We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff training and self-discipline has huge room for improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Okura Macau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Okura Macau
Ranked #8 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Staff training and self-discipline has huge room for improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

I am 100% confidence with almost every 5-star branded hotel in Macau in terms of room conditions and amenities. There is no exception for Hotel Okura Macau. However, my first accommodation in this Japanese establishment can hardly persuade me to come back again.

I checked in at around 5pm and was granted two key cards. By the time I inserted the key card to the door slot, the green light appeared. In a flash of second, the door opened before I turned the door handle clockwise. Oh my god, it was a female staff who opened the door at the same time with me! One could imagine how haunting such experience could be. Judging from her uniform style, she was not a housekeeping staff. Her facial expression was as "surprised" as me. Then she walked out from my room after whispering "sorry", then disappeared. No explanation at all. Can anyone explain to me why she was in my room when it was not supposed to be?

The front desk staff who pick up phone calls from guest rooms should receive more training. I was assigned to a room on the 18th floor. Not knowing if my room would be on the Executive floor or not, I pressed the front desk button to ask. If my room is on the exec floor, I would love to go to the lounge for a drink. That's my intention of calling.

The phone started counting time once it was picke up. At 2m30s, the phonecall ended. Nevertheless, the female staff didn't actually answer my question. The feedback I got was "Your room is eligible for 2 sets of breakfasts. The breakfast place was located on 2/F. Breakfast is available from 7-11am." Within this duration, my phone call was put on hold two times as the female staff said she had to check.

The most unexpected thing happened at 8pm. When I was about to take the lift to go down to 2/F for dinner. All the lifts were not in service. I could hear slight emergency alarm. With no better option, I went back to the room and called the staff. The lady said lift service was temporarily suspened due to a pressed alarm and the system was under repair. With no idea how long it took, the lady promised me she would call me back. Before hanging up, I asked if I could use the staircase to go down cos I was in a rush. She said she had to check and came back to me. Ten minutes passed and I called her again. She repeated the same answer. After getting a whatsapp message from my teammate about "lift service was back to normal", I took the lift to go down to lobby floor. When I passed the check in counter, a crowd of young female staff were laughing loudly. Obviously they were chatting and enjoying themselves AT THE FRONT DESK. I had never witnessed such a scene in a five-star hotel's front desk...

The next morning I proceeded to breakfast before 0900. My roommate went for breakfast at 1030. She was guided to a table after leaving her room number to a waitress. After getting herself a plate of food, the same waitress came back to her and said only 1 person's breakfast was complimentary for her room. The bill was put on her table at the same time. It's MOP280. She was annoyed and irritated. By the time she was thinking what to do next, a manager walked by. She explained the situation to him. The gentleman is polite and professional. He returned to her table after a while and informed her the matter was settled. Yet, her mood was greated affected.

No matter how "luxurious" and "grandiose" a hotel is built and regardless of how "well-equipped" and "well-thought" a guest room can be, it is the quality of the staff which makes a hotel prospers and lasts. If a hotel fails to attract repeated customers, it has no future.

Room Tip: the double layered glass deflects the views outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vivian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Okura Macau, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear valued guest,

We have investigated all your comments in detail and have shared them with our staff. To add on to the matter of fact, we should have been more attentive. Without delay, we learned and corrected our practice from this experience to prevent the same mistake to occur. Your comment has truly been referred and highlighted to the operational managers for review and follow up with the reinforcement for the staff training in urgent manner.

Once again, we are deeply sorry for all kinds of avoidable inconveniences caused. Please accept our sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations. We truly hope there will be another chance to serve you back to experience the true Okura spirit and unique Japanese Hospitality.

Hotel Management,
Hotel Okura Macau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,034
    285
    76
    28
    25
See reviews for
551
484
59
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

The Hotel was lovely, new and clean. And the overall experience is great other than the below poor services we got at the executive lounge located at 6/F.

For the breakfast we got offered from the hotel, it's located on the 6/F. And we were served by a waitress named "Ying". And i asked for a coffee with soy/ skim milk, and i repeated myself in both English/ Cantonese and Mandarin to make sure she understand. Then, she brought me a hot full cream milk in a cup, but not the coffee i asked for. And for this lady, no matter what language you speak to her in, she always reply you in Mandarin. It's just unacceptable.

Other than the above poor experience, we had a great stay with Hotel Okura

Room Tip: Rooms facing the city view got a better view, and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Okura Macau, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your time to share with us your comment in relation to your recent stay in Hotel Okura Macau.

I regret to learn about your stay was affected by the unfavorable experience during your breakfast. Your comment has been passed on to relevant departmental manager for immediate service review. I am sorry for the inconvenience caused in between. It is your valuable feedback allows us to recognize where we must improve and develop.

Thank you very much for your support. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Okura Macau in the near future.

Hotel Management,
Hotel Okura Macau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

First of all, the location. Galaxy is right across the road from Taipa village so it is easy to get respite when you feel all glitzed out by the casino complex! Good location for the Cotai strip. The reason we selected this hotel however was the grand resort deck (shared by Okura, Galaxy & Banyan tree) which was a huge hit with our 4 year old. Great choice for families with kids. Okura faces directly onto the resort deck and is the closest hotel to the little sandy beach and wave pool. This is a great option for people like us who didn't want to fly to a resort in asia - this was the next best thing. I chose Okura because it didn't look as gaudy as the Galaxy Hotel and it was more of a family option than the more exclusive Banyan Tree, which looks more like a honeymoon destination. Definitely the best choice after I saw the other two hotels.

We booked a superior suite and a deluxe room next door to each other. The deluxe room is perfectly adequate for a single person or couple, and the suite was a really good option for us because we have young kids. The suite had two double beds so it is good if you have two parents plus one or two kids all staying together. The superior suite had a second guest bathroom (powder room) separate from the bedroom so we didn't risk disturbing sleeping children to use the bathroom.

The suite was a good size, and the highlight was definitely the bathroom. Wow. It was huge and had a sauna, a steam shower (basically like showering in a steam room) and a deep jacuzzi tub. The toilet was off the bathroom in a separate room so you can still use it while someone else is in the bathroom. Loved the bathroom. The electronic toilet was quite amusing although my 4 year old was frightened by it because the lid would go up and down automatically.

The suite had a small kitchen with a fridge, microwave, nespresso machine and even a cooker. I don't really understand why it has a kitchen though, because there wasn't a single plate, fork or spoon to be found in the room. Clearly guests are not actually expected to use it! We did not use the nespresso because there was no milk supplied, which is a shame. That said, Pacific Coffee and Starbucks were right downstairs.

The suite was on the side of the hotel that looks over the river to China (odd numbered rooms). Really ugly view and quite depressing. The Cotai strip looks like a combination of a construction site and a wasteland. The other side of hotel faces over the resort deck which is much nicer. The suite was right at the end of the corridor so it was very quiet and we never heard a single noise.

The staff were mostly efficient and helpful, and the concierges gave us directions to local restaurants and made bookings for us. Room service was fast. Biggest disappointment was probably the executive lounge, it was pretty blah. We ate our breakfast there in the morning, the selection was OK, but the hot food was generally cold. Considering the package we got, I suppose we can't complain. But I wouldn't pay extra just to upgrade to the executive floor unless I was on business. Save your money and make use of any one of the myriad dining options in the galaxy complex, or the Festiva international buffet.

Just some comment on the Galaxy complex. We used the kids playroom which is divided into two sides, one suitable for kids 3 years and under and the other suitable for kids over about 10 (games arcade). Great for those age groups but a big gap in age suitability. My son was to old for the baby side and too young for the arcade side. Also, the Galaxy complex stinks - it smells like cheap perfume and toilet cleaner 24/7. Gross. Thank goodness you can escape outside. I have a very sensitive sense of smell because I don't use any perfumes at all, and I think they must put this stink through the air ducts to mask the smell of smoke from the casino. It was almost as bad in the Okura lobby but the rest of the hotel was OK. This is not Okura's fault though.

Overall, happy with the experience and I would definitely stay again for a 'resort' style holiday.

Room Tip: Get a room on the side facing the resort deck if you want a decent view. End of the corridor was ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oz_merc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OkuraMacau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Okura Macau, responded to this review, 17 February 2016
Dear oz_merc,

Warmest greetings from Hotel Okura Macau. We miss you so much and it has been quite a while we have not heard from you. Thank you for your continued support and patronage to our hotel and we hope that you had enjoyed your last visit to Macau. We are very happy to share with you that our property has doubled the size by increasing the number of dining options to over 120 restaurants including Michelin star restaurants. Besides, we do have new shopping precinct featuring over 200 shops including first-to-Macau brands, luxury flagship stores, designer boutiques and high-street lifestyle favorites. Last but not the least; we do feature the world’s longest skytop aquatic adventure river ride at 575 meters - skytop adventure rapids which is just 5 minute access from our guest room at the Grand Resort Deck, together with world’s largest skytop wave pool and white sand beach, plus exhilarating waterslides, beach lagoons, white water rapids, geysers, waterfalls and kids zone.

It is our utmost pleasure to welcoming you back to the Japan’s legendary Okura Hotels & Resorts that provides one-stop services to you and your beloved family as we could not wait anymore to see you in the nearest future.

Guest Relations Team
Hotel Okura Macau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

This review applies to my stay in a Superior Suite, a room with a rate of 8400 MOP per night.

The room:
The room is in newer condition and impressive. Entering the room features a foyer with powder room, japanese high-tech bidet toilets fun to play with, a minibar fully stocked and a nice selection of snacks in the shelves. Past the foyer is the living room with a couch, business table and coffee table and circular chair, the standard free wifi and plasma tv. The curtains close but not completely black-out, yet very close.

Entering the bedroom is a small closet and hallway, a nice king size bed, extremely firm, with plasma tv. The bedroom has a full bathroom with toilet, steam shower, 1 person sauna, and large tub. The bathroom is a great size and very nicely done. The steam shower is a great size while the sauna room is on the small size. The tub is one of the biggest in class and very deep. The tub takes a good 30 minutes or more to fill so be patient. However, the tub is easy to spill water over and the bathroom fails to have a water drain. The tub has a jacuzzi feature although fails to serve any purpose, probably due to design error. The side of the tub has opening cabinets that are not properly installed. Be careful not to hit yourself. The soaps included are Hotel Okura branded and nothing impressive. I would actually be careful as I had some reaction after using them and the bath salts.

The door is a double door and security of the door is a concern.

The club room:
I can say that McDonalds is more impressive. The club room at Hotel Okura features a small sitting space, only one copy of each newspaper, outdated newspapers. I could not even get todays paper after requested. They only have 1 staff member so service is slow as they are serving everyone and getting a coffee is a bit of a hassle. The only food that is included is a couple small snacks, and I mean desserts, not even substance food. There is some alcohol but well designed as to be "off limits" and I haven't seen anyone touch it the 2 days I was there.

The service:
11pm turn down service, really? When I returned to my room at 11pm, the staff had just entered. One of the housekeepers made me feel like a criminal when they left the door wide open while one member was in the bathroom. The staff could not communicate in either Chinese or English, and after 5 minutes, she just wanted our card and put it into the wide open door to make sure it was our room. Understandable. Once the staff saw us return, they quickly left without finishing the turn-down. They did not fill the ice bucket left out, they did not refill the coffee, tea, or snacks left out, they did not prepare the bed, slippers, towels, or anything. I was extremely disappointed, I had to prepare the bed myself. I called and requested the ice and received the ice and I asked for the snacks, tea and coffee. They completely ignored it, and one staff said that "I am not VIP" so I can not get the snacks left on the table. I am completely shocked. A true 5 star hotel should find solutions, not excuses. At the end of the day, the manager arranged a late check-out and still never gave us the tea, coffee or snacks after I continually requested it. The brownie in the snacks was good :)

The late check-out of 4pm:
This part must have been a joke. The housekeeping came by 5 times ringing the door bell and knocking on the door constantly each time. Serious? Then at the 5th time, I answered the door, at 3:00pm and he asked if I want my room cleaned. Well, I am leaving at 4pm, right? Is it really appropriate to have the room cleaned at 3pm?

Leaving the room:
Walking down the hallway, I saw the housekeeper at the other end of the hallway. He was turned around and on his phone, saying several times in a loud manner, what is the status of room "xxxx". I really felt embarrassed to stay at this hotel and felt rushed out, even though I left about 3:15-3:30pm, 30-45 minutes BEFORE the checkout time. The housekeeper was embarrassed at his actions after he turned around and saw me there hearing him screaming whats the status of room "xxxx". The housekeeper said nothing, no apology, no thank-you for staying here. Nothing.

Management:
My friend, who communicated in Chinese with the manager, mentioned about the broken tub side panel in the room, which is a dangerous hazard if you hit it. I have a small scratch on myself from it. The manager admitted that this is a known problem in the room and that they are working at improving.

Pool:
The pool is fun, the climbing toy, all of the handles are broken! It closes at 7pm.

Overall Rating 3 stars:
The hotel is new and well designed, with some flaws. It is definitely far from 5 star standard. Staff is not capable to provide true service. Just excuses and ignoring of complaints. Several members of the management team were aware of the situation, both during and after the stay, and the ones after the stay tried to blame the situation on "it is over", "hope you come back again", instead of rectifying the situation. The management during the stay offered a late check-out, which ignoring requests.

Why would management allow a room with a hazard to be given to a customer?

Why is management not responsive to customer concerns?

The hotel is short staffed. Express check-in takes longer than normal check-in, in my opinion. This hotel will not go out of the way for you. We arrived at 12:30pm and were told to wait until 3pm. Other hotels will give the room early, for example, Sofitel and Four Seasons, both which are far better value and service.

Skip this hotel, there are far better hotels out there, and if you compare the price, I would never give any Hotel Okura a chance again.

Four Seasons and Sofitel have exceeded my standards on several occasions and offer better price packages and far more luxury.

Room Tip: Hotel is also undergoing renovation and you can hear the noise. Avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank boothindc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OkuraMacau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Okura Macau, responded to this review, 17 February 2016
Dear boothindc2010,

Warmest greetings from Hotel Okura Macau. We miss you so much and it has been quite a while we have not heard from you. Thank you for your continued support and patronage to our hotel and we hope that you had enjoyed your last visit to Macau. We are very happy to share with you that our property has doubled the size by increasing the number of dining options to over 120 restaurants including Michelin star restaurants. Besides, we do have new shopping precinct featuring over 200 shops including first-to-Macau brands, luxury flagship stores, designer boutiques and high-street lifestyle favorites. Last but not the least; we do feature the world’s longest skytop aquatic adventure river ride at 575 meters - skytop adventure rapids which is just 5 minute access from our guest room at the Grand Resort Deck, together with world’s largest skytop wave pool and white sand beach, plus exhilarating waterslides, beach lagoons, white water rapids, geysers, waterfalls and kids zone.

It is our utmost pleasure to welcoming you back to the Japan’s legendary Okura Hotels & Resorts that provides one-stop services to you and your beloved family as we could not wait anymore to see you in the nearest future.

Guest Relations Team
Hotel Okura Macau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

From the moment you arrive until you leave in the taxi, you experience the perfect place.
A better 5 star you can¨t get. Efficient and very friendly staff. Not so efficient that there was no time for a friendly little chat in the morning. Very well trained staff. The "sandy" beach around the pool, gave the right impression, that you are not staying in Macau, at all. The only minus with the stay: it was too short. Next time we spend more days there.

Room Tip: We had a Junior Suite package for 2 nights with automatic upgrade to Superior Suite ! Hard to descri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richme1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OkuraMacau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Okura Macau, responded to this review, 6 June 2015
Dear richme1234,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your precious feedback with us. We are pleased to know that you had enjoyable stay at our hotel. We hope that you will visit Hotel Okura Macau again for another beautiful stay.

Guest Relations Team
Hotel Okura Macau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.4 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Macau
1.1 km away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
1.3 km away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Grand Hyatt Macau
Grand Hyatt Macau
#6 of 95 in Macau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.0 km away
Banyan Tree Macau
Banyan Tree Macau
#4 of 95 in Macau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
0.4 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Macau? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Macau

Property: Hotel Okura Macau
Address: Avenida Marginal Flor de Lotus, Cotai, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Macau
#4 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#7 Family Hotel in Macau
#8 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,057 - ₹ 44,461
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Macau 5*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Okura Hotels & Resorts brings its signature blend of modern comfort and tradition to the Galaxy Macau™, providing a distinctly Japanese interpretation of “World Class, Asian Heart” hospitality for guests at this spectacular resort. Leisure and business travelers at Hotel Okura Macau can choose from opulent suites or luxurious guest rooms that offer the highest-quality relaxation through Okura’s harmonious combination of function and comfort. Hotel Okura Macau was founded on the principle that its hotels must consistently offer the best accommodation, cuisine and service … a complete experience that visitors to Macau may now experience for the first time, only at Galaxy Macau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd. so you can book your Hotel Okura Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Okura Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing