We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with a good location”
Review of Hotel Sintra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sintra
Ranked #33 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Makati City
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel with a good location”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I had a very nice stay here, straight from our trip in singapore. The room given to us is very nice except that bfast is not included. The hotel boasts of very good location with warm and friendly staff. I have recommended this to some friends who wanted to get a glimpse of Macau. I'll definitely book here again if given the chance.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueberri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    457
    122
    13
    6
See reviews for
182
140
78
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Its long overdue review ~ was there in November 2011


As usual, I would have read a few reviews and set my expectation level. To me, if i want a 5* then i would go book a 5* but other than that, if there is hot water and a roof over my head, i am fine as i have slept in worst places.

Booked via their website and the deal was great. Got into Macau at 12pm but the Q at immigration was sooooooooooooo long and we wasted a lot of time waiting. When we rush out we manage to catch the complimentary shuttle bus ( its on the left of the exit )... phew! as i ask son to memorize the shuttle bus.
It was lots of fun with me and son, for those who are just planning to go with son, this is a rather easy city to handle and being right in the heart, we walked everywhere. He is not used to Macau food but if you walk to the square and along the corner, you can find all sorts of eatery. That settles it. Good part is we can walk everywhere.

Rooms are basic and big as we got upgraded ( that's what they say ), food inside was not cheap so we walk out at eat and found a lovely place to eat call Cafe Margaret ( http://foodiefc.blogspot.com/2012/01/margarets-cafe-e-nata-macau.html ) see the link. Wanted to go the next day again but they were close on Wednesday due to staff shortage. If you stay in Hotel Sintra, its very easy to find ( to me anyway ), just come out from lobby, turn left, cross the street opposite and its one of the alley ( see the map ).

Rooms are basic and clean, staff are helpful. Complimentary shuttle was on time.

In Macau if you know where to catch the shuttle bus, its free transport from point A to B. Took Kiddo to Venetian using the free shuttle. Another great place to take kid if they like cars and stuff is the Grand Prix Museum.

Mid November is a nice month to travel to Hong Kong and Macau.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clescur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

No problems at all with the staff. Though not oozing with warmth, they are still generally courteous, and provided speedy service. Attesting to all the previous positive comments on its location, Sintra is in a brightly lit, clean area where you can walk around comfortably. However the hotel rooms are a little jaded, and already showing signs of age. Nevertheless, it is still fairly comfortable, and most importantly clean; bath towels are still thankfully white and thick. The weighing machine in the room comes in handy if you want to check if you've been over eating or buying too much goodies to take home!
Taxi fare from the hotel to the airport is under 60HKD ( excluding luggage) - you can just flag one down in front of the hotel easily. Buses to various parts of Macau ply the roads around the hotel, so getting around is pretty easy and affordable too (at betw 3 to 4 pataca depending on which area you are going to).
A minus is that you have to fork out a room deposit of HKD500, even when you pay upfront in full!

Room Tip: Room rates for the weekend ( Friday inclusive ) are far more expensive, than on weekdays. So if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Just_my_views
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Lifts go at a snail pace. Staff don't go out of their way to help you. Wanted to use my brekky voucher and accidentally took tomorrow's. Lady would not let me use it. It doesn't make a difference whether I use it today or tomorrow as I still only redeem it once. Blanket thickness is non-non-existant.

Location is good but everything else is terrible.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel first week f march for 2 nights. Check in was fast, no problems, the hotel receptionist even gave us an upgraded room for three without additional cost though the additional bed turned out to be a sofa bed only. The rooms were large , the room for 3 guest has a nice view because it was located in front of the hotel. Unfortunately, the one given to me and my husband was located at the right side of the 7th floor and had no view.The housekeeping service was fast when we requested for additional pillows and adaptor. The hotel was easily accessible from anywhere because it has free shuttle buses to and from the ferry terminal and the city of dreams which was located at the other side of Macau. Shuttle buses were just located outside Sintra Hotel and at very short, regular intervals so we never spent a single cent for transportation around the city. And you can also ride a Lisboa or Emperor shuttle bus from the ferry because it is just a stone's throw away from Sintra Hotel. The only thing i missed at the hotal was lack of seating space at the lobby, but evertything was okay, additional plus points for its nearness at the senado square which was 10 minutes away. Wifi was also free.

Room Tip: choose a room located in front of hotel or along Avenida de Joao for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kengkeng1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#23 of 95 in Macau
1,126 reviews
0.2 km away
Metropole Hotel Macau
Metropole Hotel Macau
#46 of 95 in Macau
557 reviews
0.1 km away
Grand Emperor Hotel
Grand Emperor Hotel
#18 of 95 in Macau
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#28 of 95 in Macau
1,318 reviews
0.7 km away
Ole London Hotel
Ole London Hotel
#41 of 95 in Macau
653 reviews
0.7 km away
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
#38 of 95 in Macau
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sintra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sintra

Property: Hotel Sintra
Address: Avenida De Joao IV, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,867 - ₹ 45,197
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sintra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Hotel with spectacular view of Praia Grande Bay, within walking distance of Casino & business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sintra Hotel Macau
Hotel Sintra Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing