We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile trip worthwhile whiskey”
Review of Bar du Nord

Bar du Nord
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Carouge
Attraction details
Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

There is something special about whiskey in that they are like warming snowflakes no two are the same, Bar du Nord has an array of 700 whiskies, from around the world and of various vintages. There is charm and character it's not main stream but nor is it a place you'll see empty. The barman is knowledgeable and happy to hear about whiskies he doesn't know about but also willing to share his experience. If travelling solo or with friends if you appreciate good whiskey make the trip. I will return slainte

Date of experience: January 2016
1  Thank Ciaran k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"single malt"
in 2 reviews
"whiskey"
in 6 reviews
"malts"
in 2 reviews
"cash"
in 2 reviews
"tram"
in 2 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2015

My son lived in Carouge before moving into the centre of Geneva. On a night out for dinner he took me to this Whisky bar. I had never seen such an array of different whiskies before. The bar is small and relatively non descript, but there were quite a few people who came in for a night cap like we did. I asked for a Teeling Irish Whisky. It is relatively unknown. I was surprised the barman laid his hands on it straight away. We chatted to other people at the bar while we lingered over a whisky. Not cheap 15 francs per glass, but a lovely way to end a nice night out.

Date of experience: September 2015
1  Thank PhilM306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2014

A few nights ago I went there with friends to taste a few single malt. This is the most serious place in Geneva where to enjoy a tasting portion or a glass (at your convenience) of whisky. Stan congrats! The place is nice and the selection is awesome!!!! We'll be back!

Date of experience: December 2014
1  Thank Les_Suchots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017
Google Translation

Date of experience: February 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2017
Google Translation

Date of experience: January 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar du Nord also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Carouge, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Bar du Nord? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing