We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in Occitania Junior Suite - Couple ski trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rafaelhoteles by La Pleta
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Baqueira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stay with my wife during one week. The room fantastic. The staff really nice and helpful. Lovely facilities. The size and ambient are perfect.
If you are planning to enjoy the snow, the hotel is really close to the resort. Anyway they have shuttle van from the hotel to the lift, so is weird that you need to wait more than 5 min to be taken to the lift, or from the lift to the hotel.
After several snow trips to Val d'Aran and Baqueira, until now, and without doubts, the best hotel we've stayed.

Room Tip: Occitania Junior Suite, romantic duplex with amazing views of the valley. At least the number 323
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mario d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed in La Pleta on a skiing trip in January 2012. Our travel agent recommended Baqueira as an alternative destination to the busier and more well known resort in Alps. Our experience did not disappoints us.

The hotel is very comfortable and lives up to its five-start tag: the rooms are stylish, modern looking, clean and well looked after; the staff is friendly and helpful; the hotel restaurants offer a wide choice of dishes from the French, Spanish and Japanese cuisine; and the spa and gym facilities are a useful bonus too.

With the benefit of a hindsight we would consider the following when booking a trip to Baqueira:

a) a car is a must for going out or exploring the area, . The hotel offers a taxi service but a weekly taxi bill would not be cheap.

b) only one of the ski lift routes is a cabin type lift with the rest being predominantly chair lifts. The hotel is 100 meters away from the closest ski lift which is of a chair type category. If you have a small child and want to take them up to the skiing area, you will most likely have to travel to the centre of Baqueira to use the ski cabin service as we found chair lifts unsafe for a three-year old.

c) there are very few activities for small children in this area. Our three-year old son was too young for skiing. We were hoping that we could use sledges instead. It turned out that the only area where we could take him to was a snow park in Beret which required a 10 minute car journey.

d) for those who have to fly there it is much easier to reach this resort via Toulouse compared with Barcelona as the car journey is shorter by an hour.

e) we noticed that the overwhelming majority of the people on the resort was from Spain. At times it was very difficult get by. Our knowledge of English, French, Russian and German was often not enough even to buy a cup of tea or get a napkin. The hotel staff fares much better although not all of them speak basic English.

f) I disagree with what was said by other reviewers about the hotel food in terms of its quality and variety. We were on a half-board plan and enjoyed every single meal that we had there. For moderate drinkers the restaurant keeps unfinished bottles of wine for the next evening. Unfortunately we found out about this during our last dinner.

g) the resort is more suitable for beginners and intermediate skiiers who will find a good mix of red and blue runs. It is further south compared with the Alps and therefore one can therefore enjoy more sunshine.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

we enjoyed our stay at the hotel, always felt comfortable with two children evn in the most formal of the three restaurants. the swimming pool is beutiful. ths staff very helpful partcularly the ski service. we found that many of the staff spoke english. breakfast is great but we ound dinners just ok.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eurotraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We booked via Scott Dunn in London who have never let us down. This was a family hols to celebrate my wife's 70th birthday on the 31st Dec 2011. Skiiing for the children, 5/10/12 plus three adults. Great ski resort if a bit busy after Christmas. Hotel staff very good at helping with ski gear. All very well organized putting/ taking on/ off and putting away. All staff especially helpfully. Valet car parking, Underground car parking at a cost if required. Super breakfast inc in rate. Great rooms, cosy beds, super linen. Good choice of restaurants for all tastes. Excellent restaurants in Bequeira also Artiese, especially the pinotage run by Aouth African chap African.
All in all of thecheapest but you do get what u pay for. Would we return, YES.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bassbottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed for a long weekend before the ski season so sampled the delights of the spa & restaurant & thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AoifeByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baqueira hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Val de Neu GL
Hotel Val de Neu GL
#4 of 10 in Baqueira
294 reviews
0.7 km away
AC Baqueira Ski Resort, Autograph Collection
0.2 km away
Melia Royal Tanau
Melia Royal Tanau
#2 of 10 in Baqueira
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Himalaia Baqueira
Hotel Himalaia Baqueira
#5 of 10 in Baqueira
280 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Montarto
Hotel Montarto
#9 of 10 in Baqueira
167 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Chalet Val de Ruda
Hotel Chalet Val de Ruda
#3 of 10 in Baqueira
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafaelhoteles by La Pleta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafaelhoteles by La Pleta

Address: Ctra de Baqueira a Beret, Cota 1700, 25598 Baqueira, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Lleida > Val d'Aran > Baqueira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Baqueira
#1 Family Hotel in Baqueira
#1 Spa Hotel in Baqueira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Baqueira
Price Range: ₹ 12,148 - ₹ 38,343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rafaelhoteles by La Pleta 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafaelhoteles by La Pleta is an exclusive five-star resort hotel located in Baqueira-Beret Ski Resort, in the heart of the Spanish Pyrenees. The decoration and welcoming atmosphere provide a feeling of well-being and peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rafaelhoteles by La Pleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafaelhoteles By La Pleta Hotel Baqueira Beret
La Pleta Hotel
Hotel La Pleta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing