We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The pool was not the same as the advertisement on the website!! Upset!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banyan Tree Macau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Banyan Tree Macau
Ranked #4 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The pool was not the same as the advertisement on the website!! Upset!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

The service was absolutely amazing and we enjoyed our stay very much. It was my visit visit but I was also EXTREMELY UPSET that I got a Cotai Suite room with a relaxation pool that was NOT 13 ft long as advertised on the website and shown in the pictures and also in various videos. My pool was only 6 ft long at the month. I didn't want to complain to the staff at reception because it was not their problem but I really feel the hotel should not advertise fake pictures! My room number was 2606 and I just checked out today! Because of this I am giving the hotel a 3 star rating.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NotHappy005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, Manager at Banyan Tree Macau, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear NotHappy005,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the service during your stay, these comments will be shared with the teams as added motivation to continue striving to provide Banyan Tree experiences here in Macau.

In reference to your comment on the relaxation pool, the Suite sizes are almost identical, the only difference is the layout of the relaxation pool, due to the shape of the Suite. One layout has the pool slightly larger, where the pool runs between the living area and the bedroom. In the suite where you resided during your stay, the relaxation pool is a little shorter in length as it sits within the living room area only. We do have guests who prefer this option, as they don’t wish to have the pool in the bedroom. However, we have taken note of your preference and will ensure that on any future visits you will be assigned a room with the longer relaxation pool.

Our apologies for the disappointment caused to you, we do hope this does not mar your impression of Banyan Tree Macau, and that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely


Joseph Beck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    817
    224
    54
    25
    17
See reviews for
362
445
30
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

If you want to splash out for pure luxury or impress someone for a special occasion, The Banyan Tree Macau is perfect.
Taipa village/old town is just a few minutes' walk away, through the Galaxy casino and across the road.

We stayed in a Grand Cotai Suite and the room was one of the best I've stayed in (that wasn't a resort). We checked in at 3pm, checked out at 12pm and only left the room for a few hours for dinner.
They've thought of everything, big and little - sensor lights in the wardrobe, twin shower, day beds next to the pool, breakfast in bed tray. Extensive toiletries packs were provided for men and women (the only thing it didn't have was deodorant), and a proper hairdryer (usually unheard of in hotels).

The pool was a very cool feature but a little strange in reality. We couldn't get the temperature above 24 degrees, so it was not very comfortable to sit in a lukewarm pool in an airconditioned room, and in the end we didn't really use it. Even in the morning, I thought I'd have a refreshing dip, but it was too warm for that. It really has to be cold or hot, not in between.

We ordered room service twice and I was surprised at how reasonable the prices were for such an expensive hotel. Club sandwiches were $98 and breakfast was $88 for bacon & eggs.

The only complaint we have is that turndown service knocked just as we were getting changed to leave for dinner. We asked them to come back in half an hour and the same person was at the door again in a few minutes.
Other than that the room temperature was extremely hard to get right. As with most hotels, the aircon vent was right next to the bed and it was loud all night, making me toss and turn.

Because the room was so expensive, I doubt we will stay again, but we had a wonderful, relaxing weekend and would definitely recommend it if you want to treat yourself or a loved one to something special.

WARNING: the whole room is open - including glass around the toilet and shower, so a bit awkward if you're not comfortable with your roommate.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TaiTaiTraveller82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

I have stayed in quite a few hotels in Macau and this is the best so far. We stayed in the suite which is about 1000 sq ft. Indeed, it is the smallest room in the hotel. It has a in-room relaxation pool. Vey nice treat after a busy day. Two small beds by the poolsides for in room spa. A large couch in the liviing room which is big enough for a person to sleep. The decor is beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skywalkerinbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

The Banyan was a great choice on our visit to Macau. It is one of several nice hotels that make up the Galaxy complex. The service was exemplary and the rooms gorgeous. It was a great touch having the wading pool in the suite and the spa was amazing.

I am glad we didn't stay at the Venetian, as that place was a mob scene. When we go back, it will be between the Banyan Tree and the Four Seasons as both are a little oasis in the chaos that is the Macau gaming scene.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We have stayed in Banyan tree for 1 night in Feb 25, 2012, Banyan Tree Macau Pool Villa looks really nice, the room is really big and have great beds.The out-door swimming pool is really clean and the tempature is warm enough at this winter season. The Staff at front desk are excellent, helpful and friendly. The room service is really really good and quick respond, afternoon tea and breakfast are all taste good. Overall the hotel is excellent, the service is excellent!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank An_TSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
1.1 km away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
0.4 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Macau
0.4 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Okura Macau
Hotel Okura Macau
#7 of 94 in Macau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
4.0 km away
Mandarin Oriental Macau
1.0 km away
Four Seasons Hotel Macau, Cotai Strip
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Macau? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Macau

Property: Banyan Tree Macau
Address: Galaxy Macau, Avenida Marginal Flor de Lotus, Cotai, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Macau
#3 Casino Hotel in Macau
#3 Spa Hotel in Macau
#4 Luxury Hotel in Macau
#6 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#8 Business Hotel in Macau
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,123 - ₹ 63,885
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Macau 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in breathtaking views of Macau's skyline in your own private sanctuary where peace and tranquillity awaits you. The first high-rise urban resort in Macau features private indoor Relaxation Pools in all suites and resort villas complete with their own gardens and personal swimming pools, Banyan Tree will change the way you imagined high-rise living. In this instance, seeing is truly believing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Banyan Tree Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Macau Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing