We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well-equipped house with great lake access.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Zaffiro

The villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The villa
Dining room View terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
The villa
Dining room
View terrace
Global view
Kitchen
Dining area
Balcony
Terrace
TV area
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Bathroom
Clear water
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Lierna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nancyfmcc...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well-equipped house with great lake access.”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Six family members - five adults and a five year old - spent a week at Villa Zaffiro July 2014. The house is well-equipped for an extended family - the only limitation is that three of the four bedrooms have en suite bathrooms so the 4th bedroom only has access to a bath through someone's bedroom. We enjoyed opening the back door to lake swimming, ordering pizza and gelato at the Café next door, barbequing on the balcony and taking day trips via boat and road around Lake Como. Lierna is small but is close to Varenna with restaurant choices and several good hikes, and there is a boat directly from Lierna to Bellagio. The villa owner also owns the restaurant, Il Crotto, across the street which is excellent. He and his daughter, who helps manage the villa, were responsive to our questions.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peta B
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good position”
Reviewed 13 February 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Beds very uncomfortable and pillows very old bedding old too and towels so thin.
Place flooded when we had a storm, up all night mopping water.owner could speak good english untill we complained! Coffee machine didnt work, they did replace, but all equipment extremely basic and uncomfortable chairs to sit in , would not stay here again or recommend it, pitty, such a great position, needing comfortable beds, bedding and chairs!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2014
Dear Peta and David, thank you. Feedback from our guests is very important.

Many months have passed since your visit to Lake Como in October and this review you have just now posted. I hope that, despite the unusually bad weather and some disappointments you had, your memories of your trip are warm and satisfying.

Clearly, flooding rain and a local power outage were not the fondest moments of your visit. So much of Lake Como life is spent outdoors, so the unusual weather was surely a disappointment. We did our best to address all your requests - as you note, we immediately replaced the coffee machine - but we apologise if you feel we did not do enough.

Nothing is more subjective than the comfort of a mattress or cushion. We've not had complaints in the past but we will certainly take your comments into consideration. Currently, we replace the mattresses every two seasons.

More than anything, we want our guests to enjoy their time on Lake Como. Our contribution to an enjoyable stay is the comfort of our apartments and satisfaction with our service. Guest feedback - positive or negative - helps us do this better.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydneysid...
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than we imagined!”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This was our first experience using tripadvisor for rentals, booking went smoothly but we were still a little nervous to see how the facilities and location worked out. Upon arrival our fears disappeared. The house is beautiful and we felt it was larger than it looked in the photos. Comfortably accommodated our two families (we had two kids under 4 and they loved it). We also loved the location, Lierna is initially not the easiest to reach from Como but once there it is within easy distance of everything. The beach is stunning and right out the front, we found it our favourite spot of the whole trip. Much less touristy, but still with good restaurants and cafes. We did not hire a car, used Comolimo.com (highly recommended) to transfer us and a local taxi or the train/ferry to get around. As noted, if you're looking for lots of cafes or bars maybe a bigger town would suit better, we were happier having a small but less touristy selection and going into Bellagio or Mennagio for day trips. (Bellagio is a 10 minute ferry trip direct frim Lierna). Overall, highly recommended!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miablue
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lovely italian house”
Reviewed 2 April 2013 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

very nice house, a walk down from local amenities ie bakery, cafe, veg shop. amazing views from your very large living space and a well equipped kitchen.
Cattanio's very lovely restaurant opposite - would highly recommend!
Lovely ice cream and coffee parlor which also serves great pizza in the evening.
located on the beach where you can watch the sun sets and the ducks pick on little dogs!

Good base for touring the lake and a lovely house.
just short of 5 stars as the beds would shortly need new mattresses and the tv was small. but these things would not stop me from booking again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view from the living room
Liked least: beds - need new mattresses
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debsido
yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 27 March 2012 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here Summer 2011 with friends and really enjoyed this villa. superbly equipped and nicely furnished although outdoor furniture could do with replacing. The location of the villa is second to none and it was fantastic being able to swim in the lake just 5 yards from the gate. the beach does get very busy at the weekend but reasonably quiet during the week. great little pizzeria and gelateria next door. Fantastic for large family or group of friends and would def return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic views and location
Liked least: Furniture on the terraces
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 275
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing