We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breath-taking views, modern and comfortable”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Bella Vista

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Minusio's microclimate has a mere 320 days of sunshine each year
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Minusio's microclimate has a mere 320 days of sunshine each year
The very comfortable and large lower living room, also called the music and television room
The lower living room with wonderful leather sofa, relaxing armchairs also has magnificent views
The luxury designer kitchen with microwave, oven, dishwasher and induction cooker
View over Lago Maggiore from upper living room
The large master bedroom with its Hästens 2.10 x 2.10m boxspring and mirrored wardrobes
Waking up in the airconditioned masterbedroom watching beautiful art and that amazing view outside
Bedroom with double bed on lower floor with wardrobe and garden view
Adjacent bathroom on lower floor with shower cabin, toilet and washbasin
Bedroom with 2 single beds on lower floor with view on Lago Maggiore
La dolce vita
Enjoy your breakfast, lunch or dinner in the shadow underneath the vine leaves
Total privacy on the terrace whilst overlooking the mountains reflected into the blue lake
Love-seat on the terrace with 'a view to a kill'
The lower floor terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Minusio, Lake Maggiore, Canton of Ticino, Swiss Alps

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
jmonney20...
Vevey, Switzerland
1 review
“Breath-taking views, modern and comfortable”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Wonderful place with incredible views!!! Just breathtaking! Well-situated and well equipped...even provided a baby chair which was great! Beds are comfortable and kitchen space practical....terrace outside so nice! Finally somewhere that has been designed with taste, just beautiful, highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
Thank you for all the compliments Julien. Very happy you had such a wonderful time. Hope to see you again one day. All the best, Sabine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Stunning and Luxurious”
Reviewed 19 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We visited Villa Bella Vista with 4 adults and 2 children and had a fantastic time staying there. The views are breath-taking and the local town of Minusio and Locarno were full of activity with plenty of dining options available. The villa itself was very accommodating and luxurious, especially with the addition of 2 cots and 2 high chairs which was very helpful. We would definitely book again, highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Steps
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damo1976
Cricklade, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Wonderful 40th Birthday Stay”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I travelled to Switzerland with my family and friends (4 adults and 2 infants) to celebrate my 40th birthday. Villa Bella Vista is the perfect location for 2 small families like ours. I would rate the accommodation as 'luxury' with spectacular view of Lake Maggiore.

The property is located on a hill-side, accessible by road. The roads are steep and windy and thin (with passing places). The small community town of Minusio is accessible by foot, but is quite a long walk (especially on the way back up). My recommendation is to stay in the villa to enjoy the views, but if you wish to go anywhere, then car transportation is essential.

Within the villa itself were 3 spacious bedrooms, a large kitchen (well stocked with pots/pans,crockery etc), 2 very nice bathrooms (including a jacuzzi wash pool) and a laundry room with washer/dryer. Additionally there are 2 reception rooms; 1 downstairs with a comfy sofa and large TV. The upper reception room (kitchen/diner) has amazing views of the lake and surrounding mountains.

The way the villa has been constructed (I suspect by a very clever architect) allows stunning views of the lake all around the villa. It's almost like the outside is inside (if that makes sense). Picture yourself a huge canvas print with stunning landscape and then make that the permanent view across all the windows. A generously sized patio allows even better views, although in Mid-January it was a little chilly outside (of course).

The nearby town of Locarno is easily accessible (approx 7 minutes in a car) and offers convenient parking. The Funicolare train takes you up the mountain to Orselina, offering great views of the lake and the famous Madonna Del Sasso church. A cable car ride (28CHF per adult) takes you up to Cardada, offering even better views and some lovely walks through alpine forest, 1300m up. We didn't take the chair lift to Cimetta (1600m) so can't comment on that, but the rest of the mountain was beautiful. I personally recommend the restaurant at Colmanicchio (which I will be writing a separate review for). Great food and wonderful hospitality.

Mid-week, we drove 1.25 hours into Splügen for some ski-ing. All in all it was a wonderful holiday and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Views
Liked least: The roads (thin and windy, but to be expected up a mountain)!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saythatin...
London/Taunton
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“beautiful home - thoughtfully and generously equipped, lovely owners - glorious views”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

sometimes it is tempting - out of a perverse selfishness, a desire to keep good things to ourselves - not to share with others just how special a place can be: but it would also be a great shame if others did not get to enjoy the gorgeous space that is the Villa Bella Vista in Minusio. We were two couples and the space was perfect (the third bedroom became a sort of outdoor clothing spillover, but would perhaps suit one or even two more, younger, guests). The views from the top floor kitchen/diner with lounge area were stunning and the terrace got a lot of sun even in the winter. In fact it was warm enough (weird weather no snow alas) to have the doors open at midday and let the sun in. Equipment and furnishings are top quality and stylishly minimalist - we immediately felt surrounded by luxury.

Flight and car hire from Milan was easy (Sabine also provides directions) - but note that driving on Swiss motorways costs an extra 40 CHF which is a lot for a short stay, probably not worth it. Also try and stock up at a Carrefour supermarket just before you get to Switzerland as things really are very expensive there: a packet of neurofen, some soluble paracetamol and some throat Strepsils cost me £24 !

Restaurants in the area are okay but not fantastic - and the villa is a lovely place to cook and eat in so we mostly did that. The terrace at the Giardino al Lago just below the villa is beautiful and must be special when warmer, we ate there one evening - it was good ish but we do go to some brilliant and more reasonable restaurants in London. Also recommended were the fabulous New Year's day ( free!!) fireworks at Ascona and the very indulgent Spa Termini / Lido in Locarno - with lovely heated outdoor pool which we enjoyed late Dec. There is also a beach there and outdoor swimming in the summer .

Plenty to do locally although post xmas exhaustion was such that we didn't do a great deal. The apple tv function was appreciated so that we could stream our own films, excellent sound system too. We tried to get the fire going one evening but although I have a lot of woodburner experience - and we followed the instructions - the flue didn't seem to draw very well and after a lot of smoke leaking into the room we gave up. Maybe there is a technique ? But that's a minor quibble. We loved the underfloor heating and were never cold. Beds were a little squishy (and of the two singles together variety) , it could be very hot in the summer so the one aircon in the main bedroom would be handy. Arriving in the dark is a little tricky as house numbers are not entirely visible or logical but having gone past and also peered at a couple of the wrong villas we made it - and it was absolutely worth it.

Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: this is a lovely home that the owners clearly care about and live in, we had everything we needed and more.
Liked least: not really enough pillows, rather soft mattresses, shame the fire didn't draw very well.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for your compliments! And so sorry to hear the fireplace didn't work out. I'll have a look at it straight away (or my house manager) as it is a very nice feature. By the way, actually our house is very cool in summer (which is mainly due to the high roof on the top floor) and downstairs there is a lot of shade (sun is in a high position) and you can open all windows (with insect screens)... I can highly recommend trying it out! Great to hear you had a very nice start of the new year at our place. Hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
82andy
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Villa Bella Vista”
Reviewed 17 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great location and views, Villa Bella Vista is the ideal place for a Ticinese holiday. Clean, well furnished and equipped with everything you need, lots of space inside and out. Friendly and helpful owners, definitely recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing