We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“OK, but the rooms need a little bit of TLC” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metropark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Metropark Hotel
Ranked #48 of 93 Hotels in Macau
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“OK, but the rooms need a little bit of TLC”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

The Metropark is reasonable hotel in need of a little upgrading.

The staff are very helpful (especially the concierge desk) and they have a shuttle bus which goes to the Ferry Terminal which is useful as it can be used to connect to other hotel shuttle buses. One small problem is that the last bus is quite early, so connections from UK flights can be an issue by the time the ferry from HK airport arrives.

The rooms are fine but need some refurbishment as they look quite dated. The beds are a little hard (as others have commented) but not so bad as to cause problems.

The buffet breakfast is, understandably, Chinese focused - but there is plenty to choose from.

Good value

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UndercoverGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    309
    149
    22
    9
See reviews for
66
77
64
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I stayed here a while ago. While not amazing i did enjoy my stay. Rooms were large and the bed was enormous. Location was reasonable, within walking distance of attractions and casino's etc. I would go slightly more up market next time. The hotel was clean and staff were good. Wasn't sure whether to classify this as average or very good...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jono B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
161 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

This is my second time staying in Metropark and I must say the room quality has improved. However, it may be because we were given rooms on the 25th floor (VIP Club Floor) and no smoking!!!. All amenities were complete i.e. kettle for tea, free 2 bottles of water everyday, green & black tea bags, LCD tv, nice beds (soft compared to other China hotel beds), 2 solid pillows, safe deposit box, bathrobes, slippers, hair dryer, toiletries etc. Water pressure a bit weird but not an issue. Check-in was breezy and efficient but wish the receptionists were more cheerful. Breakfast was included in my booking and it was a decent spread, normal western stuff like fried eggs (upon request), bacon (yummy!!) chicken sausages, scrambled eggs, baked beans, cereal (3 choices), salad, fruits, cheese & cracker, bread, pastries like croissants, danish pastries, rolls. Also chinese stuff available like congee (with pork & presserved egg), fried noodles, fried vegetables, steamed meat buns and plain man tau. Coffee, tea & juices also provided. They even changed the menu the next day...super duper!! Not crowded at all as I believe not all rooms come with breakfast. If yours don't come with b/f, it is MOPS/HKD90 per pax.
Location of hotel - wonderful...close to cheap eateries with a 7-11 across the road and a great supermarket behind the hotel, 2 streets away. Found this on the last night!! Sells a good variety of stuff. Charming Gourmet serves great food and it is only 7-8 shoplots away frm the hotel. Mocha, the slot machine room is also 5 shoplots away from the hotel if you want some entertainment at night! Shuttle service to the ferry runs on the dot and starts fm 8.30 am - 9.00 pm (every 30 mins) and the other way round from 8.50 am to 9.20 pm (every 30 mins). Very economical to move around with the shuttle if you plan to casino hop. Just take the shuttle to the ferry terminal and hop on to any casino buses, all lined up to move to their respective casinos, every 10-15 mins interval. However, if you don't have the time, just catch a taxi as taxis are in abundance and cheap. Remember to use the chinese name of the hotel (or carry the hotel card with you) or the taxi drivers will give u a blank look. The chinese name is "WAI KENG chow tim". Overall, very happy with Metropark, great value for money!!!

Room Tip: Take the no smoking floors. Not necessary to book a room with breakfast (as this would cost more) as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taipei101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed for a single night in Metropark Hotel Macau. Besides the name, this hotel has no other thing in common with its counterpart in Causeway Bay (Hong Kong). It's quite dated, much smaller and has no views whatsoever.

I also noticed a few large groups of tourists as mentioned by previous reviewers. However, they were quickly ushered into (or out of) the hotel and did not make our stay unpleasant.

The good:

- The hotel is located within walking distance from several of Macau's landmarks. In addition, they provide a shuttle service to the ferry terminal departing every 30 mins all day long, from 8.30 AM to 9PM. Returned is scheduled 20 minutes later (the shuttle schedule is exhibited in the lobby).

- The hotel advertises itself as being casino-free, and this is totally true. Not many hotels in this category comply with this condition in Macau, so if this is a requirement for you, perhaps you should take Metropark into account.

The not-so-good:

- As our plane was arriving late in the evening, I emailed the hotel asking about the pickup service at the airport. They replied quickly, but quoted 300 mop (about 38 usd), and I finally got a taxi by myself which costed 73 mop (less than 10 usd). I understand that this service will normally be more expensive than a random taxi, but I think this is not the way to treat customers. Beware.

- Our room at the 10th floor was clean, though worn out in many places: pictures speak by themselves, but this could be clearly seen in all wooden furniture. The room was equipped with the basic amenities of a hotel in this category, but expect no luxuries beside that.

- There is no free wi-fi in this hotel. There are 4 desktop computers with Internet connection at the lobby, which can be used for free by any guest (however if they are 'blocked' you will need the hotel staff to enter a password; quite annoying!)

I cannot comment on the breakfast, as our 95 usd deal (booked through otel.com) did not include that. If you are into local food, there are a few eateries nearby that may serve the purpose.

If I was to stay again in Macau, I would explore other alternatives first. But if it is for a short stay, and the price gap with high end casinos continues to be like now, I could consider staying again at Metropark Macau.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hernan_y_Tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We got a good room for three. Very spacious compared to HK hotel. Although I don't know versus other Macau hotels... The location is not bad as well since they offer a shuttle to the ferry terminal. Taking into consideration as well that transportation is not so difficult in Macau because there are taxis, bus and shuttle around.. you just have to read the map. :) It wasn't a busy area so noise was not a problem. However, there are a few options for dining in the area and the lobby is small. I didn't see a nearby mall nor a shopping place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Everydaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.1 km away
Emperor Hotel
Emperor Hotel
#55 of 93 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
1.4 km away
Metropole Hotel Macau
Metropole Hotel Macau
#43 of 93 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Beverly Plaza
Hotel Beverly Plaza
#54 of 93 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Sintra
Hotel Sintra
#32 of 93 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.9 km away
Guia Hotel
Guia Hotel
#57 of 93 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#24 of 93 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropark Hotel

Property: Metropark Hotel
Address: No.199 Rua de Pequim, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 93 Hotels in Macau
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,813 - ₹ 24,134
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metropark Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Metropark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropark Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing