We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manta Dive Gili Air Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sunrise Resort(Gili Air)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
7SEAS Cottages(Gili Air)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Turtle Garden(Gili Air)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Segar Villages(Gili Air)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Mandana(Gili Air)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
Reviews (959)
Filter reviews
959 results
Traveller rating
664
228
47
16
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
664
228
47
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopen waterwaterfront restaurantgarden roomgreat divingrefresher coursemarine lifetraditional bungalowwater frontoctopuslaid backspecial thanksdiving schooldeluxe bungalowoutdoor showerour honeymoonspent a weekmuesli
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 959 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile

I had a lovely holiday over Christmas and stayed at Manta Dive, Gili Air. I always find the staff very cheerful and it was always fun to see what animal had been created with the towels by the boys and left on my bed! Ranging from swans to rabbits wearing my glasses, they never failed to make me smile. Everyone is always very helpful and cannot do enough to make sure you have a fantastic holiday.
Looking forward to seeing you all again soon and enjoying the hospitality and amazing diving with Manta Dive Gili Air which is managed brilliantly by Robert and Anna and is a very professional and fun dive shop.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Panspayon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob99962, Manager at Manta Dive Gili Air Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Hi Elly,

Thank you for choosing Manta Dive as your holiday destination. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the visit. We really appreciate it when our customers take the time to review us and note the subtle efforts made to ensure their satisfaction. Our rooms are all designed with guest comfort in mind, and our great housekeeping staff put the personal touches that make the stay memorable.

The entire Manta Dive team sends their regards and we hope to see you back again soon.
Manta Dive Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

this resort is a diving mecca on gilles t caters for all your requirments we did not dive but just enjoyed the peace and quiet what a great place to spend our first week of a 3 week holiday perfect place to unwind and relax

Stayed: January 2018
1  Thank Christopher N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob99962, Manager at Manta Dive Gili Air Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Hi Christopher,
Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is always great when customers take a moment to appreciate all the hard work that has gone into creating the relaxed and fun, yet professional dive resort.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed the positive vibes above and below the sea. We are very lucky in the Gilis to have such diversity common, even just in front of our beach front hotel.

We hope to see you back again soon to enjoy our idyllic resort again.
Manta Dive Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

Manta Dive Resort's rooms are incredibly convenient if you are doing one of their dive courses, or if you plan on making multiple fun dives with them. During the first three days of our stay here, we took the Open Water Dive Course, and it was nice to be able to just wake up and walk out to the meeting areas, dive pool, or boats. The diving meeting area also had fresh drinking water that you could fill up on even if you are just a guest at the hotel, which was convenient.

The property itself had a restaurant adjacent to it, with a bar, and the serve breakfast to Manta guests (they even deliver it to your room if you wish, and you can order it the night before). Staff here could be a bit sour-faced and unfriendly, but I didn't view this as a fault of the hotel.

The property also had a nice pool (which was pleasantly deep, albeit a bit small), which nice poolside seating and shaded bits for those seeking refuge from the boiling sun.

There are some nice beaches nearby, and plenty of restaurants. The surf is only a few meters from the property, but there is no beach. The accomodation is nestled in a quieter part of town (as opposed to the central district near the port, which seems to be buzzing with backpackers), and is tranquil at night. During the day, the meeting area for divers (which is the only exit and is near reception) gives the common area a hostel feel, as its always buzzing with people.

The room itself was spacious with an outdoor shower that was beautifully done, with decorative stones and what appear to be granite countertops. It takes a while to build confidence being in the buff and out in the breeze when you hear people buzzing in the common area, but we got over it a couple of days into our stay.

In the room, there were plenty of basic amenities like fresh towels, a clothes organizer cubicle, a clothes drying rack, a safety box, and    aircon. While we were staying there, the aircon pooped out a bit and there were a couple of electrical blackouts, but overall, the amenities were functionable.

One complaint we did have concerning the room was mosquitos. My wife was bitten myriad times, and even after they did a mosquito smokeout outside of the chalets, they were still everywhere.

Overall, though, kind staff, little crowded common area, convenient for shopping amd food, and decent breakfast (but the Manta Dive bread was not our thing - my wife compared the taste to a sponge). The laundry price is also the same as the cheapest shops nearby (at the time we visited, 25k per kilo).

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank rlecroy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob99962, Manager at Manta Dive Gili Air Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Hi Rebecca,

Thank you for taking the time to complete an overall very positive review. We appreciate the feedback and it allows us to continually improve our services. Our three pools give you plenty of space to cool off and chill out, divers and non-divers alike. It is our pleasure to hear you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

It is also great to hear that you enjoyed the rooms and amenities we offer. Despite our best efforts to reduce their quantities, mosquitos are a constant issue in the tropics during rainy season. Especially during the sunset periods, when they tend to be everywhere outdoors it is best to use bug spray.

We are glad that you liked the room and enjoyed your stay with us and on Gili Air. We hope to see you back again soon to continue to hone your diving skills. Thank you again for taking the time to review your experience with us.
Manta Dive Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

I went into several dive centers when we arrived in Gili and got by far the warmest and most inviting feel from Manta. There are dozens of divers staying with the outfitters and you get a real sense of community. The entire experience was great, equipment was well maintained, boats were good.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob99962, Manager at Manta Dive Gili Air Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Hi Adam,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Your instructors appreciate the positive feedback as well. It is always great when customers take a moment to appreciate all the hard work that has gone into creating the relaxed and fun, yet professional dive center.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed the positive vibes above and below the sea. We hope to see you back again soon to continue to hone your diving skills.
Manta Dive Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

When we arrived on the island we walked around to find a place to stay for a day or two. After visiting several places we immediately felt at home at Manta. A warm welcome, nice vibe, friendly and professional people. The idea to only go for an introduction dive, very soon became an open water certificate for the both of us. And eventually we stayed more than a week, so we could also go for our advanced:)

Han thanks a million for your patience and teaching me how to equalise my ears. And a big thanks to both Han and Chris you are great fun to dive with!

Rooms are beautiful, clean and spacious. Warm shower, a/c, small fridge. Very friendly staff and each day a 'towel surprise' ;)

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob99962, Manager at Manta Dive Gili Air Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Hi Rianne,

Thank you for taking a moment to review us in TA. We are always happy to hear that our customers were completely satisfied with their dive courses and our diving procedures, as safety is always a number one priority to us. Hanoman loves sharing his passion for diving with others and enjoyed the journey of teaching you to dive. We greatly appreciate your positive recommendation and hope to see you for a few more dives in the near future.
Manta Dive Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews