We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fancy Hotel - but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Galaxy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel
Ranked #11 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fancy Hotel - but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

The hotel is one of the swankiest in the city... its brand new that's why.

Staff - the staff at the reception was very polite. We reached much before check in time and they very politely told us that we cold not get the rooms before 3. At 3 however we got the room keys.

Now there were a few issues i had with the room:

I entered and found a soiled towel (was cleared instantly)
The water pressure in the bath tub was very low - took 30 mins to fill it up
Getting help was a little hard - especially room service / house keeping etc.
The Wash basin was getting clogged every now and then
Extremely difficult to find an English speaking staff (Unlike at other hotels)

It seemed like they were ironing out their services. If that was the case they should have done it earlier.

Having said that the room was clean and the hotel was great - the bus service was fine too.

I would rate this hotel highly (if the above flaws have been fixed)

Room Tip: Choose rooms closer to the elevators - the passages are very long
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VidyutLokur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,411
    592
    122
    33
    40
See reviews for
716
624
102
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

There is online early bird promotion for this new hotel and I could make a cheaper rate than the travel agent quoted. Though my room was located in the low floor (7/F), it is comfortably sized including a balcony where you could step out to grasp the beautiful view, especially the lightings of the gold leaf cupolas towered above the opposite Okura and Banyan Tree Hotels at night.

I like to the fresh aroma when you enter to the hotel, but that would not be so inside the lifts and also the casino. The casino has not promulgated smoke-free policy. There is also ongoing renovation in part of the hotel building and the noise even came from the other end on the 7/F during the day time. I did not try resort heated swimming pool but I would definitely go for it when the wavetop is reopen after maintenance.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony are all located on the low floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank augustbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

One could not help but marvelled the façade of this imposing building as the vehicle approached the front garden of this newest 5 star hotel in Macau. But the impressive journey started at the ferry terminal where every hotel/casino worthy of its salt has its own shuttle bus service and decorated bus stop. Staff in beautiful uniform were there to greet guests and make sure they got on the right shuttle, which of course is complimentary. The key word here is “casino”. When you can have guests spending untold amount of money on the gaming tables and machines at all times of the day, and night, who wouldn’t welcome them with open arms? Indeed the two wing buildings leading to the grand entrance of this hotel-casino compound were like huge open arms. Passing the grand entrance and going inside the compound proper was entering a fantasy world. Hitting you right in the face was a huge diamond shape object that rose slowly and dazzled above a fountain bathed in mood-lifting light and music. The foyer, the size of a football pitch, with an army of people streaming around was daunting to the poor souls who wanted just to find the check-in desk, if not for a team of tall and beautiful hotel ambassadors with eternal smiles there to guide you. These tall, immaculately dressed girls with taller side splits to their uniforms were also trained to take the must-have tourist snapshots for you.

Apparently, the check-in area was at the end of foyer and one had to trek over a bridge (the Milky Way?) to get to. Everything there seemed to challenge your sense of size and even the 4th dimension - the foyer was unusually bigger; the ceiling higher; the queue longer and so was the waiting time to check in. Then it was another trek over the Milky Way to get to the lifts. Inside the hotel room, things started to return to normal. The room was large, but not huge; the décor was modern, but not out of this world. It was not the last word in hotel opulence, but it was clean, well appointed and comfortable. Our room had an interesting aerial view over the village across the road. We could almost plan our route round the narrow historic streets while standing in our room.

No breakfast was included in the package, but this was a blessing in disguise. With the multitude of eateries within the compound, and at reasonable prices, we could sample what culinary delights Macau had to offer. The hotel was billed as a holiday resort for the family with luxurious accommodation, gaming, entertainment, catering and shopping facilities under one roof. It certainly felt like these claims were met based on the limited time we spent inside the building. We probably regret a bit for not spending more time and making the best use of all the facilities on offer, but the lure of the sceneries and the beautiful weather outside was too much to resist. Well, we could always return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OverTheMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dongguan, China
Level Contributor
303 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

I went to the Galaxy on a business trip with 5 staff in Dec 2011. it's another nice Casino hotel that offer exception value and specials. The rooms are spacious and clean. Expect a lot of local Chinese guests (gamblers). It's in a good location to the Venetian and City of Dreams. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevelizhangjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

When we stayed there the hotel had just opened and so, as expected there were teething problems

We were initially told there were no no smoking rooms available and had to fight hard to get one

Also, our room has some problems with underfloor leaking such that the carpet was sodden in places

Rooms were OK - kind of what you would expect for a fairly pricey casino hotel

The big draw was the the surreal huge swimming pool on the roof with fake beach and wave machine - really nice

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turista42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear Turista42,
Thank you for your feedback. I do apologize that the experience was not up to your expectations, we value our guests’ comments highly and will certainly take note of the points that you have mentioned as we constantly strive to improve our guests’ experience. I do hope you would return in Galaxy Macau so we can create a better experience.

Sincerely yours,
Nathan Yu
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
1.1 km away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.2 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Macau
0.8 km away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Okura Macau
Hotel Okura Macau
#8 of 95 in Macau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
1.1 km away
Studio City Macau
Studio City Macau
#25 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
4.9 km away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel

Property: Galaxy Hotel
Address: Avenida de Cotai, Cotai, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Macau
#5 Business Hotel in Macau
#9 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#10 Family Hotel in Macau
#11 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,091 - ₹ 36,750
Hotel Class:5 star — Galaxy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 1500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the three hotels in Galaxy Macau, the Galaxy Hotel’s 1,500 rooms and suites represent an evolution of resort accommodations. Luxurious and beautiful, these contemporary rooms offer five-star amenities throughout and stunning views that stretch to the city or water landscape. Guests staying at Galaxy Hotel also enjoy free access to the world's largest skytop wave pool and many other recreational facilities and over 50 dining outlets at Galaxy Macau. All rooms at Galaxy Hotel afford guests a level of deep comfort that conveys a kind of respect that only a host with true Asian Heart can present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Galaxy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxy Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing