We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This one delightful hotel - I love it”
Review of Pousada de Mong-Ha

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Macau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pousada de Mong-Ha
Ranked #18 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“This one delightful hotel - I love it”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

A classy boutique hotel with 5 stars service, quality, cleanliness, value and friendliness. Oh, by the way, it managed by students.

The breakfast and dinner were superb. Go early for breakfast and get a table under the arches. Then sip your freshly brewed coffee and you contemplate your travel plans while gazing at the greenery below you. Dab your lips to remove with the fine linen napkin. You get the idea.

For dinner, go to the Educational Restaurant, and order the Tasting Menu for 2 people. Super food quality and value for money. The steak itself is worth the cost of the dinner.

The big hotels along COTAI are spectacular. But if you need calmness, serenity and away from it all, go to the hills, go to the Pousada.

Peng Soon, June 2012

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PengSoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    90
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
88
161
54
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

this is my third trip and people ask me why i choose a hotel off the track without a pool, i just say 'try it for yourself'
This is a retreat. if you need to unwind, come in. Friendly service from willing staff at a very reasonable price.My wife and I always take the suite and eel at home here

Room Tip: book a suite, you will not regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnsnelgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

All the other reviews have raved about the wonderful service you get from this hotel, which I will attest to. The students really go out of their way to help you and make your stay problem-free. I loved the free cookie in the room (it was yummy!) and the choice of either soft, medium or firm pillow. Book early though, since they're often fully booked months in advance. Fortunately for us, we traveled from Wed to Saturday so we were still able to book a deluxe room last March (stayed here June). I booked via their website, and was in touch with them via email (all emails are promptly replied to) prior to my arrival.

During the check-in, they asked for a deposit to cover incidentals, which was charged to the card, but it was promptly returned to my card after a week following check-out. Didn't have any problems, unlike my previous stay in another hotel in Macau, wherein I had to wait for a refund for about two months!

The breakfast was good, the green tea muffin is a must-try. They had a shuttle for outbound trips only (3 trips per day), we took a cab back to the hotel after seeing the sights. The hotel is a little bit far from most tourist spots, and finding a taxi to take us back to the hotel during the afternoon rush hour was a challenge.

I had a very quiet and relaxing stay and will definitely stay at this hotel again the next time I'm in Macau!

Room Tip: Get a deluxe! For only 100 MOP more, you get a much bigger room and a better bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuvalooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brummie in London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Having spent my first night in HK, was keen to get across to Macau and experience a bit of that before the room rates shot up for the weekend. As it turned out, I timed it terribly as Friday was a Chinese public holiday, but Pousasda had availability for the Thursday night at a very reasonable rate of 70MOP and seeing as it was held in such high-esteem by my fellow Tripadvisors, couldn't resist checking it out for myself.

Armed with the directions from their website, I stubbornly decided to make my own way there on the bus and would heartily advise just about everyone else against doing the same. The directions aren't great (actually, probably ought to write my own and send them as a suggestion), but with taxis in Macau being quite reasonable, I'd have saved myself a lot of time and hassle had I taken one and not ended up missing their evening shuttle as well.

The Deluxe Room I was allocated was more like a small suite, with an entrance area (where the in-room PC was situated) that led to the impeccably made bedroom and shower-room, of which I've uploaded photos.

Having missed the shuttle, decided not to miss out on Happy Hour and so headed up to the Educational Restaurant for a surprisingly good Macau beer and an excellent Mojito. As I was there, decided to stay for dinner and had the delicious “balichao” tamarind pork with pressed rice Macanese option. Mildly annoyingly, having been given the dessert menu, settled on the crepes suzette, only to then be told that it wasn't available. D'oh!

Slept brilliantly, breakfast was good selection and delicious and then (as advised) checked out in good time to make sure I was ready for the shuttle that would leave promptly at 10:00. Only it didn't, because someone who wanted to get it didn't try to check out until the shuttle was due to leave and then there was apparently some issue with the printer (or so I later overheard the couple say, not that they bothered to apologise). Was somewhat annoyed at the delay seeing as I'd been advised / warned, more so when it had the knock-on effect of me missing two more shuttle buses and not getting to do the bungy that was my main reason for visiting Macau. Fortunately, I'm over that now as I got to do it (twice) the following day.

I can see why the Pousada has been so popular with other guests, even if my experience wasn't quite as it might have been. The staff were very good, very polite, very well-informed. I'm quite a low-maintenance guest, but am loathe to call them over-enthusiastic. I think that they are just trying to find their feet in their chosen profession and from the conversations I heard other guests having, they certainly appreciated their attentiveness. Maybe I'm just not quite as old already as I feared I was!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WWEGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This was a great hotel for a visit with our son, his wife and our 5 month old grandson. The staff is very accommodating and had a crib all set up for the baby. I was a little disappointed that the restaurant was not open on the weekend. It is a teaching/training hotel and restaurant, but the tourism industry doesn't stop on weekends. Part of learning to work in the tourism industry is that you work on Saturday and Sunday because that is when many visitors travel. I also thought the fountain areas in the hotel could have been enjoyed by guests if chairs and tables were provided. This would have been a great area for our family to sit and visit. The breakfast was excellent, but we were almost done before they asked us if we would like eggs cooked to order.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
1.7 km away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
1.2 km away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#27 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
2.0 km away
Ole London Hotel
Ole London Hotel
#37 of 95 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
1.9 km away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
2.0 km away
Best Western Hotel Sun Sun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Mong-Ha? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Mong-Ha

Property: Pousada de Mong-Ha
Address: Colina de Mong-Ha, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#5 Family Hotel in Macau
#13 Business Hotel in Macau
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,807 - ₹ 14,932
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada is uniquely designed with a blend of European and Oriental features. The lobby and corridors are terracotta-tiled and lead to guest rooms through open-air courtyards decorated with hand-painted Portuguese tiles and lovely fountains. The use of Eastern style partitions in the guest rooms, coupled with Western style furniture and fittings create an exotic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pousada De Mong-Ha Hotel Macau
Pousada De Mong Ha Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing