We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hacienda Tres Rios(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ocean Maya Royale(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Banyan Tree Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,103)
Filter reviews
4,103 results
Traveller rating
1,926
1,272
451
254
200
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,926
1,272
451
254
200
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshavana moontime shareplaya del carmentimeshare presentationbeautiful resortblue fishgreen breakrented a cargrand blissplunge poolsales pitchbedroom suiterci exchangeshuttle servicetimeshare ownersjade boutiquewine bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 4,103 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We’ve stayed at the Grand Mayan for many years and have referred many people to stay there. However, they simply do not have enough chairs and umbrellas at their pools. We started arriving at 7:30 in the morning to get chairs, and often we would get the last two because they permit the towel game to go on. There are beautiful bali beds nearby, but the biting bugs got to be too much.

That said, it is a beautiful resort. The Joy Squad continues to be excellent. RIcardo who teaches stretching on most days is truly excellent. I first met him the beginning of December at the beginning of our stay at the Grand Mayan, and he was very good then, but I can see how his studies in yoga have truly made a difference. He developed a small fan club of regulars of his yoga classes during our stay at the Grand Mayan.

I also did aqua aerobics daily and my favorite instructors were Ricardo, Angel and Oscar.

The pool waiters at the Grand Mayan pool were excellent as always…loved seeing Raul and Dario again. Fidel works at the towel stand was also wonderful….He has a most amazing smile, and he kindly helped me when I tried to speak Spanish to him.
They do clean the Grand Mayan Pool daily and Johnathan works hard to make sure that it is clean.

We used to eat at Blue Fish all of the time, but only ate there one when we were at the Grand Mayan in December. We tried it again ordering our favorite seafood cubano torta. One time is was as delicious as it used to be several years ago, but the next time, there wasn’t as much food in the sandwich, and the third time, there was hardly any seafood in it….310 pesos for french bread and a couple slivers of octopus and chorizo. We would not order it again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank KCLBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vidanta V, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear KCLBoston :

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your recent stay at The Grand Mayan. We are delighted to learn that our staff was welcoming, as this is what we strive for every day. We will gladly share your feedback with the staff mentioned, as working to anticipate and exceed your every need is very important to us.

However, we are sorry to learn about the inconveniences experienced during your visit since we are always looking to surpass our clients’ expectations of genuine hospitality by providing outstanding locations and service excellence.

Your feedback will be taken into consideration as our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much-deserved vacation.

With all good wishes,


The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed recently at the Grand Mayan(Jungle). A Vidanta Resort. Although I can't rate it any lower than a 4 star I can't say this would be one of my favourite resorts. The property is massive which has its pros and cons. It was clean and grounds very well maintained. Although we don't mind walking,we did find the good 20 min walk from our room to the pools/restaurants,a challenge. Lovely in the evening but you had to plan most of your day before leaving your room. Don't forget anything cause theres no slipping back quickly even with the shuttles provided. The pools were plenty but you still weren't likely to get a spot next to the pool. My husband went out one morning at 7:30am and most of the seats were already saved. What was disappointing was many times those spots were saved with towels and then no one used them til later in the day if at all. It appeared sometimes towels were left on loungers at the pool when people left and there was no effort by staff to monitor this
The beach is nice but you need water shoes to go in the water. Not good for snorkelling either.
Your choices for view from your room was the golf course or the jungle. Being from the prairies we like to see water, ocean, lagoon, pools, anything. The room was clean and maids very friendly and pleasant but the air conditioning definitely gives the room that awful musty mouldy smell
Like fools we went for the sales pitch. It was the usual annoying high pressure uncomfortable experience. We were first approached by Kelly in the lobby who made lots of promises of "looking after us" but when we saw him a few days later he didn't even remember us. Got 10% off anything purchased on the resort which was somewhat helpful as we found the restaurants pricey. It was cheaper to take a taxi into Playa del Carmen and eat supper there. We had a tiny bar fridge in our room so picked up some breakfast stuff and beer and wine in Playa.
So not the worst resort but not likely to return.

Stayed: April 2018
1  Thank Bev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful resort, however it is very large and requires shuttling to reach amenities. Gorgeous grounds and the staff are wonderful, make you feel like royalty. We stayed at the Grand Mayan, luckily it was walking distance to main pools, restaurants and shopping. There are about 5 resorts in one and still building more. Playa del Carmen is no longer a small town, it’s too busy for me. Puerto Morelos is nice and quiet fishing village, authentic small Mexican town, recommend visiting for good food and shopping and beaches.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank RNC2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our family of 5 used a timeshare trade to stay at the Grand Mayan during Easter Week. Following other reviewer's advice, we stayed at a lower numbered building, number 5. Buildings 1-6 are easier walking to activities and the beach. Higher number buildings 7-13 pretty much require using the trams, which seemed to be quite efficient anyway - when we did need a tram, we never waited more than 10 minutes. Recommend stay on 2nd or 3rd floor as bottom floor rooms seems "musty".
Grand Mayan grounds are beautiful and well maintained, as are the many pools and other facilities. The BEST part of our stay were the myriad scheduled activities for all ages. Lots of things to do for kids, teenagers, and adults. Our teenage girls loved the pool and beach activities and dances! All pools had safe areas for smaller children to wade. And the Grand Mayan had beautiful flamingos on site!
We were also VERY impressed with ALL the staff! EVERYONE was exceedingly attentive, efficient, and polite! We were always greeted with a smile and a sincere offer to assist at whatever we desired. The atmosphere created by the staff made us feel very special. We also felt VERY safe.
We enjoyed the seafood at the Blue Fish restaurant, where they had live music on Friday night. Breakfast buffet at the Del Lago was excellent and overlooked the lake. Poolside drinks and snack service was also very good. Happy hour 2-for-1 was daily 11:00-2:00.
We had a rental car for our stay, and ventured off site three times to shop, attend a wonderful Good Friday services in the beautiful beach town of Puerto Morelos, and visit Tulum (yes, other reviewers are so spot on – you must arrive early, 8:00-8:30, to avoid the tour bus hordes!)
As timeshare owners at other locations, we did not partake in any sales presentations, despite and offer of 10% off on-site purchases and other freebies. We wanted all our time to be spent enjoying the vacation.

Room Tip: Buildings 1-6 (of 13) are easier walking to activities and the beach. Stay on upper floors, rooms on lower floors seemed "musty".
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank stan0832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

everyone was freindly and welcoming....watch out for the side shows by the staff..also you will be caught off guard by a second check in desk that will sign you up for discounts and then try to sale you a very expensive timeshare in exchange for your timeshare to be traded in.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank Joshua C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews