so expensive for not very good food. Paris is also very expensive but really had a nice time and glad to have gone.

There is a nice swimming pool at the Explorers Hotel, but we were made to pay 8 euros for the four of us to swim, we expected to get the 8 euros back when we gave the towels back, but the attendant said we could use these for the week so take the towels to our room, first of all 4 soaking wet towels in a room would not have been very nice and as we were not going swimming again, I thought this a cheek for a half hour swim. The breakfast in the morning was quite a nightmare with children and adults running all over the place, not a great way to start the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindaoshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magny-le-Hongre
0.4 km away
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
#5 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
3,058 reviews
0.2 km away
Vienna House Dream Castle Paris
Vienna House Dream Castle Paris
#3 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
5,012 reviews
2.1 km away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Chessy
6,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
#1 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
1,303 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Kyriad Paris Disneyland
Hotel Kyriad Paris Disneyland
#6 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
3,865 reviews
2.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel at Disneyland Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorers Hotel

Address: 50, avenue de la Fosse des Pressoirs, 77700 Magny-le-Hongre, Marne-la-Vallee, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Marne-la-Vallee > Magny-le-Hongre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Magny-le-Hongre
Price Range: ₹ 6,020 - ₹ 17,934 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Explorers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explorers Hotel is ideally located close to Disneyland(R) Paris. Free car park - Free shuttle buses to the parcs(R) - Flexible rooms up to 10 people - Free wifi - 200m² water park with 3 slides - indoor and outdoor play areas - conference rooms - XD theater - free bagage area - A Disney(R) shop located inside the hotel - 2 restaurants + 1 pizzeria - 1 bar - reception 24/7 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Explorers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorers Hotel France/Magny-Le-Hongre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing