We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kildare Lodge(Minehead)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Kingsway Hotel(Minehead)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marston Lodge Hotel(Minehead)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Hotel(Minehead)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
324
18
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
18
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdunkery beaconjohn and janeb bwarm welcomecomfortable bedfresh milkwonderful hostshomemade shortbreadother guestsfull englishbreakfast was deliciousexmoor national parkcountry housenice touchfour poster bedstayed for nightsexcellent food
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2018

The hotel is situated in a picturesque location in Exmoor with lovely views. Very comfortable, well furnished with an excellent restaurant. It is managed by the owners who are very attentive, and look after their guests very well. There is a lounge for guests and the hotel is licensed.
Highly recommended for a peaceful, relaxing break away from the madding crowd.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. The suite on the ground floor is deal for anyone with disabilities.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank williamo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind review and for choosing to celebrate your special occasion with us here at Dunkery Beacon Country House. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Jane & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

We were visiting a close friend in the vicinity in June. Our stay were for three nights. We were impressed with the traditional country house against such lush & picturesque surroundings in Exmoor National Park.
Our room was on the lower floor which overlooked the rolling meadows beyond and the outdoor cafe too. The bed & surrounding were comfortable & clean.
We were intrigued with some old photographs on the wall which started us to have a lengthy dialogue with Jane who is the lady owner. It was interesting talking about her grandfather who had worked & liv d in Malaysia as a young man. Jane showed us some of the furniture collections too.
The breakfast was good & dinner at the Coleridge Restaurant was delicious, desserts to die for. Thumbs up for the chef.
Kudos to Jane, John and staff for their great services. They were personal & warm.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Janette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to post a review and for your kind words. John was particularly pleased you enjoyed his food during your stay and I very much enjoyed talking to you about my grandparents and their time living in the Far East.

We do hope to see you again if you plan another visit to the UK.

Kind regards,

Jane & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

This is a small country hotel, but the service would match any of the top hotels in UK.
From the moment of Jane's personal and warm welcome, we were made to feel at home. Room 7 on the first floor is a suite consisting of small sitting room, large bathroom and an amazingly comfortable four poster bed with dual aspect views across the hills of Exmoor.
Fresh milk, Nespresso coffee machine, a wide range of Miles teas (from Porlock, just four miles away...) are all indicative of the careful attention to detail this young couple put into this haven of tranquillity. Spotlessly clean throughout.
Talking to other guests, it is obvious why many of them are regular visitors. Having stayed here just once, there cannot be another hotel in the south west that will compete with the ambience, comfort and homeliness experienced here.
John works his magic in the kitchen single handed, and turns out consistently high standard breakfasts. Not a huge range of choices, but every item is cooked and presented in an impeccable manner. The sausages and poached eggs are particularly recommended.
On a cold winter evening, the residents lounge is an ideal venue to while away an hour with a board game and a hot toddy in front of the log burning stove.
Will we be back? Can't wait!

Room Tip: All rooms are south facing across to the hills, but room 7 is a highly recommended suite.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Thank you for such a glowing review, in particular the mention of a 'young couple'. Having in stayed in many hotels ourselves, we have come to learn what it is that guests want and the close attention to detail expected, so we are always very happy when our guests recognize our hard work. We do indeed get many guests returning and a lot of them are now like an extended family. We also look forward to seeing you again for further helpings of eggs and sausage.

Best wishes,

John & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We arrived and saw a beautiful, elegant country house.
Our bedroom was spacious, as it had a sitting area, the bedroom and bathroom were large and airy and elegant.
We had a fabulous night's sleep, as it is in a quiet rural setting.
As we were on our way home from holiday, we only stayed one night, but will go back to explore the walks and paths in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Many belated thanks for reviewing your 1-night stay with us and we are very glad you enjoyed the peace and quiet of our rural setting (although we are also conveniently placed for exploring Dunster and Porlock, which are only just over 4 and 5 miles away respectively).

We do hope you may visit again should you decide to return for a holiday in the West Country.

Best regards,

Jane & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We had an amazing 2 night stay (2nd floor sleigh bedroom) this month. The hosts are absolutely delightful, very friendly and helpful, made our stay thoroughly enjoyable. The detail is faultless, they have thought of everything, and catered well for my wife who is a vegetarian (all the food, at breakfast and dinner was very well presented and tasted delicious). The rooms are all lovely, we saw another couple of rooms prepared for next guests, all individual but with the same level of detail and attention. We would both recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Exmoor, really made our weekend.

Room Tip: All the rooms have excellent views, so choose according to budget and accesibility
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fortonbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Jane and I are are very happy that you enjoyed your weekend so much and thank you for your kind comments about the various aspects of your stay. We hope to see you again if you decide to return to this beautiful part of the country.

Kind regards,

John & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews