We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Review of Il Borgo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Borgo
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Although the hotel was a little difficult to find, I understand that the address has now been changed to simplify things. Il Borgois absolutely beautiful, in a quiet, secluded area with a magnificent view. Great pool, with very few people using it. Dinner in the restaurant is also worth a try.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the old farmhouse, as it is far more charming than the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Montrealer555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

3 - 7 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2017

stayed one night with my fiancé, the receptionist was a bit grumpy at check in but no big deal, we had also dinner at their restaurant which was disappointment although we both got some infection next morning had the same problems at the toilet. However overall it is a nice place, quiet good to relax but not to stay more then a night my personal opinion.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

A great place to stay near the gorge. The food was amazing and the staff friendly. I would recommend dinner and also breakfast - there was a lot of care and attention which went into the specialities cooked up every evening. The pool was lovely although it could do with cleaning more often in my view. I could see bits floating around when I put my goggles on. It seems to be an old mill and has a lot of character. The air conditioning wasn't working in our room which made for a difficult sleep. Parking was good. Easy journey to all the local sights and Taormina without the hassle of staying in the town. Why are there so many empty and run down buildings in Sicily - did everyone move out when the volcano exploded?

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Caustonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Very pleasant stay. Great food at reasonable prices, good solid breakfast. Pool area is very clean and the staff is very friendly.

Rooms are fine, beds are a bit hard though. Excellent views of the area if you get a room with a balcony. Many good restaurants nearby as well. Try Paradise for one.

Be sure to visit Gole Alcantara which is very close by. Bring shoes for walking in the water. If you have a car, its easy to get to the beach as well.

Overall a great resort for relaxing and trying some great local food. (menu changes every day - when we stayed it was only open in the evening though (and for breakfast))

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lars J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We spent one night here during our criss-cross trip through Sicily.
It is a quite place in middle of nothing, the right place for us. The stuff was friendly, the food very nice. There is nothing we could claim.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naird E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglione di Sicilia
3.1 km away
Alcantara Resort
Alcantara Resort
#1 of 1 in Gaggi
237 reviews
6.4 km away
Hotel Federico II
Hotel Federico II
#1 of 4 in Castiglione di Sicilia
123 reviews
1.2 km away
Casale Romano
Casale Romano
#1 of 2 in Motta Camastra
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa
Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & S...
#2 of 4 in Castiglione di Sicilia
939 reviews
94.3 km away
Farm Il Casale delle Rose
Farm Il Casale delle Rose
#3 of 16 in Caltagirone
158 reviews
14.6 km away
Etna Wine Agriturismo
Etna Wine Agriturismo
#4 of 12 in Castiglione di Sicilia
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Borgo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Borgo

Address: Strada Provinciale 81, 39, 95012, Castiglione di Sicilia, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Castiglione di Sicilia
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Castiglione di Sicilia
Price Range: ₹ 3,046 - ₹ 8,977 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Borgo 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splendid luxury country resort, Il Borgo is only 20 kilometers away from Taormina, in the beautiful landscape of the Terralcantara farmstead, surrounded by over one hundred hectares of olive trees, vineyards and citrus groves that gently descend towards the sea. This is truly a spectacular view for the eyes and hearts of every traveler. Located in an ideal area to visit the Parco delle Gole dell'Alcantara and to go for walks along its trails, the country resort Il Borgo gives you the chance of enjoying a vacation in complete contact with nature and its products, staying in comfortable suites inside a completely renovated age-old farmhouse with a pool and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Il Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Borgo Sicily/Castiglione Di Sicilia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing