We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it Here!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Ristorante Meridiana
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bellano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My husband and I started our honeymoon here, and we adored it! They pick you up at the train station, and drop you off there (refusing a tip), the rooms are lovely with amazing views, and eating at the restaurant I had some of the best food during our whole trip to Italy and Greece.

We only stayed here for two nights - although I wish we had stayed here for at least a week! During breakfast, the owner came over with the complicated ferry map, and took us through it - recommending the best way to spend our only one full day on Lake Como. She made it very simple for us!

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough!

Room Tip: I loved our room on the ground floor - we could hear the waves hitting the shore, so relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaraJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

First time relying on TripAdvisor ratings. They were perfectly accurate. This is a charming small hotel situated in one of the best sites on Lake Como. Amazing gracious service. Good breakfast. Excellent dinners.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are just a few feet from the surface of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wes N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Great hotel with warm friendly staff. Very romantic location right on side of Lake Como. Food was excellant in restaurant , sitting in the garden watching sun set over the lake. Breakfast was very generous. Happy to cater to vegetarians delightful stuffed zucchini flowers and magnificent light lasanga.
Rooms 7 and 8 are the pick only meters above the lake with delightful balconies. Rooms well appointed , beds comfortable .
Ballano is a town with access to the lakeside and a great path that goes from the hotel into town and around the lake for a couple of kilometres great to stretch your legs after dinner lots of places to stop and enjoy the lake.
We stumbledon this hotel late one evening and stayed an extra night because we liked it so much , we will definately scedule it into future trips to Italy and highly recommend it to friends, it would make a perfect honeymoon location !

Room Tip: Rooms 7 and 8 are the pick we had room 7 1st night but had to move to room 9 next night (we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GayleAndJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

My mother and I spent three nights here. The Meridiana lives lakeside toward the north side of Bellano. The hotel is staffed by a friendly set of people, but only a couple of them have conversational English. For this reason, we felt we needed to sort out any excursions and information for ourselves, as we have little Italian and the English speakers (I assume the owner/managers) were mostly away from the front desk. However, the hotel is a very pleasant place to stay in the Lake Como area, and benefits from being less expensive than nearby Varenna. Bellano is probably not the prettiest town on the lake (Varenna gets that gong in my book), but the ferries and local road access make it very easy to reach other points on the lake with minimal difficulty. The ferry jetty is a 5-10min walk from the hotel door. We had to buy tickets on board, a friendly test of australian/italian relations. A day ticket for the main towns (Bellagio, Varenna and nearby) was about E15/ea. To Como, a bit more. Don't bother with Menaggio, it's very dull.
Rooms: Well fitted out, on the compact side but not uncomfortably so. Keyed safe available. Wired internet available (wireless in reception/lounge areas). We had a lakeside balcony, with the water lapping pleasantly on the cobbled beach about 2m from the rail. Unfortunately, this is also popular with the local fisherfolk at night, and their quiet conversation and crunching up and down on the cobbles into the small hours can be disturbing for light sleepers (ie. me), so the double glazed windows were closed and the effective, if a little drafty, air-conditioning used to solve this minor hiccup.
Bathroom: Clean, modern fittings, good hot water. Shower over bath (a bit slippy - be careful).
Beds: Firm mattresses, pillows are very soft, I ended up using a chair cushion instead.
Breakfast: Very good and comprehensive range of food on offer. You won't go hungry (and we're both vego. so ignored the meats). Barista coffee made on arrival to your requirements.
Access: If arriving by car, don't try and turn left into its very compact driveway, do a loop and come back the other way. I'm not sure how far it is from the rail station, but it would be a cheap taxi fare as Bellano is not large.
Restaurant: Very good! Clearly run by a chef who takes pride in the food she(?) produces. I can recommend you try it at least once. We only had one chance - it's closed Tue/Wed, two of the nights we stayed. A pity. About E80 for two including entree/main/dessert/wine and pre-dinner drinks. We ate on the lakeside terrace in the pleasant late evening sunlight (through the inevitable lake haze).
Overall: A pleasant and well priced place to stay (E130/nt for us, incl. brekky) in the pricey Lago di Como area. I'd go back! Definitely would visit the restaurant if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank netizat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

What a delightful hotel! When we arrived, we were shown to our room and then offered a cool beer to welcome and refresh us. The garden was the perfect place to cool down after a hot day of travelling. Our room had its own balcony which was a few feet above Lake Como and you could lie in bed and look at the mountains. Kettle with a selection of teas and coffee was provided, there was a little fridge and in the bathroom were robes and slippers. The breakfast was delicious with freshly cooked food to order, big jugs of coffee and warm frothy milk, eaten on the terrace above the lake. The hostess is a lovely lady and nothing is too much trouble for her. Absolutely great restaurant for evening meals, eaten outdoors if the weather is warm and the food is out of this world. I certainly intend to come back here - as soon as possible!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Christine2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellano
9.7 km away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
821 reviews
4.6 km away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#2 of 6 in Varenna
453 reviews
13.9 km away
Hotel Villa Aurora
Hotel Villa Aurora
#1 of 2 in Lezzeno
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
756 reviews
4.7 km away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
532 reviews
9.2 km away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Ristorante Meridiana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Ristorante Meridiana

Address: Via Carlo Alberto 22, 23822 Bellano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bellano
Price Range: ₹ 9,336 - ₹ 10,407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Ristorante Meridiana 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Meridiana occupies part of a villa directly overlooking Lake Como and has its own independent entrance surrounded by the greenery of weeping willows and cypress trees. Hotel Meridiana offers you all kind of comfort including a very nice restaurant. All the rooms, each with its own lake-view terrace, have air-conditioning, a refrigerator-bar, a private safe and internet connection. Guests can go sight-seeing or visit the nearby cities, rich in art and history, or practice some of the many sports this area offers, ski, mountain-biking, trekking, sailing, windsurfing, kite-surfing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Albergo Ristorante Meridiana Bellano, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing