We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great weekend stopover” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Royal Macau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Royal Macau
Ranked #25 of 93 Hotels in Macau
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great weekend stopover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Very centrally located, within walking distance of most historical sites. Hotel offers regular shuttle bus to main casinos and airport pick-up.
Clean and comfortable accommodation. We did not eat in the main restaurant but enjoyed buffet lunch in the lobby restaurant and had a great meal. Quality of service was good, helpful and friendly staff, able to speak English.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLS_Shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    726
    144
    34
    25
See reviews for
242
317
105
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kigali, Rwanda
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Pros:
- fab pool -- deep, long, perfect for a real swim, not just great for a dip with the kiddies
- great location, not in the center of the crowds, but close enough to main monuments
- clean, spacious rooms and great bathroom with tub
- mini fridge in our room

Cons:
- mainly a night-stopover hotel for Chinese/HK tourists, thus the place can get very noisy with kids (7-9 pm) and sometimes, drunk adults (12-3 am) . Between 7-8 am when everyone is checking out, there is regularly noisy shouting, as people pack up and leave. The staff does little about the noise level for those guests who stay longer and have complained (like yours truly)

- though there are signs fining people for smoking everywhere, people sneak smokes in fire exits room etc, and so the halls smell smokey, and again staff does nothing about it (perhaps they are the culprits?)

- the hotel is not at all set up for business guests. The "business center" consists of 2 computers (only one with an updated Word program) which you have to use while a staff member supervises you. There is no wireless internet in rooms, only very slow broadband.
But a LAN cable as well as HK type plug are most kindly provided for you.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms have a view facing park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rwandanite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

This hotel is worth endorsing... very clean and the staff are so accomodating particularly the filipinos. Its location s also peaceful and accesible. Its near the st paul ruins, senado square, china ferry terminal etc.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria Lyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
317 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We are on a business trip and busy with meetings , have not much time to check out the hotel facilities, but the room was clean with good bathroom amenities, free wifi service ,The only setback was the room aircon setting is fixed at 26 degrees which is not cold enough for us. Hotel provides free shuttle services to town for sightseeing . Waiter in the coffee house was very efficient and courteous in serving our high tea. We hope to come back to Macau soon to have a better view of this hotel and places. .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldGlutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

When we got there we were told to wait for 30 mins, which was fine as we had coffee and tarts in the cafe. Although our coffee never arrived and we had to remind someone about them, after we had eaten our tarts. After an hour the room still wasn't ready and were asked to wait another 10 mins. My partner got a bit ratty and then suddenly we were given the room keys. There was only 1 decent receptionist who spoke English, cantonese and mandarin, hence she was always busy. The tea and coffee in the room was never filled properly each day and on one day we ended up with only 2 teabags, although I am sure that we could have asked for more. The concierge was brilliant, Rafiel, made our visit seem really easy. He gave us easy directions, told us what to look out for and what were the best sights. On closer inspection of the room, although it was clean, the carpets did have drink stains on them, but overall apart from the check in, everything was fine. I booked through agoda and got a special rate but I would not pay the full rack rate for this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilyho71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
9.4 km away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
0.8 km away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#20 of 93 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#21 of 93 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Sun Sun Macau
6.0 km away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Macau? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Macau

Property: Hotel Royal Macau
Address: No.2-4 Estrada da Vitoria, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Macau
#12 Casino Hotel in Macau
#20 Family Hotel in Macau
#24 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,242 - ₹ 11,089
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Royal Macau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Macau is an elegant hotel situated on Estrada da Vitória near the centre of Macau at the foot of the city's legendary landmark, the 174-metre-high hill, Colina da Guia. Well placed for both business and leisure travellers, Hotel Royal Macau offers a heaven of comfort and serenity in one of Asia's most exciting cities. Hotel Royal Macau sits on the doorstep of the Guia Lighthouse, site of the first lighthouse on the Chinese coast. Within walking distance, guests of the hotel can reach Ruins of St Paul's, Vasco da Gama Monument and many other attractions in Macau. Hong Kong is only an hour away, and the Border Gate in Zhuhai is only 15-minute drive away. Well equipped with a fitness centre, a swimming pool and a choice of 380 spacious guest rooms and suites over 19 floors, Hotel Royal Macau presents the highest standards in all areas of accommodation and service. Every guest room at the hotel is beautifully appointed, using the finest furnishings in an innovative style, to create an atmosphere of contemporary luxury. Visitors who appreciate fine dining will be well catered for by the restaurants at Hotel Royal Macau. Catalpa Garden is the home of authentic Shanghai cuisine, and four individual rooms are available for the ultimate private dining experience. The hotel's FADO Portuguese restaurant features dishes from an award-winning chef who consistently delights diners with stylish Portuguese food. Royal Bakery's pastry teams are dedicated to producing delectable cakes and pastries in over 100 different flavours. Adjacent to it, Lobby Lounge is an ideal place to meet for an afternoon tea, a glass of champagne, a piece of cake, or even weekend tea buffets. Hotel Royal Macau is fully equipped to host business meetings and functions accommodating up to 200 people. The opulent furnishings and graceful decor of the hotel create an ideal ambience for work or leisure, and the addition of the latest technologies and a first-class service ensure every detail of the event is a success. Guests' comfort is always our top priority! It is our pleasure to offer assistance and information to make your experience at Hotel Royal Macau a pleasant one. Please do not hesitate to send us any enquiry or feedback by completing the form below. Our hotel representative will contact you shortly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Royal Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Macau
Macau Royal Hotel
Hotel Royal Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing