We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (1,144)
Filter reviews
1,144 results
Traveller rating
887
201
34
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
887
201
34
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanta raysmarine lifehervey baythe great barrier reefdive shopglass bottom boatgarden unitbuffet breakfast and dinnerhigh tideoctopusbehind the scenesscenic flightcoral gardensscuba divinggreen turtlesdeeper waterreef shoes
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 1,144 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We loved the very beautiful Lady Elliott island!! The Scuba Diving was excellent!!
You must ask for master diver, Phil Townsend, always friendly, always going the extra mile for all scuba divers, Phil is very knowledgeable, patient and simply outstanding, he specialises in helping people new to scuba or nervous divers, so ask for wonderful Phil!!! Lauren & Chris are awesome too!!! Snorkelling or diving you see so much, what a wonderful memorable experience!!!
Mary and Laura at the Beverage Bar were absolutely amazing, always so friendly, excellent service!!! Last but not least, all the food was really good, the dinners were all absolutely 5 star!!! So tasty and yummy, so well done to JT and all the chefs, you rock!!! Thanks to the lovely Cleaners as well

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Geraldine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We stayed on LEI for 5 nights in one of the Reef Units. Our stay was generally a relaxing one although there were a few things that we felt could be improved. Firstly, when we arrived at Hervey Bay airport there was nobody there and we were waiting for sometime before someone appeared. We had arranged to have our luggage stored and the man at the desk said he would put them away in another room. It felt a little odd as we did not receive any receipt for this even though I queried if we needed one. When we arrived at the resort we were shown around by one of the staff members who gave us a thorough induction of everything we needed to know. The room was adequate although we would have preferred it if there was air conditioning (there was just a ceiling fan) and it was very hot at night time. Whilst we were there it was bird season and the island had thousands of sea birds nesting. Whilst this was noisy at times (and a little smelly) it did not ruin our stay. The island's reef was fantastic to snorkel and dive on and we saw lots of turtles, reef sharks and eagle rays. The staff at the Dive shop were really helpful and I had a couple of dives whilst on the island as well as do a couple of boat trips on a glass bottom boat. The one thing that was disappointing was the lack of choice at the restaurant for vegetarian food. On two occasions the choices were just steamed vegetables and salad. When I mentioned this to staff at the reception they suggested that I mention this to the chef which I subsequently did. The meals after this improved significantly although this should not have happened in the first place as we had made it clear to the resort that we were vegetarians well in advance and this was acknowledged via e mail. Given that the resort was quite expensive, the very least I would have expected was some decent food on all of the nights we were there. Generally, the staff and the service provided was of a good standard. I was most impressed to see that the resort manager 'chipped in' with a number of jobs including serving omlettes at breakfast time and behind the bar. Whilst we had a lovely time, we probably would not stay again. We do feel that the price charged did not match our expectations or experience.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEIManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Hi Don P,

Thank you for reviewing Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you had a relaxing time during your stay.

The Hervey Bay terminal is manned 30 minutes prior to the departure of all flights. This is the same time we advise all guests to arrive, if you arrive earlier to this time, the desk will not be manned by our team.

We take on board your comments regarding receipts for luggage storage at the airport.

As you would be aware, Lady Elliot Island is an ‘Eco’ Resort striving to minimise and reduce our energy consumption and impact on the surrounding environment. Our Reservations Team ensures to provide all guests with accurate and descriptive information about the Resort. Part of that information includes the description of all room types. Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort is 3.5 stars with comfortable accommodation that ranges from our wonderful new glamping tents to garden and reef units, to our five island suites with air conditioning (the only accommodation with air conditioning). All this information can be found on our website underneath Room Types & Rates.

We apologise if you feel the vegetarian options were inadequate during your stay. Our Kitchen Team ensure that for each meal 2 of the hot dishes are vegetarian. We will speak with our team to ensure that the quality of the vegetarian dishes are continually consistent.

Thank you for your comments regarding our team, we pride them on their genuine customer service and ability to go above and beyond for each and every guest.

Happy travels!

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Note to prospective guests - do read the reviews. An eco resort isn't for everyone. I know folks who would not enjoy this experience. But as for me and my husband, this was the adventure of a lifetime. We had been told that we needed to think "Econo Lodge" in terms of the rooms. This was a fair description. But note that the rooms were very clean and well maintained. We thought the food was excellent and were not bothered by the buffet line and cafeteria style. Beyond the rooms and food, I can't imagine anyone providing a better wildlife experience with the coral reef and surrounding animals. We found the staff to be incredibly helpful and kind. And not only did we enjoy the snorkeling but all the programs that are offered during the day and evening. Our stay was three nights - 2.5 days for activities. We could have stayed one or two more days and not have been bored. As noted by other guests, there is no TV, cell or Wifi. The lack of technology was heaven for us. Others might see this as hell.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KatieCT045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Lady Elliot Island is an amazing place. My husband and I stayed for two nights and I think that two or three nights is the perfect length of time to take advantage of all the island has to offer and unplug from the stresses of everyday life. We met a few people who were staying for a full week, which would have a been a bit long for us, but they were thrilled with the length of their stay. I definitely would not recommend staying for less than 2 nights.

As noted on the Lady Elliot website, the accommodations on the island are very basic. This worked out very well for us, but might not be for everyone. The snorkeling right off the beach was beautiful and quite easy, so we were able to snorkel for long periods at a time without growing tired or bored. We also enjoyed snorkeling from the boat, both during the glass bottom boat ride and the snorkel safari. In addition to coral and many beautiful fish, we also saw several types of rays, sharks, starfish and turtles. Breakfast and Dinner buffets are included in the price of stay and were delicious. Absolutely loved that was a wide variety of fruit available at each meal. The only thing that prevents me from rating Lady Elliot 5 stars rather than 4 is that given the high price of the accommodations, I believe the staff could have been a bit more friendly and proactive. The staff was fine, but not exceptional. For example, there were very loud birds breeding at night during our stay (by loud, I mean that it sounded like a mix of cattle fighting and babies crying all night long), preventing us from getting any sleep at all our first night. We learned from our neighbors the next morning that there were earplugs in the bottom drawer of our dresser, but it would have been nice to have been told by reception when we checked in. Also, when we attempted to ask the general manager a question one night, he barely acknowledged us and walked away without answering the question (or even hearing it completely). Neither of these are huge issues on their own, but given the cost of our trip (approximately $2,000), I did expect a bit more customer service.
All things considered, I would absolutely recommend Lady Elliot to anyone planning to visit the Great Barrier Reef.

Room Tip: Lagoon Rooms have best location, Environmental are best value
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank VacanowNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEIManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Hi VacanowNj,

Thank you for taking the time to review Lady Elliot Island Ecco Resort on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your two nights on Lady Elliot Island. Thank you for your positive review of our buffet, I will pass on your comments on to our kitchen team!

We are disappointed to hear that our staff were the reason you did not rate Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort 5 stars. We pride our team on their genuine customer service and ability to go above and beyond for each and every guest. We will take your comments on board and ensure this doesn’t happen again in the future.

Happy Travels!

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

If your a driver from down South and want to see something FANTASTIC, take a Diving holiday to Lady Elliot Island and Dive with the MANTA RAYS.. Be sure to take a lest 3 days for this as you WILL need a day for your body to get back to normal if you took a plane in..
Oh and the fish life well all I can say is WOW..

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews