We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveller rating
393
51
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
393
51
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake maggiorecobbled streetthe hotel staffnice breakfastold buildingvery nice hoteleggsno hesitation in recommendingbooked this hotelwould love to go backdream hotelfantastic selectionrainy dayhidden awayminute walk to the lakelovely townlittle gem
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 448 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2017

I would agree with previous reviewers who raved about the staff - they do go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable! This hotel is very old and the restoration has been carefully done to preserve authentic details.
The room was clean & comfortable. The area of the old city it is located in is quite charming.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Sophie_Linn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MassimoAlbertella, Direttore generale at Hotel Pironi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you for your nice feedback from the whole Staff! We appreciate your words and we are glad to have been helpful! We also look forward to welcome you again. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

We recently spent two nights at the Hotel Pironi. Cannobio is a quiet town (at least at the end of the season) on Lake Maggiore, avoiding the busloads of tourists in some of the larger towns. It is 20 minutes from the Swiss border on the west side of the lake.

Hotel Pironi is a 12 room hotel in a very old personal residence. It has been transformed to an clean, comfortable, welcoming place with modern amenities and a great breakfast and a staff who went out of their way (literally - walking up the road to find us when the main street was closed for a fair) to be helpful. I can say I have never before had a hotel staffer carry my luggage two blocks, with a smile on her face. (Thanks, Sara!)

Our room was reasonably sized, with a king bed, two desks, a loveseat and a balcony with a partial view of the lake below. (Cannobio rises from the lakeside uphill in this hilly area.)

The bathroom was fine, with modern glass shower and glass sink, toilet and bidet. Hot water was plentiful with good pressure.

Breakfast was a plentiful buffet of meats, cheeses, cereals, yogurt, cakes, bread, and croissants. Eggs are made to order, as is coffee.

I would return to this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for Room X (10) - it has the balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank trnesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MassimoAlbertella, Direttore at Hotel Pironi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Many thanks from all the staff!
We thank you so much for your lovely words, we are very happy that you have enjoyed our hotel and your stay with us.
We really hope to welcome you again in the future. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Booked this hotel due to a review in the Telegraph. It's fantastic. Lovely lovely friendly staff who can't do enough for you. They recommend fab restaurants and even paid for the bus for 6 of us to get to one. Simple breakfast served, but lots of choice. Great location. Clean rooms, and the hotel is great to relax in if there is a rainy day. The adjoining restaurant is lovely. This is not a criticism but you need to be aware of lots of beautiful old stone steps. And some in the bedroom to. Just be aware don't let it put you off , it was an old monetary before. Just loved my 4 days here.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank annieapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MassimoAlbertella, Direttore at Hotel Pironi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

We thank you really so much for your so lovely words! We are happy that you appreciate your holidays in Cannobio, and we are also glad to have been helpful for you!
We look forward to see you again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

Everything perfect, but the welcome from the staff makes all the difference. Have stayed in Como a few time, never again.

Hotel Pironi is hidden away from the lakefront, which makes it even more private. Exceptional open air restaurant just outside the hotel. This is a dream hotel in every way.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MassimoAlbertella, Direttore at Hotel Pironi, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

We thank you so much for your lovely words, we are very happy that you have enjoyed our hotel and your stay with us.
We really hope to welcome you again in the future. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

This was the second time we have stayed in the hotel. The last time was 15 yrs ago. It left a great memory15 yrs ago and it was the same this time.

It has a feel of friendly helpful service and that is what is delivered. It is not over the top. Just well balanced.

Restaurants just outside the hotel was also great value.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jamieitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MassimoAlbertella, Direttore at Hotel Pironi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

We thank you very much for your postive and kindly feedback and we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us also this time.
We really hope to welcome you again...
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews