We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Villa Aurora
Nearby Hotels
US$ 126
US$ 123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bed & Breakfast Sosta Sul Lago(Lezzeno)(Great Value!)
US$ 88
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 519
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 361
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (816)
Filter reviews
816 results
Traveller rating
645
145
18
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
645
145
18
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake comosun deckwater skiingoriginal hotelthe main hotelhotel restauranthotel guestspear raviolijunior suiteferry stopfood and winehighlight of our tripfamily run hotelsmall townwonderful hotelbreakfast roomloved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
394 - 399 of 816 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Gorgeous little hotel in the small town of Lezzeno in Lake Como. We stayed in one of the Villa rooms on the lake. They are newly decorated in white and pastel tones. There is a balcony from each room which opens out to a larger shared deck area with a gorgeous view of Lake Como. Truly stunning view and one of the closest you can get to the lake. You feel like you are on a movie set!

The rooms have Sky TV which was a big bonus with my sports loving husband!

The staff were so friendly. We were greeted with a warm reception and shown to our rooms straight away. There was parking on site (wonderful as Bellagio was a little trickier regarding the parking).

The only recommendation I would make to the hotel is to have some thicker curtains- one of our room windows looked out to the main road (towards the restaurant) and the street lights were bright at night. I was also concerned people could see in if we had the lights on! This is the only slightly negative comment I have.

Delighful little hotel with welcoming, friendly family service. A true little gem on Lake Como. I would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidandpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed four nights at Hotel Villa Aurora at the start of a twenty three day holiday in Italy, and were quite pleased with our choice of accommodation on Lake Como.

Our room was 209, in the newer "villa" building, across the road from the original "hotel" section of the property. We could step on to our balcony and look down in to the clean Lake Como water, and had expansive views across Lake Como.

The room was sufficient in size and met our needs. The bathroom was rather large by European standards, new and modern, with a huge shower.

Service at Hotel Villa Aurora was faultless...warm, friendly, and most welcoming from the moment we arrived until leaving to catch the bus to Como S. Giovanni station and begin the next leg of our Italian holiday.

Patrizia and Margherita (and every one of their friendly staff members) treated us as if we were friends. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them, and everyone was forthcoming with advice and recommendations on places to go see and visit, things to do, etc.

(Tips: Cross the lake to go visit Villa Carlotta; if you enjoy wine tasting, spend some time in the little wine bar that is located up the first alleyway after you get off the bus at Bellagio - blink and you'll miss it; take the ferry to Varenna, spend some time exploring, and enjoy a nice lunch at one of the numerous restaurants there; a day trip by train to Lake Lugano, Switzerland is worth it - if you have the time.)

Breakfast is served in the hotel section of the property, with lunch and dinner being served in the main restaurant, across the road, overlooking Lake Como. There is a more than adequate selection at breakfast, and the food served at lunch and dinner was faultless (great selection, quality, portions, and value), with an excellent variety of wines being available - including several from the local (Lombardy) region.

Hotel Villa Aurora is located in Lezzeno, one of the quieter and less populated locales around Lake Como, which was perfect for our requirements of a nice, quiet, relaxing place to stay for a few days. However, if you prefer to be close to "the action" of many hotels, bars, restaurants, etc., you would probably want to stay at Bellagio (which is approximately fifteen minutes drive from Hotel Villa Aurora).

This was our first-ever visit to Lake Como, but we hope to return again one day. If and when we do, we will definitely include another stay at Hotel Villa Aurora in our itinerary.

Please feel free to email me with any questions, or for advice, recommednations, etc.

Room Tip: Our room in the newer, "villa" section of the property was nice and quiet, and worth the differential in price paid.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We only had a couple of days here but we were very impressed. Our room was in the Villa and had great views over the lake. The restaurant was also excellent and well priced, service again was very good. If you are planning a stay on Lake Como then stay here.
Bellagio is also easy to get to either by bus or water bus but get to the queue's early as it can be busy.

Room Tip: Book into the Villa its well worth paying a little extra.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eclipse10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We returned to Hotel Aurora in June 2011 and found the hotel, family and staff exactly as it was five years ago. We purely returned to the hotel because of the wonderful family atmosphere created by the Gregorio Family and the fantastic food served in the restaurant which sits directly on the edge of the lake. The chef is from Sicily and returns each year for the holiday season. It is amazing to see how the Italian people who live on Lake Como, drive their boats across from one side of the lake to the restaurant, moor their boats and then staff at restaurant collect them and once dinner is finished they are driven back to their own boats. The two daughter in laws, Margharita and Patricia are both beautiful people - one in charge of reception and one in charge of the restaurant and what an an absolutely wonderful asset they are to the hotel. Should you need any information, just ask Margharita - she speaks fluent English and is such a delight always. Hopefully, we will return again in the future.

Room Tip: Choose front room overlooking lake - maybe a littlle noisey for some but by the time you have finished dining in the restaurant which is directly 8 steps across the small road, noise subsides. Waking up to see the mist rising from Lake Como is an incredible sight.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dianeloades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed in a two room appartment in the hills overlooking Lake Como in a small village called Nesso that is owned by the Hotel Aurora. We stayed there in the Fall of 2010. It's in an old mill that the owners totally renovated with modern accomodations. The stream that used to turn the millstone still runs next to the building and a balcony overhangs it. Beautiful! The living room window's grandiose view gives over Lake Como. It's a bit of a steep climb to get there and we North Americans are not used to driving in such narrow streets, but it's worth it. The owners were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews