We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“hotel with heritage background” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pousada De Sao Tiago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pousada De Sao Tiago
Ranked #71 of 93 Hotels in Macau
hong kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“hotel with heritage background”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

never stay in a fortress before,beautifully decorated with portuguese style. its is not like a ordinary 5 star hotel.! staff are friendly they expect your arrival and check in is done inside the room. if you like to travel with style luxury and personal touch i will highly recommend this beautiful hotel the best hotel i have ever stay in macau.

Room Tip: make sure you choose a room with beautiful sea-view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kywong0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    29
    10
    6
    10
See reviews for
10
40
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stopped here for an hour on our way from Macau back to Hong Kong. We had a delicious glass of cold white wine from Lisbon on the balcony and took a short tour of the hotel. We would definitely stay here if were to head back to the bizarre casino-laden world of Macau.

When we arrived we asked for a taxi to take us back to the ferry as we had tickets for a set time. Because it was New Year's weekend, apparently, we could not get a taxi and began to get really frantic.

Even though we had just come for a glass of wine, the manager sprang into action and found us a driver for the hotel transit van and got us to the ferry within minutes. There seems to be a lot of complaining here about the service but everyone in our brief encounter was nothing short of extremely nice and accommodating.

The rooms looked gorgeous, the setting was so romantic, really like how I would imagine it to be in Macau 100 years ago.

TIP: the rooms on the higher floors seemed to have a better view of the water.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neptuno3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

Myself and my partner have just returned from a trip to Hong Kong with a friend who is a native to the country. Having heard about the stunning features of this old hotel we decided to visit the hotel for afternoon tea during a day trip from Hong Kong. Unfortunately the entrance and the staircase were the only good memories we have of this hotel.

On arrival, the old entrance and staircase had us captivated for a few moments and once at the top of the stairs a member of staff guided us to an outside table. Our order was taken quickly but I am afraid to say that this was where things started to go wrong.

After waiting for our afternoon tea, I was a little disappointed in the quality for a hotel with such a high reputation. Unfortunately this complaint was minor compared to the wait my partner had for his food. When we asked where his dish was after having already been served half of the order, we were told to wait. We then proceeded to wait..... and wait without a member of staff in sight! Finally 10 minutes after asking the waitress, she finally emerged but failed to come to update us on what was happening. Another 10 minutes went by before the last dish was eventually brought to the table.

On leaving, we requested a taxi. After waiting outside for 15 minutes, we went back inside to ask if one had been called to which we were told it had. When asked how long it would be, the lady said, “15 minutes, 40 minutes, who knows”. As the hotel was so far from pretty much anything, we decided to wait a little longer but after another 15 minutes we went back inside to see if another call could be made. At this point, we were told no initial call had been made!!

With the prospect of another possible 40 minute wait, we gave up and decided to walk to the expressway to see if we would have better luck flagging down a taxi at one of the junctions. In the distance, we saw what looked like a bus terminus so we headed in that direction and luckily we were able to pick up a bus which took us back to the ferry port.

All in all, we were very disappointed with the whole experience. The problems could not be attributed to language problems due to the fact our friend ordered everything in his native tongue. The whole experience just left a very bad taste and we would definitely not return-there is simply nothing to recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HP1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
103 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

This ex-Portugese colony has changed almost out of recognition since I ran a deserted marathon there in 1999. Casinos galore, high rise apartments in abundance and endless streams of traffic now dominate. But one thing hasn't changed : the peace, the character, the charm, and the magic of this old converted fort set in the rocks overlooking the channel to mainland China. Whether you win on the tables or break open the piggy bank, treat yourself to Macau's hidden gem.

Room Tip: They are normally happy to show you any vacant rooms before you make your final choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mapHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

This hotel is a in an out-of-the way corner of Macau, with quiet tree-lined streets and some historical/cultural sites nearby (A-Ma temple). The hotel is set in a fort from Portuguese colonial times dating back to circa 1600s. It is a beautiful structure and recently received a complete renovation, with its twelve suites now featuring amenities like rain shower stall/steam room, and a separate jacuzzi tub, B&O flat screen TVs with built-in DVD player, leather floors, and surround sound speakers built into the corners of the living room. Complimentary drinks in the mini-bar round out the nice amenities provided by this hotel, and all these features are reflected in their above average rates. The hotel also features a small Portuguese/Spanish restaurant with fairly decent food.

The service is the uneven part in this hotel. While the reception staff was generally helpful, courteous and efficient, the waitress (Jin Guo Li) was not very pleasant, generally giving you a "you want what?" type of face when you try to order something, ignore you when you try to wave her down, and pour you half a glass of wine when you ordered one. Clearly did not enjoy what she was doing and she made sure you knew that.

The bellman, on the other hand, was very very helpful (didn't get his name) and insisted on lugging our bags from our room and wait with us for 10 mins for a cab before loading our bags into the trunk.

The updated decor was nice but perhaps not entirely to our taste, with lots of crystal and mirrors around the place. I had been here many years ago and loved their old world, cathedral-like decor before. The new motif may have been done to appeal to the new breed of tourists in Macau.

All in all, not a bad experience. Better staff training at the restaurant and perhaps a revival of its old world charm will make this place much more appealing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macau
0.4 km away
Yinhua Hotel
Yinhua Hotel
#119 of 533 in Zhuhai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
1.7 km away
Mandarin Oriental Macau
8.3 km away
Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#46 of 93 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.7 km away
Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16
2.9 km away
The Rocks Hotel
The Rocks Hotel
#38 of 93 in Macau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada De Sao Tiago? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada De Sao Tiago

Property: Pousada De Sao Tiago
Address: Avenida Da Republica, Fortaleza De Sao Tiago Da Barra, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,239 - ₹ 24,560
Hotel Class:5 star — Pousada De Sao Tiago 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Pousada De Sao Tiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Sao Tiago Hotel Macau
Pousada De Sao Tiago Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing