We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Okura Macau
Nearby Hotels
Grand Emperor Hotel(Macau)
US$ 199
US$ 174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 195
US$ 162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Royal Macau(Macau)(Great Value!)
US$ 117
US$ 91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 215
US$ 196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 167
US$ 127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 262
US$ 236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Lapa Macau(Macau)(Great Value!)
US$ 121
US$ 87
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 449
US$ 419
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 143
US$ 122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Macau(Macau)(Great Value!)
US$ 92
US$ 89
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,707)
Filter reviews
1,707 results
Traveller rating
1,216
339
90
32
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,216
339
90
32
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior suitejapanese stylewave poolgalaxy complexsauna roomcakeexecutive floorbottle of red winesteam showertea setgrand resort deckanniversary celebrationhealth clubbirthday cardchoose this hotelother hotelslobby lounge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
840 - 845 of 1,707 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2012

The Hotel was lovely, new and clean. And the overall experience is great other than the below poor services we got at the executive lounge located at 6/F.

For the breakfast we got offered from the hotel, it's located on the 6/F. And we were served by a waitress named "Ying". And i asked for a coffee with soy/ skim milk, and i repeated myself in both English/ Cantonese and Mandarin to make sure she understand. Then, she brought me a hot full cream milk in a cup, but not the coffee i asked for. And for this lady, no matter what language you speak to her in, she always reply you in Mandarin. It's just unacceptable.

Other than the above poor experience, we had a great stay with Hotel Okura

Room Tip: Rooms facing the city view got a better view, and quieter
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your time to share with us your comment in relation to your recent stay in Hotel Okura Macau.

I regret to learn about your stay was affected by the unfavorable experience during your breakfast. Your comment has been passed on to relevant departmental manager for immediate service review. I am sorry for the inconvenience caused in between. It is your valuable feedback allows us to recognize where we must improve and develop.

Thank you very much for your support. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Okura Macau in the near future.

Hotel Management,
Hotel Okura Macau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

First of all, the location. Galaxy is right across the road from Taipa village so it is easy to get respite when you feel all glitzed out by the casino complex! Good location for the Cotai strip. The reason we selected this hotel however was the grand resort deck (shared by Okura, Galaxy & Banyan tree) which was a huge hit with our 4 year old. Great choice for families with kids. Okura faces directly onto the resort deck and is the closest hotel to the little sandy beach and wave pool. This is a great option for people like us who didn't want to fly to a resort in asia - this was the next best thing. I chose Okura because it didn't look as gaudy as the Galaxy Hotel and it was more of a family option than the more exclusive Banyan Tree, which looks more like a honeymoon destination. Definitely the best choice after I saw the other two hotels.

We booked a superior suite and a deluxe room next door to each other. The deluxe room is perfectly adequate for a single person or couple, and the suite was a really good option for us because we have young kids. The suite had two double beds so it is good if you have two parents plus one or two kids all staying together. The superior suite had a second guest bathroom (powder room) separate from the bedroom so we didn't risk disturbing sleeping children to use the bathroom.

The suite was a good size, and the highlight was definitely the bathroom. Wow. It was huge and had a sauna, a steam shower (basically like showering in a steam room) and a deep jacuzzi tub. The toilet was off the bathroom in a separate room so you can still use it while someone else is in the bathroom. Loved the bathroom. The electronic toilet was quite amusing although my 4 year old was frightened by it because the lid would go up and down automatically.

The suite had a small kitchen with a fridge, microwave, nespresso machine and even a cooker. I don't really understand why it has a kitchen though, because there wasn't a single plate, fork or spoon to be found in the room. Clearly guests are not actually expected to use it! We did not use the nespresso because there was no milk supplied, which is a shame. That said, Pacific Coffee and Starbucks were right downstairs.

The suite was on the side of the hotel that looks over the river to China (odd numbered rooms). Really ugly view and quite depressing. The Cotai strip looks like a combination of a construction site and a wasteland. The other side of hotel faces over the resort deck which is much nicer. The suite was right at the end of the corridor so it was very quiet and we never heard a single noise.

The staff were mostly efficient and helpful, and the concierges gave us directions to local restaurants and made bookings for us. Room service was fast. Biggest disappointment was probably the executive lounge, it was pretty blah. We ate our breakfast there in the morning, the selection was OK, but the hot food was generally cold. Considering the package we got, I suppose we can't complain. But I wouldn't pay extra just to upgrade to the executive floor unless I was on business. Save your money and make use of any one of the myriad dining options in the galaxy complex, or the Festiva international buffet.

Just some comment on the Galaxy complex. We used the kids playroom which is divided into two sides, one suitable for kids 3 years and under and the other suitable for kids over about 10 (games arcade). Great for those age groups but a big gap in age suitability. My son was to old for the baby side and too young for the arcade side. Also, the Galaxy complex stinks - it smells like cheap perfume and toilet cleaner 24/7. Gross. Thank goodness you can escape outside. I have a very sensitive sense of smell because I don't use any perfumes at all, and I think they must put this stink through the air ducts to mask the smell of smoke from the casino. It was almost as bad in the Okura lobby but the rest of the hotel was OK. This is not Okura's fault though.

Overall, happy with the experience and I would definitely stay again for a 'resort' style holiday.

Room Tip: Get a room on the side facing the resort deck if you want a decent view. End of the corridor was very quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oz_merc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OkuraMacau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Okura Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2016

Dear oz_merc,

Warmest greetings from Hotel Okura Macau. We miss you so much and it has been quite a while we have not heard from you. Thank you for your continued support and patronage to our hotel and we hope that you had enjoyed your last visit to Macau. We are very happy to share with you that our property has doubled the size by increasing the number of dining options to over 120 restaurants including Michelin star restaurants. Besides, we do have new shopping precinct featuring over 200 shops including first-to-Macau brands, luxury flagship stores, designer boutiques and high-street lifestyle favorites. Last but not the least; we do feature the world’s longest skytop aquatic adventure river ride at 575 meters - skytop adventure rapids which is just 5 minute access from our guest room at the Grand Resort Deck, together with world’s largest skytop wave pool and white sand beach, plus exhilarating waterslides, beach lagoons, white water rapids, geysers, waterfalls and kids zone.

It is our utmost pleasure to welcoming you back to the Japan’s legendary Okura Hotels & Resorts that provides one-stop services to you and your beloved family as we could not wait anymore to see you in the nearest future.

Guest Relations Team
Hotel Okura Macau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This review applies to my stay in a Superior Suite, a room with a rate of 8400 MOP per night.

The room:
The room is in newer condition and impressive. Entering the room features a foyer with powder room, japanese high-tech bidet toilets fun to play with, a minibar fully stocked and a nice selection of snacks in the shelves. Past the foyer is the living room with a couch, business table and coffee table and circular chair, the standard free wifi and plasma tv. The curtains close but not completely black-out, yet very close.

Entering the bedroom is a small closet and hallway, a nice king size bed, extremely firm, with plasma tv. The bedroom has a full bathroom with toilet, steam shower, 1 person sauna, and large tub. The bathroom is a great size and very nicely done. The steam shower is a great size while the sauna room is on the small size. The tub is one of the biggest in class and very deep. The tub takes a good 30 minutes or more to fill so be patient. However, the tub is easy to spill water over and the bathroom fails to have a water drain. The tub has a jacuzzi feature although fails to serve any purpose, probably due to design error. The side of the tub has opening cabinets that are not properly installed. Be careful not to hit yourself. The soaps included are Hotel Okura branded and nothing impressive. I would actually be careful as I had some reaction after using them and the bath salts.

The door is a double door and security of the door is a concern.

The club room:
I can say that McDonalds is more impressive. The club room at Hotel Okura features a small sitting space, only one copy of each newspaper, outdated newspapers. I could not even get todays paper after requested. They only have 1 staff member so service is slow as they are serving everyone and getting a coffee is a bit of a hassle. The only food that is included is a couple small snacks, and I mean desserts, not even substance food. There is some alcohol but well designed as to be "off limits" and I haven't seen anyone touch it the 2 days I was there.

The service:
11pm turn down service, really? When I returned to my room at 11pm, the staff had just entered. One of the housekeepers made me feel like a criminal when they left the door wide open while one member was in the bathroom. The staff could not communicate in either Chinese or English, and after 5 minutes, she just wanted our card and put it into the wide open door to make sure it was our room. Understandable. Once the staff saw us return, they quickly left without finishing the turn-down. They did not fill the ice bucket left out, they did not refill the coffee, tea, or snacks left out, they did not prepare the bed, slippers, towels, or anything. I was extremely disappointed, I had to prepare the bed myself. I called and requested the ice and received the ice and I asked for the snacks, tea and coffee. They completely ignored it, and one staff said that "I am not VIP" so I can not get the snacks left on the table. I am completely shocked. A true 5 star hotel should find solutions, not excuses. At the end of the day, the manager arranged a late check-out and still never gave us the tea, coffee or snacks after I continually requested it. The brownie in the snacks was good :)

The late check-out of 4pm:
This part must have been a joke. The housekeeping came by 5 times ringing the door bell and knocking on the door constantly each time. Serious? Then at the 5th time, I answered the door, at 3:00pm and he asked if I want my room cleaned. Well, I am leaving at 4pm, right? Is it really appropriate to have the room cleaned at 3pm?

Leaving the room:
Walking down the hallway, I saw the housekeeper at the other end of the hallway. He was turned around and on his phone, saying several times in a loud manner, what is the status of room "xxxx". I really felt embarrassed to stay at this hotel and felt rushed out, even though I left about 3:15-3:30pm, 30-45 minutes BEFORE the checkout time. The housekeeper was embarrassed at his actions after he turned around and saw me there hearing him screaming whats the status of room "xxxx". The housekeeper said nothing, no apology, no thank-you for staying here. Nothing.

Management:
My friend, who communicated in Chinese with the manager, mentioned about the broken tub side panel in the room, which is a dangerous hazard if you hit it. I have a small scratch on myself from it. The manager admitted that this is a known problem in the room and that they are working at improving.

Pool:
The pool is fun, the climbing toy, all of the handles are broken! It closes at 7pm.

Overall Rating 3 stars:
The hotel is new and well designed, with some flaws. It is definitely far from 5 star standard. Staff is not capable to provide true service. Just excuses and ignoring of complaints. Several members of the management team were aware of the situation, both during and after the stay, and the ones after the stay tried to blame the situation on "it is over", "hope you come back again", instead of rectifying the situation. The management during the stay offered a late check-out, which ignoring requests.

Why would management allow a room with a hazard to be given to a customer?

Why is management not responsive to customer concerns?

The hotel is short staffed. Express check-in takes longer than normal check-in, in my opinion. This hotel will not go out of the way for you. We arrived at 12:30pm and were told to wait until 3pm. Other hotels will give the room early, for example, Sofitel and Four Seasons, both which are far better value and service.

Skip this hotel, there are far better hotels out there, and if you compare the price, I would never give any Hotel Okura a chance again.

Four Seasons and Sofitel have exceeded my standards on several occasions and offer better price packages and far more luxury.

Room Tip: Hotel is also undergoing renovation and you can hear the noise. Avoid.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank boothindc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OkuraMacau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Okura Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2016

Dear boothindc2010,

Warmest greetings from Hotel Okura Macau. We miss you so much and it has been quite a while we have not heard from you. Thank you for your continued support and patronage to our hotel and we hope that you had enjoyed your last visit to Macau. We are very happy to share with you that our property has doubled the size by increasing the number of dining options to over 120 restaurants including Michelin star restaurants. Besides, we do have new shopping precinct featuring over 200 shops including first-to-Macau brands, luxury flagship stores, designer boutiques and high-street lifestyle favorites. Last but not the least; we do feature the world’s longest skytop aquatic adventure river ride at 575 meters - skytop adventure rapids which is just 5 minute access from our guest room at the Grand Resort Deck, together with world’s largest skytop wave pool and white sand beach, plus exhilarating waterslides, beach lagoons, white water rapids, geysers, waterfalls and kids zone.

It is our utmost pleasure to welcoming you back to the Japan’s legendary Okura Hotels & Resorts that provides one-stop services to you and your beloved family as we could not wait anymore to see you in the nearest future.

Guest Relations Team
Hotel Okura Macau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

From the moment you arrive until you leave in the taxi, you experience the perfect place.
A better 5 star you can¨t get. Efficient and very friendly staff. Not so efficient that there was no time for a friendly little chat in the morning. Very well trained staff. The "sandy" beach around the pool, gave the right impression, that you are not staying in Macau, at all. The only minus with the stay: it was too short. Next time we spend more days there.

Room Tip: We had a Junior Suite package for 2 nights with automatic upgrade to Superior Suite ! Hard to describe the suite, you must experience it. Had it all incl. sauna and steamroom. What else to say.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richme1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OkuraMacau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Okura Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2015

Dear richme1234,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your precious feedback with us. We are pleased to know that you had enjoyable stay at our hotel. We hope that you will visit Hotel Okura Macau again for another beautiful stay.

Guest Relations Team
Hotel Okura Macau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Right from the beginning the staff in the Okura were friendly and attentive, this was a consistent and positive experience throughout our stay.

Our room was a Superior Suite - although we had requested a no-smoking room with our booking at check-in they said there was construction work on that floor and so nothing was available. They did offer to move our room if we were not happy - not a good start but the room was fine. The suite was comfortable and reasonably spacious though the beds are not up to the comfort level of some other hotels and for some reason the room seemed to get warmer (a bit too warm) overnight despite turning the air-conditioning down.

The bathroom is a very good size with a jacuzzi bath, sauna room and shower/steam-room. The bath however has its taps out of reach for anyone under about 6ft (184cm) requiring them to get in the bath to reach them - odd. Even if you are tall enough it is quite a stretch. Towels are stored on the opposite side of the bathroom from the shower so you have to remember to take one with you. The separate toilet is a auto-lid opening push button affair (there are two toilets in the suite).

Furnishings in the room are attractive and seemed to be something like Ikea quality. The room safe looks large but is quite shallow - too shallow. The small balcony was clearly not really expected to be used as it was small and had no furniture - maybe smokers use it.

The Okura is part of a large complex of three hotels dominated by the Galaxy which takes up a whole building. The Okura shares a building with the Banyan Tree. The ground floor is where these all come together with the casino in the middle. In Macau children are strictly forbidden from the casino areas which means that as with other hotels guests with children are penalized with a longer walk to get from one side to another. Some places like the travel ticket office are out of bounds to families because it is located within the casino area.

One of the attractions for us was the large wave pool (we had children with us) shared by the three hotels and located on the 2nd floor. This is a very good size and the kids really loved it. In front of the pool there is a sanded area giving a beach feel, this is kept very clean and there is a shallow moat area to keep the sand from the wave pool. Pool rules were diligently enforced such as only proper swim-wear was allowed into the pool, ie no swimming with a t-shirt.

The restaurants within the hotel complex are ok with a few very good ones but there is a lack of normal hotel cafe type restaurant. Consequently food prices and especially wine started somewhat high - though there is a MacDonalds. As we had a suite it included use of the Executive Lounge which provided a limited though quite adequate free breakfast. The Japanese restaurant within the Okura, Yamazato, offers an excellent tea ceremony - I didn't go but was given a very positive recommendation by those that did.

Overall as mentioned in the heading we were all happy enough with the experience that we will most probably go again - the kids would go again tomorrow if they had the chance.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3rdimension
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OkuraMacau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Okura Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2016

Dear 3rdimension,

Warmest greetings from Hotel Okura Macau. We miss you so much and it has been quite a while we have not heard from you. Thank you for your continued support and patronage to our hotel and we hope that you had enjoyed your last visit to Macau. We are very happy to share with you that our property has doubled the size by increasing the number of dining options to over 120 restaurants including Michelin star restaurants. Besides, we do have new shopping precinct featuring over 200 shops including first-to-Macau brands, luxury flagship stores, designer boutiques and high-street lifestyle favorites. Last but not the least; we do feature the world’s longest skytop aquatic adventure river ride at 575 meters - skytop adventure rapids which is just 5 minute access from our guest room at the Grand Resort Deck, together with world’s largest skytop wave pool and white sand beach, plus exhilarating waterslides, beach lagoons, white water rapids, geysers, waterfalls and kids zone.

It is our utmost pleasure to welcoming you back to the Japan’s legendary Okura Hotels & Resorts that provides one-stop services to you and your beloved family as we could not wait anymore to see you in the nearest future.

Guest Relations Team
Hotel Okura Macau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews