We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“breakfast at emerald bay karwar, what a rip off!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Karwar - Emerald Bay, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Pune, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“breakfast at emerald bay karwar, what a rip off!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stopped at Emerald Bay while driving down south from Goa. Actually its an ideal location to stop.. right time right place for the family.
Went to their coffee shop and ordered some breakfast, not much choice but three plates of idli sambar and a plain dosa it was... the sambar was cold, the two idlis were not the freshest and when we ordered another plate for our daughter.. they had no more! The dosa we finally ordered was reheated ( yes that's possible even in Karnataka) and then came our three cups of coffee. We were shocked to get a bill of 700 rs. for exactly 6 idlis, a reheated sada dosa and cold sambar.... guys be reasonable. if you charge 125 for two idlis and sambar.. let the quality be good at least!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank anupur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Karwar - Emerald Bay, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays.

We are concerned that you were dissatisfied with our F&B service. We would like to assure you that we will look into the issues raised by you. We deeply value your feedback and want to thank you for taking the time out to let us know your views.

There is an elaborate renovation work undertaken across our resorts and very soon you will notice a big difference not just in the ambience but also in the quality of service and food. Please visit our website to know about the positive changes happening at Sterling Holidays.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    73
    33
    15
    7
See reviews for
115
30
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Thane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

The management of the resort has now changed and taken over by sterling holidays & the name has subsequently changed to Sterling Emerald bay

Positives:
a. The Suite room allotted to us was clean and spacious.
b. The resort staff was very eager & helping.
c. Swimming pool was extremely well-maintained
d. Overall this seems to be the only good hotel/resort to stay in Karwar due to lack of other options.

Areas of improvement: When we checked in – we were told that the Suite room that we get will not have a sea-view as all those rooms are booked though we had booked quite in advance. The view which our room had bad - arid wilderness while the other side rooms do get a beautiful sea view. We wanted to understand if the time share members are given raw deal over the usual hotel/walk-in customers in allotting rooms? The reception did not have an answer.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UnmeshThane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We were a team of around 40 who visited Karwar on a team outing. We hardly spent any time here as we were roaming around and hence did not explore all the facilities (like swimming pool etc).

As soon as we reached in the morning, we were allocated rooms and they were absolutely wonderful (not sure why the previous reviewer did not like them :P). The AC was not working (I guess), but the room, bathroom, bed etc were too good. Slept for a while, got ready and a sumptuous breakfast was waiting for us.

After a lot of fun activities (trekking, rock climbing, rappelling, boating, swimming, canoeing, kayaking, rafting etc in Riveredge Paradise Resort, Karwar. Special metion to the awesome lunch served by riveredge guys) we returned to our lovely rooms in the evening. Dinner was served followed by campfire. Slept peacefully and left the hotel the next day.

My verdict
Room: Awesome
Food: Awesome (especially breakfast)
Location: Good

The price was not high as the whole package (one day stay+food+entertainment) costed us 1700 per head (advantage of going in groups) :)

Room Tip: Top floors for good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ImAlladin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

As mentioned before, Karwar is a sleepy small place with not much of lodging options. We took this one per their slogan "best resort in Karwar".
Total Disappointment!
Room are furnished with old furniture. It seems like they try to clean it but since it is old it is hard.
Pool was dirty with nylon bags floating around and the yard was full of garbage, I guess due to an event the evening before we came in.
Dinner was OK but if you need intl. food don't expect much for breakfast.

We prefer for the next trip to choose some place up north (from known hotel chain) and drive each day another 40 minutes.
Don't expect internet connection in the room because it doesn't exist. Even the wifi in the lobby had to be rebooted several time before we could log in.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iophir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
75 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

Not many choices when it comes to decent accommodation in Karwar - a small, sleepy town dominated purely by the fishing community. One cant go wrong with Lotus, purely as this place carries the very best that Karwar has to offer. The fresh sea-food was just amazing and we just ate to our heart's content. The cool evening breeze after a pretty humid day is a welcome change. The staff are Ok and do make every attempt to let the guest feel at ease. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeTriper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karwar
40.4 km away
Sanskruti Quality  Resort
3.5 km away
Jungle Lodges Devbagh Beach Resort
4.1 km away
Leisure Vacations Westend, Karwar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 km away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
19.3 km away
The Tubki Resort
The Tubki Resort
#3 of 9 in Palolem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
4.4 km away
Aditi Comforts Service Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karwar - Emerald Bay, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karwar - Emerald Bay, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Karwar - Emerald Bay, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: National Highway 17, Sadashivgad Toll Naka, Karwar 581 301, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Karwar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Karwar
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,011 - ₹ 8,416
Hotel Class:3 star — Karwar - Emerald Bay, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the estuary where the Kali river meets the Arabian Sea, and with the Sahyadri mountains forming a backdrop, Emerald Bay is a full-service Sterling Holidays resort that offers some beautiful glimpses of an unspoilt, unexplored region of India. The backwaters of the Kali River add to the beauty of this place. Karwar is a great holiday destination due its close proximity to Goa. A combined holiday in our resorts - Villagio in Goa and Emerald Bay in Karwar, will work as a great way to spending long vacations with loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ClearTrip, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Karwar - Emerald Bay, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karwar - Emerald Bay, A Sterling Holidays Resort Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing