We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
85
28
9
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
28
9
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

We went to the Saiananda Lodge for a friends birthday. This place was so beautiful and had an amazing assortment of beautiful plants. It had the most beautiful birds, peacocks, pigeon doves, macaws, and so many others I have never seen before. This place served the most delicious lunch. The owner was a very nice man who explained everything and showed us around. He answered our questions. This is somewhere everyone should visit if they have an opportunity.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Msherrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016

Saiananda is a lovely hotel in a spiritual and quiet location at the border of the bay 1 km from the main bus station (or a couple of minutes by car) outside of Bahia de Caráquez. The hotel offers a very beautiful view over the bay which enables you to observe nature at close distance. The owner is very kind and caring and good at organizing day trips. Lovely food (vegetarian only); no alcohol.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dooronline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016

It's a nice quiet place surrounded with nature, you can go with your family, alone or in couples. it's on the bay.
you can go in a boat ride to the heart island, across it. Cabins are above the water
The most delicious vegetarian meals ever...

Room Tip: Best ones on the bay side
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Deanie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2016 via mobile

My stay here felt like I was staying with family. Very warm welcome, great views of the water and great food! We had a nice sweet during our stay as well. Also, there's lots of nice dogs and a sloth! Everything is beautiful, the ambiance is amazing. Definitely would recommend. Alfredo is a great host!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Kai W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2016

Saiananda is a unique place operated by a unique owner. We rented one of the suites overlooking the water. The suites are sitting on concrete piles and you are actually over the water. The glass panel in the floor with a view of the water is a nice touch.

The food is wholly vegetarian. I'm not - or wasn't - a fan of vegetarian food, but this is so good you can't tell it's vegetarian. The ceviche is incredible and you won't know it's not actually fish. There's no liquor, but we didn't miss that either with the variety of freshly-squeezed juices from local plants. Alfredo and his people have put a lot of effort into the food over the years and it shows.

If you rent a suite, be aware that only one suite is air-conditioned. If you want air conditioning, make sure you request it. However, there is sufficient breeze and a ceiling fan so it's not strictly necessary.

Saiananda is beautiful and relaxing. There's a dock for swimming and several areas for privacy and meditation or reading. The setting is very natural. But what really makes Saiananda special, aside from all the amenities, is the owner, Alfredo. He went out of his way the entire time to make sure we were comfortable and taken care of. He is very interesting and we spent hours just talking. By the time we left we felt as though we had been friends for a long time. On our next trip to Ecuador, we will not miss a return visit.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hal E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews