We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Il Borgo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Borgo
Reviewed 13 October 2017

We had an excellent room, junior suite.
Dinner and service were impeccable, delicious pasta! Magnificent views over the gorge, rich breakfast.
The restaurant is an old barn, I think, huge and airy, you could forget about the heat here. The gorge brings cool air in the morning and at night.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creamy7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Lovely location and good, well maintained facility. Food is fresh, personnel nice and friendly. Unfortunately it is lacking at infrastructures like wifi, which is not working at all in the rooms, at least those we heard of from other guests and for sure not in the suite we lodged in. TV reception was also sub-standard. Most of the channels were not properly visible as reception was massively disturbed. Too bad that being our room located above the restaurant area, the smell of fried oil flew in copiously. The bathroom was clean but the shower was not in good shape, the tiles fugues were mouldy. The shower head was almost falling down.

It is a nice place, but it is not a 4 star standard and rating it as luxury is rather overestimation. It is a good 3 star resort.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marcello H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Although the hotel was a little difficult to find, I understand that the address has now been changed to simplify things. Il Borgois absolutely beautiful, in a quiet, secluded area with a magnificent view. Great pool, with very few people using it. Dinner in the restaurant is also worth a try.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the old farmhouse, as it is far more charming than the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Montrealer555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

stayed one night with my fiancé, the receptionist was a bit grumpy at check in but no big deal, we had also dinner at their restaurant which was disappointment although we both got some infection next morning had the same problems at the toilet. However overall it is a nice place, quiet good to relax but not to stay more then a night my personal opinion.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

A great place to stay near the gorge. The food was amazing and the staff friendly. I would recommend dinner and also breakfast - there was a lot of care and attention which went into the specialities cooked up every evening. The pool was lovely although it could do with cleaning more often in my view. I could see bits floating around when I put my goggles on. It seems to be an old mill and has a lot of character. The air conditioning wasn't working in our room which made for a difficult sleep. Parking was good. Easy journey to all the local sights and Taormina without the hassle of staying in the town. Why are there so many empty and run down buildings in Sicily - did everyone move out when the volcano exploded?

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Caustonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglione di Sicilia
8.1 km away
Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa
Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & S...
#1 of 4 in Castiglione di Sicilia
927 reviews
6.4 km away
Hotel Federico II
Hotel Federico II
#2 of 4 in Castiglione di Sicilia
123 reviews
1.2 km away
Casale Romano
Casale Romano
#2 of 2 in Motta Camastra
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Il Tanaceto
Il Tanaceto
#3 of 7 in Castiglione di Sicilia
48 reviews
6.4 km away
Cento Tari Guest House
Cento Tari Guest House
#1 of 7 in Castiglione di Sicilia
34 reviews
6.5 km away
Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina
Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina
#3 of 4 in Castiglione di Sicilia
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Borgo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Borgo

Address: Strada Provinciale 81, 39, 95012, Castiglione di Sicilia, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Castiglione di Sicilia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Castiglione di Sicilia
Price Range: ₹ 3,202 - ₹ 11,046 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Borgo 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splendid luxury country resort, Il Borgo is only 20 kilometers away from Taormina, in the beautiful landscape of the Terralcantara farmstead, surrounded by over one hundred hectares of olive trees, vineyards and citrus groves that gently descend towards the sea. This is truly a spectacular view for the eyes and hearts of every traveler. Located in an ideal area to visit the Parco delle Gole dell'Alcantara and to go for walks along its trails, the country resort Il Borgo gives you the chance of enjoying a vacation in complete contact with nature and its products, staying in comfortable suites inside a completely renovated age-old farmhouse with a pool and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Il Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Borgo Sicily/Castiglione Di Sicilia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing