We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a fab time.........” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fili Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fili Apartments
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Tigaki
Certificate of Excellence
Kilmarnock
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Had a fab time.........”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We have just spent a week at the Fili Apts, Tingaki....Before we went we knew that the Fili was on the outskirts of Tinkaki and it was a good half hour walk into the town centre...
The apartments were very basic but fairly clean...could do with a good lick of paint and some updating....felt as though i had been transported back to the late 70's with the decor etc...We were self catering although B&B, half board and full board are options...the kitchen area was a little dissapointing...kettle, one huge pot and one tiny pot, and very limited utensils were on offer...no toaster supplied which i think a lot of people would have liked....bedroom was ok but needs updating....beds were comfy enough and did the trick for a good nights sleep.....
The bathroom was very small but adequate, people keep moaning about having to buy there own toilet roll but isnt that what you do when on a SELF CATERING HOLIDAY????.....
We had lovely views of the sea in front of us and views of the 3 pools behind us....pool area was very nice and in september, very relaxing and quiet...didnt see the pool being cleaned while we were there and there was quite a lot of sand in the pool...
Sophia who works in the bar and restaurant was very helpful and always had a smile for everyone despite the long hours that she works.....Food was very good and prices were average for Greece...we found drinks to be rather expensive...i dring whisky and irn bru and was charged 6euro per drink....soft drinks are 2euro each which is a bit pricey...my irn bru had 45p printed on it yet was 2euro.....
BBQ night at the Fili was 12 euro per person....we had a nice meal(no drinks) and a Greek dancer for entertainment who liked to get everyone involved....(good night had by all)
There is a bus at the bottom of the road that runs into Kos and costs 2 euro.....The walk into Tingaki takes approx 30 mins and is lovely in the evening.....Plenty of restaurants to choose from and each one we went into was very good....
Be very wary of the tour operators trips...they are very expensive....walk into Tingaki and there are a number of companies doing the same trips at half the price and they will come and pick you up from the Fili....
We hired a car for a couple of days and travelled around the island....loads of places of interest to visit and many lovely beaches to go to....
All in all we had a great time here and met some very nice people.....i would recommend this to others but do remember you get what you pay for....its what i call a cheap and cheerful holiday....if you want 5 star i am afraid you will need to pay for it....
Remember to take a torch with you as it is very dark in the evenings when walking along the roads and dirt tracks........

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fionawilkes22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    91
    29
    12
    5
See reviews for
104
85
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

The rooms were very very very basic. Nowhere to even put the shower up. Bath mat stunk. Rooms were unclean. Food was awful but was thankful to find a fabulous taverna around the back of the hotel. Never again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Just returned from two weeks at Fili. We were aware that the Hotel is a walk from the resort centre, however both our 8 & 6 year old daughters managed the walk on numerous occasions, walking either in the morning or evening avoiding the heat of the day. We used the 'free' night bus to get home, but make sure you chack the timetable.

As for the appartments, clean, tidy, bedding and towel changes. Very effective air conditioning (€5) at all times. View from room across the fields to the sea from balcony. Room very secure good locks and fittings. Safes can be hired these were double locked safty deposit boxes in reception. You needed your key plus the staff key to get in. Any request to access the safes was always met with a sift response and a smile.

Facilities included two large pools and a infants pool. On with a slide which our children loved. Inflatables and ball etc allowed in pool that was open from 9.00am to 10.00pm. Pool side sunbeds and garden very well maintained. Kids loved pool table and table football. They also loved the owners two well disciplined dogs and their puppies. We only saw one cat, and only once!

We booked half board that turned out to be fantastic value for money.This ment that we could pick anything from the menu, and that food was cooked to order rather than the normal buffet offered by many hotels. It also included free admission to the excellent family barbeques that were held on Tuesday evenings. These were great family events that did not involve lots of alcohol, but just lots of people having fun. (the fire dancing was very special). Kids loved breakfast - lots of choice. A large choice of evening meals on offer - Large portions, but also high quality. Evening meals included a free dessert. For those who have children who are slightly picky you could have english favourites, however our daughters love kebabs, greek meatballs and the Gyros Special and steak. Or meals also included a good greek salad.

The thing that really made our holiday was the friendly atmopshere in the whole complex, inparticular the staff. The owners were very accomadating, hard working and friendly. Three generations working together. The cleaners worked really hard and were even seen gardening around the pool area.

The family favourite was Sophia who waitressed/served behind the bar all the hours God sent. She was always extremely cheerful and despite being extremely busy always gave a personal service including teaching our daughters some basic greek. Leaving Sophia at the end of our stay led to more than a few tears on the coach to the airport.

Overall an excellent holiday, could not have asked for more.

Room Tip: Go half board - it is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnNorth5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barlborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

We've just got back from a 2 week stay at the fili, and had a fantastic time. We hired a car for the full 2 weeks which i think is needed after clocking 2.8km from hotel to resort centre of Tigaki. We attempted to walk it once but with the heat and a 6 year old we gave up and went into a taverna, which are dotted down the road at regular intervals.

Tigaki, the resort centre is ok, there's enough bars and restaurants so you can eat and drink in a different one every night, but after going there a couple of times we felt it a little boring especially for a 6 year old.

Kos town, was fantastic, it took around 15 minutes to drive to the centre, it's a little more busy that we expected, but that may be due to the ferry port. There are some lovely little squares with cafe, bars and restaurants around them, and lots of little side streets branching off with all the gift shops. I'd recommend having a ride on the sight seeing train, it lasts around 20/30 minutes, but it allows you to have a good look around the town and find where things are and get your bearings. There are lots of boat trips around the marina and work out about half price to the ones what your rep will try and sell you. We went on a 3 island tour aboard Christina, and really enjoyed it, they only allow around 30 people on the trip per day so its not over crowded. It cost us 20euros per adult and 10euros for our son, this included lunch onboard and we actually got to see some dolphins which was great.

Fili apartments, these apartments were really good and gave you everything you needed to have an enjoyable stay, Paul, Eleni and the girls work really hard to make your stay enjoyable. The rooms were what you'd expect in Greece basic but did the job, we stayed in room A16 and had a lovely sea view. We spent around 8 days around the pool, but we found it can get a little expensive if you intend to have breakfast and lunch aswell as drinks throughout the day, but we couldn't fault the food and service. The only thing that let the apartments down was the cleanliness of the pool, we never saw the pool cleaned in our 2 week stay, the same sand, leaves and bugs in the pools on our first day were still there on our last day, and any swimwear with any white on turned yellow, which was a shame really. There is a restaurant just around the corner from the hotel the Ampeli, which is set in a vineyard, which serve some fantastic homemade wine and food (worth a visit)

Zia, this was the highlight of the holiday, this little village set up in the hills is amazing. Its the place to go to see the most beautiful sun sets, its a really traditional village with little restaurants and gift shops. Theres a great little cafe up near the church which sell homemade lemonade and cinnamon drinks and have some breathtaking views, well worth a visit, but you need to get there for around 1730 due to it getting a little busy.

Overall an enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Ok, well first I think it's important to point out that I don't ever have ridiculously high expectations when travelling abroad and I feel that I am fairly realistic. I am 31. My husband is a similar age and we have a six year old child.

We chose to go to Kos because we holiday'd there six years ago and loved Tingaki. Unfortunately Kos itself has changed a lot since our last visit and I do not think of it is as good a holiday destination any more. It was dirty, with weeks worth of litter piled up on the beaches. Every where you looked there was rubbish, filled and discarded babies nappies, old glasses and drinks cartons, even furniture and dead sea birds. This was very disappointing for us.
It is also incredibly expensive... a glass of apple juice cost us €5.... a can of Coke €2 .....a loaf of bread €4 ..... a happy meal €4.80. A basic meal for three with no desserts or appetisers cost over €30. So take lots of spending money if you are self catering.

Now none of that has anything to do with the apartments, so on to that.
The Fili apartments is a very long walk from the stretch of Tavernas and shops that make Tingaki town. The walk in on a road, which is not overly busy, but dangerous when walking with children. My son is six, but far too big for a push chair and the walk made him very miserable as it was a good few miles. There is a bus stop a few minutes from the hotel, but the bus cost €10 for a return trip for the three of us, so if you did this everyday for two weeks it would be very expensive. Other than this you are more or less confined to the hotel as the nearby beach is filthy. It's much better further towards the town.

The apartment grounds are lovely. The pools are clean (there are two adult pools and a childs pool), but they turn your swimwear greeny yellow!?

There are lots of flowers and plenty of sun loungers, but it does cost to hire a mattress for your sun lounger (€1.50 per day). There is a nice bar area and it serves food all day. The food is not great, but not terrible either. It was basic and not fussy e.g. the sausage and chip sandwich was exactly that. I could not have eaten there on an 'All Inclusive' basis.

There is a very pretty Taverna behind the hotel, situated in a vineyard, but the food there was basic too. We ate here once and purely because it was so pretty.

In the reception area there is a snooker table €1.50 per game, football table €0.50 per game, books, TV, and access to the Internet which cost €3 per hour.
Cocktails were nice and about the same price you'd pay here.
The pool area and grounds of the hotel were very clean and well maintained, but like most places in Greece the dogs are allowed to roam freely and unfortunately I have a slight fear of dogs.

The apartment itself was a disappointment at first glance. There was room enough for clothes and the bathroom was not too bad. The shower was hand held, so you couldn't stand under it. Warm water seemed plentiful though. The kitchen area is a bit of a joke. If you can cook on two tiny electric hobs then you'll be OK. Otherwise you'll have a bit of a problem self catering. The kitchen area is tiny and tired. There were trailing wires and the fridge looked like it had seen better days. There are basic utensils and plates provided.

The beds were a bit on the hard side...as were the pillows and I did look forward to returning home to my memory foam. But, that really wasn't a huge deal. The pictures on the wall bugged the life out of me...they were so dated...very 80's and the walls were dirty where people had obviously used them to dust off their feet. Beds were changed once during our stay and tidied every other day. Bins were emptied daily which was good.

Air conditioning cost €5 a night and was basically a glorified blower. During the day is was little relief from the heat, but at night it did make things a lot more comfortable...so I feel it was worth it really.

The balcony we had had a sea view and a pool view, but also had a view of the roof top water tanks, solar panels, car park, washing lines and yard below where the dog spent a lot of time doing her business. But the view wasn't why we were there anyway.

The hotel put on entertainment in the form of a BBQ and Greek dancing every Thursday, but we did not attend this as I don't really like the whole drunken evening thing and I tend to avoid the whole dancing with people I don't know....I just go on hols to sunbath and relax.

We did do the fishing trip...which was very much for kids...just a line you wrapped around a bit of foam and dipped in the sea twenty yards off the beach for half an hour. Then a further 3 hours stuck on the worlds most pebbly beach waiting for your tiny fish to be bbq'd. Serious fishermen steer clear of this trip. Good fun for children though.

The thermal springs is just a smelly beach with the occasional bubble. You get left there for hours and it's not great.

Paradise beach is just another beach with sunloungers and parasols? Paradise suggests the Maldives....you'll be disappointed if thats what you were expecting.

Three Island cruise is nice for just being on the boat. Drinks are expensive.

Most trips are about the €32 price for adults and €15 for kids. My opinion is that they aren't really worth it, and this was also the opinion of many of the people who were on the trips with us but I did hear a few people say how much they enjoyed the water park.

The weather was glorious, we saw three tiny, wispy clouds in two weeks :) and we have lovely tans!
The pool was lovely to sit by and read (until all the little boys parents started buying them water pistols) and we did have a fairly relaxing holiday.

The owners of the apartments were very nice and hospitable. We did like them very much, but they smoked behind the bar and as we are not smokers we didn't like this especially as they were near the food kitchen and serving us drinks etc. Plus of course the smell of smoke is not appealing to us all.

To sum up then. If you want luxury, relaxation, comforts this may not be the hotel or country for that matter, for you. If you like noise, quads and mopeds roaring about everywhere, families drinking cocktails and Mythos together (then leaving their cans and glasses on the beach) and of course walking for miles in the heat....then you'll love this holiday.

If I had come away having spent no more than £2000 I'd be very happy with the holiday, but personally for the £3500 it cost us for this holiday and spending money, I'll be booking an all inclusive fortnight in the Maldives instead :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DisneyMad_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tigaki hotels
2.0 km away
Marianna Hotel
Marianna Hotel
#6 of 23 in Tigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.6 km away
Akti Dimis Hotel
Akti Dimis Hotel
#5 of 23 in Tigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
2.6 km away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Golden Sun Apartments
Golden Sun Apartments
#16 of 23 in Tigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
2.4 km away
Tigaki's Star Hotel
Tigaki's Star Hotel
#8 of 23 in Tigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.6 km away
Zorbas Beach Hotel
Zorbas Beach Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tigaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fili Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fili Apartments

Property: Fili Apartments
Address: Tigaki 85300, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tigaki
#6 Family Hotel in Tigaki
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tigaki
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,637 - ₹ 3,601
Hotel Class:2 star — Fili Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
relaxing place, big gardens, view to Aegean, friendly staff, family business ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Fili Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fili Apartments Tigaki, Kos
Fili Apartments Hotel Tigaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing