We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quite, but excellent food”

Vida Rica at Mandarin Oriental, Macau
Reserve with OpenTable
Vida Rica at Mandarin Oriental, Macau is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 770 Restaurants in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 120
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Vida Rica features a spectacular glass wall giving expansive views over the South China Sea and Nam Van Lake. The interior is chic and exotic; this imposing open space is cleverly designed to offer intimate seating arrangements. Our talented chef seeks out the rarest ingredients to create delicate yet exciting touches to classic dishes, infusing them with originality and character. The result is the inimitable interpretation of Chinese and French cuisine with a modern twist.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very quite, but excellent food”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Lovely food, great staff and excellent wine choice. Highly recommend for a special occasion.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank kkv1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    75
    21
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Macau, China
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Surprise! It looks value for money.”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I just tried this restaurant recently although it was opened quite a while. I guessed it should be an expansive restaurant in this high class luxury hotel before I came. Actually, it was expansive one but not the one unaffordable. I chose a lobster soup, black truffles tortelloni and an Angus tenderloin with foie gras. My wife chose a Chinese crab meat soup and a baked Halibut fillet. The Chinese soup was very good. The lobster soup was not the best and not my favourite one. The taste was not strong enough but it had quite plenty of lobster meat in the soup. tortelloni was an average one and it was quite heavy when finished it. Foie gras was put on top of the tenderloin. The size was very reasonable and it was really worth for the price. Foie gras was very good and juicy inside. One mistake was the tenderloin a bit over done. It was nearly 90% and my order was 70%. The sauce for baked Halibut fillet was always too heavy. The fillet itself was good. The overall taste was above average. Wine price was not cheap but not high as other high class restaurant. They provides some good wine by glass. MOP120 for a 2009 Napa valley wine by glass. Night view from the restaurant was marvelous. You can see the night view of the bridges and Taipa island. I will come again to try other dishes because of their value.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wichan70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funchal, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good dim sum & business lunch”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Last year I was living in Macau and I went to this restaurant very often. I enjoyed the tasteful and sophisticated dim sum, which was prepared with a contemporary twist (I do not really like the very traditional dim sum, which is for instance more served at the Grand Lapa restaurant).
Also the business lunch was great value for money. Same goes for a la carte, with a good variety of choice.
The setting is nice, mostly quiet and peaceful.
Staff is very friendly and kind.
The executive chef, Dirk Haltenhoff, who has now just left to Dubai to lead another restaurant, was very professional and knowledgeable. He was always walking around the restaurant to receive feedback. It was always nice talking to him. But the new chef they attracted will be very good too!
On Sundays they offer a tasteful brunch buffet at the adjacent bar, which is very nice too.
Try also the Robuchon restaurant in Grand Lisboa and Aurora and Ying at Altira!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RoelDeMeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Superb lunch”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We decided to have our anniversary meal (lunch) at the Vida Rica. Restaurant is modern and tastefully decorated, and the menu has something for everyone. Our meals were delicious, we managed to try a few of their Cantonese dishes and an interpretation of a Macanese dish, all excellent. Staff were also very warm and friendly. A great experience.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxwell75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Breakfast not that exciting”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We had breakfast here as part of our stay with the MO and although the buffet had a lot of variety to choose from, dim sum, eggs, cereals, youghurts, fruits, pastries, toast, etc most of the warm food like waffles, croissants, boiled eggs were cold as they must cook them in advance and leave them sitting under the heat lamps, which do very little to keep food warm.
If breakfast wasn't included, I wouldn't bother dining here again.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Missybee16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vida Rica at Mandarin Oriental, Macau also viewed

 

Been to Vida Rica at Mandarin Oriental, Macau? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing