We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (765)
Filter reviews
765 results
Traveller rating
706
46
12
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
706
46
12
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nothing is too much trouble snack shack moment you arrive home grown quiet resort this family run hotel this wonderful hotel hotel is spotless wonderful family corfu town year after year free air conditioning half board son spiros total relaxation quiet road little extras
Filter
Updating list...
596 - 601 of 765 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Remote location but just what we wanted. Peace & Quiet with fabulous views. Everything you need is here - and there are plenty of tavernas along the sea front if you want a change from the hotel. Prices are reasonable. The Fishermans restaurant is worth a visit - the very last restaurant on the left of the bay - very romantic setting, sunset is spectacular !
Spent couple of days on the beach which was quiet & uncrowded - even dozed in the afternoons. Sea is beautifully clear - as expected. Popped to the beach taverna & supermarket to purchase cool beer & gyros - had lunch right there on the beach under the brollie :)..... Also had a day at the hotel pool - but my own preference is a beach, which is a couple of steps from the hotel. Never did we have to fight for loungers on either the beach or pool - plenty to go round.
Bus stop right outside hotel so we could get out and about if necessary - take this opportunity to top up cash as there isn't an ATM machine here or locally. Only went on one excusion - Albania, was very interesting in the morning but quite boring in the afternoon - go, but take a book - there isn't much to do after you have been to the Byzantia site.
All round fabulous place and the family running this hotel are so warm & welcoming that you feel as if you already know them - they certainly go out of their way to make your stay FAB.... 10/10 for everything :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarenMJ61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Without being shot for giving some feedback which is not all glowing can I firstly say that yes the team as CGB are brilliant. Karen the rep is an absolute star as are all of the family and team. But 2 weeks here is indeed for the more relaxed traveller, the bay is beautiful and the pool and beach are great but there is a need for some of the more active amongst us to prise ourselves from the sun bed, if you are that type I am only trying to help. The walking is fine but limited really, the walk to Krinos and Markrades is superb and a meal in the sunset taverna in Krinos is fab. There should be a lot more watersports in the bay available, I say that because the catamaran, sailing and windsurfing is totally for a German hotelgroup which is a real shame. You can rent a boat but you would be better served to do this in Paleos which has better coves. The tavernas are limited but the the Delphini fish restaurant had the best fish, calamari and sardines (their pepper feta is a must starter) and the mixed fish for two is great at 32 euros. Their red wine is slightly chilled there which is lovely surprisingly as opposed to the "room" temperature which is more like tea elsewhere. Getting a car however is cheap enough and opens up the great drive over to Paleo, down to Efionas or up to the Canal D'armour. It is the same price for three days rental to one evening trip to corfu so you can save a bit there if you wish. Would I go again..yep..would I recommend it..yep but with a caveat, if you want to bronze and read 6 books you won't find better. If you are a twitchy type do a weeks cruise or get a car and I hope Dimitri makes some agreement with the sailing or windsurfers as if he did I would have no hesitation at all...

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool to avoid the noise but it is not a huge issue as entertainment is finshed by 12
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Spent a week at costas golden beach at the end of augast and wasnot dissapointed.The family and the hard working staff attend to your every need and treat you like family in their own private house.The resort agios georgios is set in the most stunning surroundings a breathtaking horseshoe bay with lovelly clear blue water.If you are looking for chip shops and british pubs then this isnot the place for you.There are around six restuarants on the beach front all with tranquill surroundings and picture perfect views.My personnal favourite was the fish restaurant.We also ate three times at costas golden beach and the food was of a high standard they varied the menu every day with a specials board.Also visited the three brothers restaurant high above agios georgios. The views of the sun setting will stay with me for a while. The food was of excellent quality and very reasonablly priced. The price of food was reasonablly priced in all the tavernas. On the other hand spirits very expensive £25 for a litre of whisky or vodka.Mythos lager and locall wine good and about the same price as we would pay back home.All the guests in the hotel mixed very well and the entertanment at night was a good laugh and the majority of guests took part in most things from the karaoke to the greek dancing.Enjoyed my visit to the village of pagi well known for the back drop scenery for the bond movie for your eyes only.The taverna in the middle of this beautiful greek village was so welcoming and they show the stills from the film and let you see the part of the movie where pagi was used.Must say a special thanks to karen the rep who was a breath of fresh air to the tourist industry.She was a wealth of knowledge and went way beyond the call of duty.The only negative thing i can say is the mosqutos can ruin your holiday if you donot take proper precautions and put on the rapellant several times a day and especially at night.Be sure to take repellant with you as it costs 5 euros in the agios georgios supermarkets.Beach was never crowded and water very clean 7 euros for two beds and an umberella.Will definently be going back next year but for two weeks this time.Dimitrie and his family have something very special here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This is, for us, a perfect respite from everday life. A very quiet non-touristy location with fantastic walks and views. This family owned and run hotel is extremely friendly. The rooms are not palatial but practical and very well looked after. The aircon is a real boon as this year the temp was mid 30's! As the hotel is relatively small you are only a few metres from the pool, the bar, the main eating area and reception. Everything is within easy reach. The pool is a very good size and never have we ever had problems with loungers etc. There is limited pool waiter service, but the bar is only a couple of minutes away. A reasonable lunch menu is available until very late and the evening meal choices are good. The bar is very well stocked with all brands.
The beach is directly across from the hotel with only the quiet local road between it. Loungers etc are available for hire on the beach. We normally would visit the beach most days but only to swim and then return to the hotel pool area. The bay itself is quite long and probably a mile end to end. Our hotel is almost central along it and we have explored the beach both ways to find that there are a mix of pebble and beautifull sandy shallow sea access areas. The southern end of the beach is more busy and we preferred our central to northern end location. Here there are tavernas with Dixtia being our favourite for location, value and food. The whole atmosphere of the hotel and surrounding area is one of peace and quiet. The many local walks vary between 1 - 8 miles and offer differing terrains of gentle roads, olive groves or steep roads and tracks. One of the most beatifull views has to be from Afionas which overlooks the whole bay to the south and north along the coast towards Arillas and San Stephonos. This is a quite steep climb, but well worth the effort. There are several tavernas at the top to refresh you.
We recommend this hotel and location as it seems to have escaped the modern times. If you desire lots of activities and night life then this is not for you.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank scoobyCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

First timers at the C G B booked as per trip advisor was not disappointed in the slightest all the reviews previous to this one are spot on. the friendliest welcome and staff we've ever had .and that's after 11years visiting Greece will be booking again definitely sea view rooms a must bathrooms like designers proper shower with rail all brand new rooms spotless cleaned every day ate in the restaurant twice and the pepper fillet steak is the best I've had in years .if your feeling fit the 5-a-side on sunday morning is truely memorable with dimitri the owner and the waiters taking on the guests. all in all a totally gorgeously brilliant holiday love to all Andy and jan

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jandymarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews