We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“just fine for transit, rude staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“just fine for transit, rude staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

we stayed at this hotel our last nite in italy before we departed from Malpensa airport. Firstly we landed sometime in the afternoon and found that the hotels shuttle services operate only in the mornings. As my wife was not feeling well we decided to take a taxi to the hotel . the taxi guy almost ripped us off as he demanded 50 Euros for a 5 minute drive. from what i could understand he argued that we should have taken the shuttle service instead of a taxi as he had lost a prospective city trip which would have fetched him 100 euros. incredible .! the hotels location is a disadvantage to tourist as taxi would hate to take u there - too short for a taxi ride and too long to walk.
The hotel is basic. The air conditioning was almost non existent ( the controls in yr room dont work as they control the temprature from the reception lobby) . after much complaining the lady at the reception said that a mechanic would come to the room . The mechanic turned out to be the guy from the reception. He stood on a chair ,put his hands near the AC duct and said the AC was fine and working and asked me to do the same . I did as he told me and felt a very very faint whiff of air (2 times lesser than the exhaust from my laptop). " can u feel it " he asked like a bullying teacher from a charles Dickens novel . At this point all I could do was nod stupidly like young David Copperfield . He left hurriedly , we opened the windows which felt much better n laughed about it later.
Hotel staff:
My wife asked some question very politely to the front offce guy called fernando .m. He did not bother to answer back and instead handed her a pamphlet with a stern face .
wondered what people like him were doing in the service industry.
Otherwise the hotel is ok if you are transiting or staying for one night only on a budgeted price.
as for us we will prefer the Sheraton at the terminal where we stayed one night on arrival although its a bit more expensive theres a world of difference, n its worth the difference,

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jorden1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valebilla, Proprietario at Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Jorden 1969, thank you very much for taking time to share your comment with us.
We read it with interest and is always helpful in order to improve us.
We are sorry for the expensive amount you had to pay to the taxi that you catched from Malpensa Airport to our Hotel. But on our side we need to explain that it is not true that our shuttle bus "operate only in the mornings". Our shuttle bus is scheduled in the morning and in the evening and during the day in "on request" but always available.
On our web site http://www.hiex-malpensahotel.com/ it is possibile to find clear informations about our shuttle service.
About the discomfort you suffered in your room due to the air condition, we are sorry for the bad impression you have got by our staff and we will take all the necessary steps to improve it. But we need to say that you can add + 2 ° C or - 2 ° C directly in the room by yourself. The hotel is new, we opened 3 years ago, and usually all the equipments are working. We are sorry for the inconvenience you suffered and we hope to welcome you once again in the future, providing you an upgrade, in order to let you experience a better hotel stay. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    668
    244
    71
    37
See reviews for
366
503
102
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Good hotel, good price. Hotel looked to be brand new. Very close to the airport. Free shuttle to the terminal. Room was clean, bed comfy, and good bath. No complaints at all. Decent free breakfast. We would definitely stay there again.

Best tip - if you ask, the front desk has several recommendations for dinner. We chose a Pizzeria about four blocks away, an easy walk. Don't remember the exact name (started with an "S"), but it was a very large full Italian restaurant. Excellent food, atmosphere, reasonable prices, with a lot more on the menu than just pizza. A real surprise - one of the best meals we had in Italy.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasZuggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Getting there isn’t half the fun.

We needed a hotel at the Malpensa Airport for a morning flight the next day. After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, the Holiday Inn Express seemed to be the least detrimental alternative. The 15 Euro fee for Internet access seemed to be the only drawback, but none of the hotels at the airport seemed to offer free Internet. The free shuttle service and the included breakfast buffet were pluses, as well as the assurance that the rooms were sound-proofed, which could be critical for an airport hotel. We made a reservation about three months in advance for a non-smoking room with a king size bed, and received confirmation of that request.

Since a number of people seemed to have had problems with the shuttle service, we wanted to make sure that we had the correct information to find it. A day or two before our arrival we began actively trying to get current information. The web site was not helpful. The re-confirmation of our reservation that the hotel had just sent us came from an email address that did not receive incoming mail. I found another email address on some previous correspondence we had had with them before we made the reservation and tried that email address. The message was returned with the information that we did not have the proper email server to write to that address. We had not had any problem sending emails to any other address while we were in Italy, so I have to think the problem was on their end, not ours. Yahoo isn’t a good enough email server to write to this hotel? I checked our online reservation confirmation to see if there was any other contact information. Now the online information about our reservation was for a SMOKING room with a queen size bed and an additional rollaway bed. We didn’t care about the beds, but we did not want to be in a room where all the previous occupants were smokers!

I found a phone number for the hotel itself, not just the corporate offices, and I actually reached a real person. The information I was able to get was that the shuttle runs every half hour, from approximately 5:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m. (I may not have those hours exactly right, but if I have erred, it is on the generous side.) Really? Is that when most of their guests arrive? And would they really let you check in if you got there at, say, 7:30 a.m.? She said to call from the airport for pick up at other times. I asked if there was a courtesy phone in the airport from which to call. She said yes. I asked where it was, and she said, “In the basement.” The basement? I thought perhaps the problem was with communication; certainly, she and everyone else spoke English far better than I will ever speak Italian, and I do appreciate everyone’s willingness to speak English for our benefit. I was expecting to find the courtesy phones on a lower level in the airport.

We took a train to the Malpensa Airport, which is poorly organized and poorly signed. Finding anyone to ask for information is difficult. The only people to ask anything of seemed to be the car rental agents, and they didn’t know anything about shuttles or courtesy phones. Again, maybe “courtesy phone” is a U.S. term, and maybe the woman at the hotel and I were talking about two different things, but we never saw anything that looked like a courtesy phone for anyplace. Our cell phone did not work in Italy, so we couldn’t call the hotel from the airport. No one at the airport offered to make a call for us. One Trip Advisor review mentioned a particular parking space for the shuttle. Someone told us where that supposedly was, but we never found it. The reviews on Trip Advisor had made the Sheraton at Malpensa sound kind of weird, but it looked very tempting every time we walked by the entrance to it at the airport.

We had read that the airport itself had a shuttle service that would leave us off 200 meters from the hotel. We eventually found our way to that. I was expecting there to be a “bus stop” of sorts, and that we would have some sense of where the hotels were when we got off. But the end of the line seemed rather arbitrary, and it really felt like we were in the middle of nowhere when we got off. The driver gestured with his arm which way the hotel was. Fortunately, my husband spotted the hotel relatively quickly. I don’t think I would have. We trudged over there, although it didn’t feel like we were on any planned, regularly used pathway.

So we were not in the best of moods when we rolled in there. But the gentleman at the desk was very pleasant. He looked surprised when we said, “This is a non-smoking room, right?” Without hesitation he said he could give us a non-smoking room. (It was with the queen size bed and rollaway, not the king, but again, that was not a big deal to us.) We had read someplace that they offered an option of using the Internet in public areas for 5 Euros/hour, and we asked if that option was available, rather than paying the 15 Euros. He said that because we were Priority Club members, the Internet was free. Well, that brightened us up!

The room itself was very nice. Everything was comfortable, everything was clean, it was well stocked with pillows and towels and such, the Internet worked fine, the shower was probably the biggest one we had in Italy. Really, we were perfectly content. We never left the room.

The next morning we were surprised to see how very many people there were at breakfast, because we had not heard a sound from outside while we were in our room. Not everything at the breakfast buffet was of gourmet quality, but there was certainly enough choice that no one should have to leave there unsatisfied.

There were at least twice as many people waiting for the shuttle to the airport as there were seats on the bus. The driver promised that there would be another bus coming in five minutes. We don’t know whether that happened or not, because we managed to get on that bus. The shuttle dropped us off at the numbered parking space we weren’t able to find the day before. But if there was a courtesy phone there that we could have used if we had found it, we didn’t see it even then.

It’s hard to choose an overall rating for this experience. If it were just the time in the hotel itself, I would say “Very good.” But the experience of getting there can’t be overlooked. And if we had to do it again, I think we would take our chances on the Sheraton at the airport. It’s right there! All the walking down long corridors that people have complained about in their reviews couldn’t possibly equal all the walking we did trying to get to the Holiday Inn Express. If you still want to try this hotel and will need the shuttle, make sure you have a cell phone that works in Italy with you.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaThorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valebilla, Proprietario at Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking time to share your comment with us.
We read it with interest and is always helpful in order to improve us.
We are sorry for the discomfort you suffered during your route from Malpensa Airport to our Hotel.
We try to do all we can in order to give to our customers all the necessary info useful to reach the hotel. On our web site http://www.hiex-malpensahotel.com/ it is possibile to find all this informations. Here there are email contacts, telephone number and bus-shuttle info.
We do not know where did you search info about our hotel on the web, but we guarantee here there is all a costumer needs.
About the lack of informations in the airport, we inform you that we would really like to be allowed to hang singposts in the airport in order to facilitate our guests to find our shuttle bus, but unfortunatly the airport handler does not authorize any hotel to hang singposts.
The airport does also not offer any courtesy phone, therefore we only can suggest our guests to call us with their phones or using public phones in the airport.
About our bus-shuttle free service, we guarantee an on-going service from 5.30 am to 10.30 am in the morning and from 20.00 p.m. to 23.30 p.m. in the evening, considering these are the times of maximum tournout during the day. If guests are coming in other hours, the service is always available but it is on request. Please consider that in Europe it is hard to find other cities where shuttle-bus service is free.
We are happy to read that your room was nice and cosy. This is very important for us and we do all the best in order to let our guests experience the best hotel overnight stay.
We hope to host you once again in the future in order to improve your experience.
Our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

New modern and functional. It is near the airport , but the windows were sound proof. It provides a free shuttle & a very good breakfast. It is possible to have a triple or a quad room if requested, or even connecting doors. The multilingual staff was very helpful, they provided refrigeration for our food, and directions to a nearby Pizzeria. We paid about 71 euro per triple. Unfortunately the free hotspot is only at the lobby.

Room Tip: It is an advantage that here,unlike many other economic hotel, you can book diffrent kinds of rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
87 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Perfect location if you must stay close to the airport. Clean room & very rich breakfast. The shuttle bus service very handy.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgios123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somma Lombardo
1.3 km away
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
#2 of 10 in Somma Lombardo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
1.5 km away
Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre
0.6 km away
First Hotel Malpensa
First Hotel Malpensa
#1 of 10 in Somma Lombardo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport
0.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport
5.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa
Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa
#3 of 10 in Somma Lombardo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport
Address: Via Francesco de Pinedo | Case Nuove, 21019 Somma Lombardo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Somma Lombardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,476 - ₹ 4,880
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport, the closest hotel to the Terminals.Located only 500m from the Milan Malpensa International Airport, the hotel represents the ideal place to either meet for work or relax after a long journey.Take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service to/from Terminal 1 of the airport available on a scheduled basis, and to/from Terminal 2 on request. Alternatively the airport offers a 24h free shuttle between Terminal 1 and Terminal 2 with a bus stop just 200m from the hotel.The brand new Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport combines contemporary style, comfort and convenience thus representing the smartest choice for travellers attentive to value for money. Start your day on a good note with a reinvigorating power shower experience and a complimentary extensive buffet breakfast.Modern technology and fresh look are the strengths of the brand new Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport hotel which offers 124 comfortable bedrooms all equipped with soundproof windows, WiFi internet connection and wooden floor. Ample public areas designed with lively colours and refined materials are available to our guests who will be able to surf the internet by using the dedicated internet points or by simply connecting to the wireless net.Complete the offer free parking facilities and a meeting room able to host up to 40 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport Hotel Somma Lombardo
Holiday Inn Express Somma Lombardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing