We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVERAGE HOTEL IN A GREAT LOCATION”
Review of Hotel Sintra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sintra
Ranked #34 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This is an old average hotel in downtown Macau. Looks a bit old and tired with boring colours. But the superb location makes up for that!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1globetrotterSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 245 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

When I visited Macau, China, I stayed at the Hotel Sintra. Location at downtown Macau was excellent because from the hotel, one could just hop into the casino shuttles which bring you to the major casino resorts on another part of Macau. It's location was also walking distance to other tourist spots as well as to shopping areas.

Room was spacious with complete amenities and breakfast was varied. Since I was out of the hotel most of the time, I didn't require much assistance from the hotel personnel who were
friendly and helpful when you approached them at the front desk.

Value for money, Hotel Sintra was an excellent choice by my travel agent primarily because of its location and the amenities of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariloureyes2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I had a very nice stay here, straight from our trip in singapore. The room given to us is very nice except that bfast is not included. The hotel boasts of very good location with warm and friendly staff. I have recommended this to some friends who wanted to get a glimpse of Macau. I'll definitely book here again if given the chance.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueberri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Its long overdue review ~ was there in November 2011


As usual, I would have read a few reviews and set my expectation level. To me, if i want a 5* then i would go book a 5* but other than that, if there is hot water and a roof over my head, i am fine as i have slept in worst places.

Booked via their website and the deal was great. Got into Macau at 12pm but the Q at immigration was sooooooooooooo long and we wasted a lot of time waiting. When we rush out we manage to catch the complimentary shuttle bus ( its on the left of the exit )... phew! as i ask son to memorize the shuttle bus.
It was lots of fun with me and son, for those who are just planning to go with son, this is a rather easy city to handle and being right in the heart, we walked everywhere. He is not used to Macau food but if you walk to the square and along the corner, you can find all sorts of eatery. That settles it. Good part is we can walk everywhere.

Rooms are basic and big as we got upgraded ( that's what they say ), food inside was not cheap so we walk out at eat and found a lovely place to eat call Cafe Margaret ( http://foodiefc.blogspot.com/2012/01/margarets-cafe-e-nata-macau.html ) see the link. Wanted to go the next day again but they were close on Wednesday due to staff shortage. If you stay in Hotel Sintra, its very easy to find ( to me anyway ), just come out from lobby, turn left, cross the street opposite and its one of the alley ( see the map ).

Rooms are basic and clean, staff are helpful. Complimentary shuttle was on time.

In Macau if you know where to catch the shuttle bus, its free transport from point A to B. Took Kiddo to Venetian using the free shuttle. Another great place to take kid if they like cars and stuff is the Grand Prix Museum.

Mid November is a nice month to travel to Hong Kong and Macau.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clescur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

No problems at all with the staff. Though not oozing with warmth, they are still generally courteous, and provided speedy service. Attesting to all the previous positive comments on its location, Sintra is in a brightly lit, clean area where you can walk around comfortably. However the hotel rooms are a little jaded, and already showing signs of age. Nevertheless, it is still fairly comfortable, and most importantly clean; bath towels are still thankfully white and thick. The weighing machine in the room comes in handy if you want to check if you've been over eating or buying too much goodies to take home!
Taxi fare from the hotel to the airport is under 60HKD ( excluding luggage) - you can just flag one down in front of the hotel easily. Buses to various parts of Macau ply the roads around the hotel, so getting around is pretty easy and affordable too (at betw 3 to 4 pataca depending on which area you are going to).
A minus is that you have to fork out a room deposit of HKD500, even when you pay upfront in full!

Room Tip: Room rates for the weekend ( Friday inclusive ) are far more expensive, than on weekdays. So if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Just_my_views
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.2 km away
Metropole Hotel Macau
Metropole Hotel Macau
#43 of 94 in Macau
563 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#22 of 94 in Macau
1,151 reviews
0.1 km away
Grand Emperor Hotel
Grand Emperor Hotel
#16 of 94 in Macau
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#26 of 94 in Macau
1,341 reviews
0.7 km away
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
#39 of 94 in Macau
232 reviews
0.7 km away
Ole London Hotel
Ole London Hotel
#40 of 94 in Macau
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sintra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sintra

Address: Avenida De Joao IV, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Price Range: ₹ 6,033 - ₹ 47,940 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sintra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Hotel with spectacular view of Praia Grande Bay, within walking distance of Casino & business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sintra Hotel Macau
Hotel Sintra Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing