We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Royal Macau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Royal Macau
Ranked #25 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

When my wife and I had some free time from work during the week we decided to look for a 2 day hotel package to Macau. As usual we didn't want to spend too much money but wanted to maintain a decent level of hospitality standard. We've been to Macau a few times before and had visited many of the famous tourist attractions. Although there were places that we said we were going to visit, somehow time ran out as we sit numbingly in front of the seemingly innocent slot machines. Even we can't escape the hypnotic effects of Macau's grand casinos. Anyway, this time our minds were set on visiting the Museum of Art, the lighthouse and a few recommended restaurants. We also planned to see the newer casinos and spend some time gambling but it wasn't imperative that we needed to spend the evening right above a casino. So when considering price, location and a 5-star rating, the Royal Macau Hotel presented itself as the hotel of choice.
Even though this hotel doesn't ring as loud as the Venetian, it does offer free shuttle service from the ferry terminal. The hotel is located in a residential district and away from the usual noise and glitter of the casinos, however, you can easily get to the Grand Lisboa by foot within 20 minutes or by shuttle service. The Guia Chapel and Lighthouse are located a short walk up the hill above the hotel. One thing we'd noticed about this hotel was that it had fewer loud and obnoxious tourists than many of the other hotels that are grander and located within the city center and along the strip. This aspect certainly made the overall atmosphere more civilized and appealing to our senses.

Room Tip: Our room faces the carcass of a construction site which would not be pleasing to those who are keen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guruojgu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    737
    148
    34
    25
See reviews for
248
324
109
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Very centrally located, within walking distance of most historical sites. Hotel offers regular shuttle bus to main casinos and airport pick-up.
Clean and comfortable accommodation. We did not eat in the main restaurant but enjoyed buffet lunch in the lobby restaurant and had a great meal. Quality of service was good, helpful and friendly staff, able to speak English.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLS_Shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kigali, Rwanda
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Pros:
- fab pool -- deep, long, perfect for a real swim, not just great for a dip with the kiddies
- great location, not in the center of the crowds, but close enough to main monuments
- clean, spacious rooms and great bathroom with tub
- mini fridge in our room

Cons:
- mainly a night-stopover hotel for Chinese/HK tourists, thus the place can get very noisy with kids (7-9 pm) and sometimes, drunk adults (12-3 am) . Between 7-8 am when everyone is checking out, there is regularly noisy shouting, as people pack up and leave. The staff does little about the noise level for those guests who stay longer and have complained (like yours truly)

- though there are signs fining people for smoking everywhere, people sneak smokes in fire exits room etc, and so the halls smell smokey, and again staff does nothing about it (perhaps they are the culprits?)

- the hotel is not at all set up for business guests. The "business center" consists of 2 computers (only one with an updated Word program) which you have to use while a staff member supervises you. There is no wireless internet in rooms, only very slow broadband.
But a LAN cable as well as HK type plug are most kindly provided for you.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms have a view facing park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rwandanite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

This hotel is worth endorsing... very clean and the staff are so accomodating particularly the filipinos. Its location s also peaceful and accesible. Its near the st paul ruins, senado square, china ferry terminal etc.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria Lyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
317 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We are on a business trip and busy with meetings , have not much time to check out the hotel facilities, but the room was clean with good bathroom amenities, free wifi service ,The only setback was the room aircon setting is fixed at 26 degrees which is not cold enough for us. Hotel provides free shuttle services to town for sightseeing . Waiter in the coffee house was very efficient and courteous in serving our high tea. We hope to come back to Macau soon to have a better view of this hotel and places. .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldGlutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
9.4 km away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
0.8 km away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#20 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#22 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Sun Sun Macau
2.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Macau
Crowne Plaza Macau
#17 of 95 in Macau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Macau? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Macau

Property: Hotel Royal Macau
Address: No.2-4 Estrada da Vitoria, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Casino Hotel in Macau
#20 Family Hotel in Macau
#24 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,624 - ₹ 12,033
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Royal Macau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Macau is an elegant hotel situated on Estrada da Vitória near the centre of Macau at the foot of the city's legendary landmark, the 174-metre-high hill, Colina da Guia. Well placed for both business and leisure travellers, Hotel Royal Macau offers a heaven of comfort and serenity in one of Asia's most exciting cities. Hotel Royal Macau sits on the doorstep of the Guia Lighthouse, site of the first lighthouse on the Chinese coast. Within walking distance, guests of the hotel can reach Ruins of St Paul's, Vasco da Gama Monument and many other attractions in Macau. Hong Kong is only an hour away, and the Border Gate in Zhuhai is only 15-minute drive away. Well equipped with a fitness centre, a swimming pool and a choice of 380 spacious guest rooms and suites over 19 floors, Hotel Royal Macau presents the highest standards in all areas of accommodation and service. Every guest room at the hotel is beautifully appointed, using the finest furnishings in an innovative style, to create an atmosphere of contemporary luxury. Visitors who appreciate fine dining will be well catered for by the restaurants at Hotel Royal Macau. Catalpa Garden is the home of authentic Shanghai cuisine, and four individual rooms are available for the ultimate private dining experience. The hotel's FADO Portuguese restaurant features dishes from an award-winning chef who consistently delights diners with stylish Portuguese food. Royal Bakery's pastry teams are dedicated to producing delectable cakes and pastries in over 100 different flavours. Adjacent to it, Lobby Lounge is an ideal place to meet for an afternoon tea, a glass of champagne, a piece of cake, or even weekend tea buffets. Hotel Royal Macau is fully equipped to host business meetings and functions accommodating up to 200 people. The opulent furnishings and graceful decor of the hotel create an ideal ambience for work or leisure, and the addition of the latest technologies and a first-class service ensure every detail of the event is a success. Guests' comfort is always our top priority! It is our pleasure to offer assistance and information to make your experience at Hotel Royal Macau a pleasant one. Please do not hesitate to send us any enquiry or feedback by completing the form below. Our hotel representative will contact you shortly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Royal Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Macau
Macau Royal Hotel
Hotel Royal Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing