We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend!!”
Review of Marianna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marianna Hotel
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Tigaki
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Would recommend!!”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Having now started planning for this years holiday I realised I hadnt written a review for this from when I visited last summer!

Overall a great apartment complex, the rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped - as long as you are used to travelling in Greece and so know what their self catering standard is then you wont be disappointed. There was a 2 ring hob which worked well, couple of saucepans, plenty of plates and cutlery and a good size fridge with small freezer, as well as plenty of space to store your food.

The bathroom was fine, the usual Greek style of the shower not being attached to the wall, but clean and tidy.

The rooms were cleaned regularly, cant remember how often but we never had any problems, only thing to note is that for some reason they dont provide toilet roll beyond the first one, so make sure to get some in when you do your shop!

We were on the first floor which was the best I would say, the others on pool level I am guessing would have been a little noisier in the mornings, and not have the view that we had from our balcony.

The pool is pretty standard really, nothing to write home about but perfectly fine for what you need.

There is a little library on the reception level (just go straight on past reception as if you are going to one of the bedrooms on this floor and its on your right), which I only discovered on the last day! Its actually very well stocked, so I wouldnt take too many books with you as you will certainly be able to find something you like there. You dont have to pay for the books - just what people have left behind.

There is a lovely little bar out the front of the hotel, which I think was way nicer than any of the other hotel bars I saw, they have obviously spent a little money and done this up recently.

My only criticism would be the check in procedure..... luckily (thank god) we werent affected by this but bumped into two couples who had arrived late at night to find that no key had been left for them at reception and there was no-one there for them to ask. I have no idea how you would get around this, perhaps try contacting the apartments or your travel agent just before you go and get them to double check that your booking has been communicated?? Anyway, once the owner realised she was super nice and apologetic, but still - not a great way to start your holiday.

Tingaki itself is a nice resort, a bit touristy now but this does also mean plenty of good and reasonably priced restaurants and bars, and there are some gorgeous little villages close by (Zia is a must) if you want to go somewhere a little quieter. Its very well situated for exploring the island, we cycled to Kos a couple of times, think its about 12km, so not for the faint hearted - take plenty of water!! You can cycle along the coast though for most of it, so pretty enjoyable.

Only other thing to note, which I found useful, is that there are a couple of launderettes along the main street of Tingaki, which is you are staying for 2 weeks are a life saver for doing a towel and essentials wash!

Definitely recommend these apartments, you will have a great time in an above average standard complex, which is just away enough from the main street to make you feel like you arent in the centre of everything, but only a 10 minute easy walk to the main area.

Room Tip: If you can, the rooms on the top floor are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank funkyvicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    86
    25
    11
    2
See reviews for
76
188
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

My wife and i have a break every year in Tingaki,and have stayed at the 'marianna' once before.That time we found it a little tired.
This time however we was pleasantly surprised with the changes that have been made by the management.
Maria & Vassili are wonderful hosts and cannot do enough to make your stay enjoyable,and that with a newborn as well.
They have transformed the bar area superbly, making it the best bar to have a drink in the evening,'in my opinion'!
As for the apartments, we noticed they had also been upgraded,we stayed on the top floor so do not know about other floors.
We would 100% recommend the marianna apts especially if maria &vasillis continue to improve the complex.
As for us we are booked for June 2012 already, say's it all really. Julia & Mel

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank melvin_duncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Marianna studios, were very clean, and the staff are very helpful.I would go back to these studios again.The swimming pool was very clean, and were checked every day.
They were right near the big duty free supermarket, which is very handy.
The Marianna is good for couples and family.
I have been to Tingaki before some years ago, and stayed at a different hotel, which was also great, but i would deffinatley go back to the Marianna.
We enjoyed every minute of our stay here.

Room Tip: All rooms were good and quiet.The rooms at the back end of it had the most sun all day.They are situ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank eveazure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tooting
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My girlfriend & I spent 1 week at Marianna's in mid-October and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is in a good location near the top of the main street to the beach but less than a 10 minute walk down - despite what others have said on here. If you were taking local buses as we were it is fairly close to the top of the road for the bus to Kefalos Bay. A big supermarket is only a few metres up the road and next door is the excellent Sagittarius restaurant where we went several times. The food is excellent there and the owners very friendly.

We had a top floor room in the hotel with balcony views over an olive grove and away to the nearby salt lake with the sea on the horizon. A lovely place to sit in the morning or evening.
For the first 2 days of our stay there was one other room occupied in the hotel but for the rest of the week we were the only guests! The pool bar remained open throughout although we didn't use it as the supermarket was far cheaper. The staff at the hotel were friendly and courteous throughout our stay. For example on arrival we found our door lock to be faulty. This was promptly repaired so there was no need to move all of our things to another room. The room was kept very clean with towels and bedding changed regularly. We were in the room one day when the cleaner came so we saw her doing a very thorough job.

As others have said Tigaki is rather quiet at this time of year and some of the bars & restaurants had already shut up for the winter but there were enough open to give us a variety of places to eat & drink during the week and a few were lively later on.

Overall I'd definitely recommend Marianna's & Tigaki although next time we'll probably come a few weeks earlier for guaranteed good weather.

Room Tip: Top floor gives you the best views and more fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank djburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

My partner and I stayed at Marianna Studios (as part of a package deal with Olympic Holidays) at the beginning of October. This was a month or more off peak season so please bear that in mind when reading this review!
We really enjoyed our stay at Marianna - made special by the excellent staff who were unfailingly friendly and helpful. Our room were on the top floor and were quiet (bearing in mind the hotel at this time can't have been more than 1/4 full and there wasn't much traffic outside) and very clean. Given the price we paid we were pleasantly surprised with the room which was more than adequate for our needs - we would definitely have preferred a double bed to two single beds (pushed together but in separate wooden frames) though!
The hotel is in a great location, 10 mins walk to the beautiful Tigaki beach and far enough away from the main restaurants etc to be quiet. The beach is a sandy one and the perfect depth for swimming. Even in October it was very warm (we were lucky with the weather though).
The hotel has a pool with sunbeds around it - these would quickly fill up in peak time I think as there weren't too many.
Overall, a great stay and we would definitely stay here again - off-peak again though!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ginger_ninja_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tigaki
0.7 km away
Tigaki's Star Hotel
Tigaki's Star Hotel
#8 of 23 in Tigaki
169 reviews
0.8 km away
Akti Dimis Hotel
Akti Dimis Hotel
#5 of 23 in Tigaki
227 reviews
2.1 km away
Fili Apartments
Fili Apartments
#10 of 23 in Tigaki
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
8.8 km away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
0.8 km away
More Meni Beach
More Meni Beach
#11 of 23 in Tigaki
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marianna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marianna Hotel

Property: Marianna Hotel
Address: Tingaki, Tigaki 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tigaki
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tigaki
#9 Family Hotel in Tigaki
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,093 - ₹ 3,825
Hotel Class:2 star — Marianna Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marianna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marianna Studios Tigaki
Marianna Studios Hotel Tigaki
Marianna Hotel Tigaki, Kos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing