We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel on the Cotai strip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
Ranked #17 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice hotel on the Cotai strip”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The Cotai Sands consist of three hotels (Holiday Inn, Conrad and Sheraton). We stayed at the Holiday Inn, which by my standards is a huge hotel. Cotai Central is really a shopping centre with hotels and casinos, so it felt a bit like staying in a mall. Still, the hotel is nice, with large rooms of high standard. Our package included free ferry tickets to HK, HK$500 worth of vouchers that could be used most at shops and restaurants on the Cotai strip, and breakfast, which made it good value for money in the end. Although, wifi is very expensive... The location of the hotel is in Cotai, not in Macau city, which was not a problem for us. I'm not a gambler, so I was worried that it would just feel like a casino, but it did not. Unless you actively seek the casinos, you don't have to go to them. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Be aware that this is a very large and busy hotel. You will be queuing up tp check in/out, for breakfast, to get back to your room after breakfast and to get down to the lobby around check-out time. Make sure you have enough time...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ingvoldSTAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    587
    124
    23
    16
See reviews for
402
349
92
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stay here for one night during the big promotion period.It's good to get a room at around 1330 since all hotels on Macau starts check in at 1500. Quite a lot of guests waited for check in and the time we waited for 10mins whick was absolutely acceptable. Nice room on 20th floor and everything was fine and new. I would recommend this hotel to everyone especially you are looking for a 4 star hotel with good price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. There is no greater satisfaction than receiving kind words from a valued guest. Rest assured that your comments have been shared with the appropriate department head, so they may in turn, share your wonderful compliments with their team members.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to write to us after your recent visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
111 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Was booked into the Holiday Inn Cotai for 2 nights because the Conrad Cota (same building, stacked on top of HolidayInn) was full.

Very impressed on checking in. New, shiny, large room, 42in LCD TV. modern bathroom. Did not feel like a typical Holiday Inn at all. Perfect if I was on vacation.

Unfortunately let down by very expensive(approx USD30/day) and extrremly poor internet connections (wired or wifi) in the room. Desk was also a bit too small for my liking as I needed to work in the room.h

Check-out experience was such a nightmare that I wished it was a typical HolidayInn where speedy checkout is the norm. It took them almost 30mins to process my checkout. The staff insisted that I pay cash for the ferry ticket (Macau-HongKong Airport) instead of charging to the room bill. I had to get the front desk manager to explain to the staff that the ferry tix payment service is part of what Holiday Inn provided for its guests. Even after that, they got the bill wrong. No apologies for the mistakes was given. Thus, to express my dissapointment, I insisted that the manager waive the service charge for my 2nd night stay. It was not a significant amout, but that was the only way I could get the hotel to take notice of the service lapse.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel, where staff & management are better trained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lance-Travellot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience of recent stay. It allows us to identify area to continually improve our service and facilities.

We are concerned to learn of the check-out service experience you have encountered, in particular the ferry ticket posting. We have discussed these matters with our team and necessary steps are taken to avoid similar recurrence.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back at Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central in the near future.

Ernest Cheng
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed here from 17 June to 18 June. The resort is not open in its entirety.

The lift lobby on our floor was too dark for our liking. The room was good size but smaller than The Venetian and also smaller than Holiday Inn Zhuhai, though the bed was good size. The TV is a 16:9 flatscreen LCD but does not offer any HD channels, not even a free terrestrial one.

Internet in the room costs $160 for 24 hours. I can get free access at Kempinski Chengdu and Sands Marina Bay Singapore! It is irritating and irrational they charge you like this. You can get free internet access in the lobby. But be warned there are mosquitos in the lobby!

Food in the resort is generally expensive, but you can join as their member and then get cheaper offers.

The pool in the hotel is not big but nice and staff are generally helpful and friendly. But the whole place is underwhelming. Nothing to write home about. If you have to stay in Cotai, head back to the Venetian. Don't stay here unless you have a good deal.

Room Tip: Go back to the Venetian.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012 via mobile

I checked in on late Sunday night and stayed 1 night in our upgraded king size bed hotel room on the 33rd floor. I purchased the online offer from the hotel website for free breakfast, 500hkd coupon, and return ferry tickets to Hong Kong. The good part about the stay: new hotel, good pillows (you can choose soft or firm) very quiet floor, and access to Conrad hotel's Grand Orbit restaurant for international buffet, access to Conrad Hotel's Bohdi Spa. The service was fine, only dislike would be the sign confusion in the lobby, and lack of English speaking staff in the concierge. Overall, the stay was better than I expected and I give it a four star rating.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank miffymiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
5.5 km away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
5.2 km away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
1.3 km away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Macau
Holiday Inn Macau
#33 of 95 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
5.8 km away
Studio City Macau
Studio City Macau
#24 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central

Property: Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
Address: Senhora De Esperanca S/N Taipa, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Macau
#11 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#13 Family Hotel in Macau
#14 Business Hotel in Macau
#16 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,821 - ₹ 14,477
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central 4*
Number of rooms: 1224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing