We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but low quality hotel”
Review of Hotel Taipa Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Taipa Square
Ranked #54 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Reviewed 22 November 2011

A group of 12 of us stayed for one night in this hotel.

Pretty much every floor, except for two are smoking floors, although it was possible to change rooms on request.

As other people have mentioned the beds are VERY hard, even when I asked for an extra blanket, this did fairly little to make the bed more comfortable. The hotel was also very noisy, it seemed almost every room could hear all the noise from the lifts, as well as people talking in the corridors - thin walls!

The bathroom was ok, but seemed like it hadn't been cleaned very well.

The location is quite central; right next to the race course & within walking distance to Taipa Square.

Overall the service at the lobby was ok, but I would not recommend staying in this hotel if you want a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Try and request a non-smooking room and get as far away from the lifts as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monicavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 102 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2010

good location and accommodation. we stayed 2 days &2 nights and have explored the place by just walking.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dongdelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Three cabs did not know this place, even when a dispatcher explained its location to the driver (in Chinese, its name is "Junjing fandian" or, "Hotel with a view of the steeds" -- because it's across from the race track).. The beds are rock hard, the rooms are dismal and depressing, the service indifferent. Although it promises free internet in the rooms, I had to request (and sign for) a cable. It was cold, and my wife was told there was no heat; someone came up eventually with a space heater!

We were supposed to stay two days, but my wife left after one night.

If you'r bent on saving money, this is OK. Otherwise, I'd stay away.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank so-sojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

I stayed one night in this hotel.
It is good value for the price, rooms are very decent.
The casino is also good, the menu of the "western" restaurant needs improvement in my opinion.
This is a good spot to sleep if you plan to spend a lot of time outside of the hotel anyways

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim1tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

This is a nice hotel on the Taipa Island (not Macau Island). It's a really good location though and with one of the cheap cabs you are on the other island within 5 minutes. The beds are extremely hard, but I have found that to be true for all Chinese hotels I have been in. We asked for some extra blankets (to lay on) and it worked out fine. They offer a huge breakfast buffet included in the price. Really good food with Chinese and Western options.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank countryskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
1 km away
Inn Hotel Macau
Inn Hotel Macau
#46 of 94 in Macau
101 reviews
0.1 km away
Grandview Hotel
Grandview Hotel
#63 of 94 in Macau
299 reviews
0.6 km away
Regency Art Hotel
Regency Art Hotel
#58 of 94 in Macau
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Ole London Hotel
Ole London Hotel
#42 of 94 in Macau
667 reviews
4.3 km away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#25 of 94 in Macau
1,388 reviews
0.9 km away
Pousada Marina Infante Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taipa Square? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taipa Square

Address: Rua de Chaves, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range: ₹ 4,472 - ₹ 21,905 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Taipa Square 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Taipa Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taipa Square Hotel
Taipa Square Macau
Hotel Taipa Square Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing