We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely views, good spa and very good dinner!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Conca Azzurra
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ranco
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely views, good spa and very good dinner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We spent our last night of our Italy trip in this hotel as it had a spa and was not too far from Malpensa airport. The views from the spa, the restaurant and our room over Lake Maggiore were great! We also had a table by the window for our dinner and the food was amazing!! Would definitely eat there again - you also get 10% off as a hotel resident and it was such a romantic atmosphere with breathtaking views over the lake! The spa was good, but it would have been good to have a jaccuzzi or pool, the sauna, steam room and relaxing room were very good though...Breakfast was okay, but I was expecting more fresh bread and cheese after the lovely dinner we had the previous night and also better cereal (eg musli rather than just cornflakes and coco pops) so was a but disappointed about that.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eva C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    96
    43
    15
    14
See reviews for
26
124
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2009

I stayed one night at this hotel with my wife for a stay at Lake Maggiore. The first thing is that Ranco is definitely not the most charming side of Lago Maggiore. You will have to go further north or most likely on the western shore to find better locations. The hotel is an "old modern" hotel that was probably built in the 80s. Architecturally very ugly on the outside, and just as bad inside. I am not that picky, but this was very badly decorated and felt like it was incredibly old. Our room was not that clean and had broken furniture, cables sticking out of the walls, broken floor (ugly) plastic, etc (see pics). Too bad I didn't take pics of the bathroom where the bathtub was full of lime and mold. The balcony, for which we paid extra to have the view on the lake was (very) tiny and had two plastic chairs that had probably never been seriously cleaned in their fifteen years of existence (see pics). Incredibly dirty and not up to the supposed standards (and expensive price) of this hotel.
The view was nice, but certainly comparable to the ones of other hotels around the lake and certainly not worth that price.
The breakfast was probably the worst. Super unfriendly waiter roaming the restaurant. The coffee came out of a machine (the one that produces everything: soup, orange juice, coffee) on the counter and tasted very bad: So much for Italian coffee. Bad selection of food, bread already dry, no service, etc. I could go on for a long time. Do avoid this hotel if you can.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gostram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ranco hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2007

Stayed at this hotel for five nights as visting Italy for my brother in laws wedding. Hotel was in a beautiful location overlooking Lake Maggiore and we were fortunate enough to get a lake view room although we didn't pay for this. Room was large and nice but could have been cleaner. Breakfast selection was good but hot food could have been warmer. Waiter/waitresses very friendly. Restaurant meals were very nice but service could have been better! This hotel was full of Austrians and Germans who were very noisy, especially at 7.30am in the morning! The gentleman who owned the hotel wasn't particularly friendly towards us. I think we must have upset him by arriving at 1.15am in the morning, even though he said this would be ok before our arrival. The swimming pool and grounds were very nice.

  • Liked — The fabulous lake view and the evening meal.
  • Disliked — The room was dusty and had cobwebs below the bed and beside it. The shower screen needing renewing.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2006

This was our second visit and again this modern family-friendly small, Italian hotel was glorious. We had originally visited in 1994 (pre-kids) and the management was ultra-helpful with some banking issues encountered in a town nearby. We vowed to returned.

It took 10 years, but we were not disappointed. Flying into Malpensa, we settled into the hotel and immediately met other families and relaxed by the pool and lake. Dinner was excellent, as was the lavish breakfast buffet.

We look forward to our next visit and find the hotel a European gem -- not too expensive, not too fussy, but friendly, helpful, and perfectly situated on one of the quieter lakes.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sprin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2006

My wife and two small kids stayed here for a week. The location is nice enough, though not as lovely as elsewhere on the lake. The hotel itself is plain and modern, and in need of better upkeep: the grounds in particular had been let go, and each morning we had to clean the pool ourselves (and we never saw the advertised lifeguard). But the clincher was the attitude of the owners (and some of their staff): they could not be less interested in helping with such basics as rental car and daytrip arrangements. The owners were surly and interested in only one thing: getting paid at the end of our stay (without even a thank-you). Service was a disaster. I'm sure there are many better alternatives.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ranco
0.6 km away
Il Sole Di Ranco
Il Sole Di Ranco
#1 of 2 in Ranco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
13.0 km away
Hotel de Charme Laveno
Hotel de Charme Laveno
#1 of 3 in Laveno-Mombello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
28.5 km away
Hotel Camin Colmegna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.7 km away
Camin Hotel Luino
Camin Hotel Luino
#2 of 4 in Luino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
13.8 km away
Locanda Pozzetto
Locanda Pozzetto
#1 of 12 in Laveno-Mombello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
4.0 km away
B&B Tana della volpe
B&B Tana della volpe
#3 of 5 in Ispra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Conca Azzurra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Conca Azzurra

Property: Hotel Conca Azzurra
Address: Via Carlo Alberto 53, 21020 Ranco, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Maggiore > Ranco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ranco
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,175 - ₹ 9,134
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Conca Azzurra 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Conca Azzurra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing