We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
kent UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Returned for our 2nd stay (also 2 at Lindo) for 14 nights at this wonderful hotel and I'm pleased to say had a lovely time.
ROOMS
Asked for a high floor room over looking pool, this is what we got in block 61, room large, clean and comfortable, air con easy to control, fridge always stocked with variety of soft drinks and beer, clean towels twice a day, with chocolates and towel art waiting for us.
SERVICE
This is what I feel makes this hotel stand out, from the polite efficiency of the block concierge, who books our restaurant bookings had our DVD mended within an hour, to the waiters who are always polite and the excellent bar staff that never let your glass get empty.
FOOD/DRINK
Always important and especially when on a 14 night stay. All I can say is really good, the breakfast in the mediterranean rest. is really pleasant way to start the day, lunch at the pool buffet is fine, I did miss the fresh kebab style meat from previous years, this appears to have been replaced by more choices for the south American visitors, but the two days of fresh sushi helped.
The bar staff at the Maya bar are the best and Joseph remembered us and made us feel special.
We take full advantage of the al a carte dining, This makes my holiday, steak, gourmet and Cajun my favourites.

There a a few things that could be better, one in the plastic sun lounges and flat mattress could be updated and I was disappointed my the shows we only watch about 4/5 during our stay but there are more audience participation ones rather than shows. Didn't have boogie nights for the fortnight which was disappointing.

Now just an extra comment, we had planned to treat ourselves to upgrade for the last 4 nights to the grand and were offered a good price but after having a tour round we decided against it. It's a nice hotel has a completely different feel to the rest of the resort. The rooms are a lot smaller and there is only one bar for the evening and 4 al a carte, all the corridors are indoors and although I'm sure it is a very pleasant hotel that offers excellent service and relaxation, it isn't what we look for in a 2 weeks sun holiday, but I understand for those that live nearer it would have a good 4/5 night break.

We have said that we will try somewhere new next year but this is because we have been for 4 years but I would always recommend this hotel and I'm sure we will return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelleb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico. at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our sincere tgratitude for your kind review. It is nice to hear that our rooms, food and staff made your vacation so memorable for your second visit.

It would be our greatest pleasure to welcome you again and help in creating new memories.

With Warm Regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,648
    1,343
    466
    173
    109
See reviews for
2,727
1,021
42
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (913)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

My wife and I visited the Paraiso Maya for a week in early Feb. We are well travelled internationally but this was our first experience with an all-inclusive resort. Overall, we had a great time.

Value
While more expensive than the Lindo, Del Mar and Paraiso Beach, we felt it was the worth the extra cash because of private pools offered to guests of the Paraiso Maya. Nearly every time we visited the pool we were the only ones there. It was like having your own private pool.

Food - The food was good not spectacular. It depended on when, where and what you are eating. The restaurants strive to please an international crowd as well as all-ages. We appreciated the diversity of the specialty restaurants. Here is how we ranked the restaurants we ate for dinner.

1. Steakhouse – Very good appetizer selection. Enjoyed the several meat options. Found this restaurant was the most popular for large groups which made the restaurant livelier.
2. Seafood- Best appetizer buffet selection of all the restaurants. Plenty of seafood choices. You won’t leave this restaurant without getting your fill of crab, lobster, shrimp, etc. My wife had the lobster and steak dish was very tasty. The scallop entrée was okay but not memorable.
3. Mexican- Appetizer selections was very good. Food was tasty but not spicy for what type of Mexican dish we ordered.
4. Japanese – Hibachi is entertaining but chef was not as skilled as his counterparts at an American Benihanas. Meat and vegetables were very fresh.
5. French – Great asparagus soup, but overcooked fish and lobster entrees. Was by far a distant fifth.

As for lunch we often snacked on guacamole and pico de gallo on the beach. We visited the El Fogan, the buffet restaurant in the Lindo resort, a couple of times. It has a great location. Close to the beach and the main pool. It had a good selection. We really enjoyed the cold fruit soup.

We wished we had more of our lunches at the taco shop located in the shopping center. It is a bit of a walk from the beach and the pools but really worth it. The tacos are made to order and the best opportunity to get spicy food at the resort.

Reservations-Previous folks have commented on the reservations. It was bit usual to make reservations for the whole week, but we would recommend it as not all restaurants are open every night. We were very flexible in our eating schedule so having a late or early reservation was not a problem for us.

Drinks- I agree with many previous commenters regarding the drinks. They tended to be a little weak, particularly on the beach. That being said, it is probably for the best that you stay hydrated when out in the sun. The Maya has an impressive lobby bar. Suggestion: Stop at the bar before you go to your dinner at one of the a la carte restaurants.

Location
The resort is spread out but the beach is substantial and the five Iberostar resorts starch a good distance down the beach. We enjoyed walking through the resort and every felt the need to ride the golf carts.

Sleep Quality
The beds are hard by American tastes but we slept on worse in other parts of the world.

Rooms
Spacious rooms with plenty of storage. The décor is nice. The balcony has a nice hammock.

Cleanliness
The resort is immaculate. Iberostar has a large team constantly manicuring the grounds. The week we were there the weather was windy and the seas was rough. The ground crew fought the never-ending battle in removing seaweed washed up on the beach. I credit them for doing a great job cleaning the beach.

Service
Service was amazing. The staff goes to great lengths to make your stay enjoyable. They effortlessly switch between multiple languages depending on where you are from.

I never felt the expectation that I have tip waiters, bartenders, or other staff. I did though when I felt the staff was particularly attentive.

Room Tip: We stayed in Building 61. Close to the beach and the private pools. Highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobeTrekker186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico. at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Guest,

I am very happy to note that you enjoyed your stay at Iberostar Paraiso Maya Please be assured that I have shared your feedback with the rest of the team who were very proud to hear your compliments. Furthermore, we all took your suggestions as a learning tool and will keep working to improve our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back again the future. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance when you plan your next stay.

Warmest regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boca raton, fl
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Loved the beach--it's so wide with tons of chairs, soft white sand and clear water. So many activities right behind the hotel: catamaran, snorkeling, jetskiing, banana boat and a volleyball court. Ladies who braid kids' hair and massages are offered as well. There's a burger shack on the beach with decent, freshly grilled burgers, guacamole. The bar's right there too.
Swam in the gigantic, warm pool where you hear fun music all day. Lots of star friends activity. My daughter had fun in the wave pool. The shopping area is across the street from the Maya and has many cute souvenir-type shops and a good taco stand and ice cream shop, along with a small carousel. This was a nice place to go after dinner. Distance to 5th Ave in Playa is about 10 min drive and an easy cab ride.
The not so good:
The food was as awful as everyone says. I couldn't imagine a buffet where nothing was appealing, but that was the case. Food looked undercooked or was sitting in grease. Restaurants were awful.
Beds are super hard.
The pool area was jam packed with chairs, people, puddles everywhere. Like being at a Disney water park.
The lazy river doesn't move. The wave pool will entertain young kids for about 20 minutes.
You only get one towel with your towel card, and that's by the pool...a hike from the beach.
The rooms are dark with views of a jungle of mangled trees, so close you could almost touch them. The bathrooms are outdated.

We didn't mind most of the negatives, and the beach really was super. The inedible food and rock-hard, firm beds are a deal breaker--would definitely keep us from coming back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank z2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico. at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Guest:

Fist of all I would like to thank you so much for writing such a nice review about your stay at the Iberostar Anthelia, I am sure that it will help future guests to make their decision easier.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed a pleasant holiday among us and enjoy the hotel surroundings, the beach and the different activities we propose.

Furthermore, we are really concerned about your disapointting experience in our restaurants and would like to let you know that we will review our standards with our culinary team for further improvement on this matter.

We consider the satisfaction of our clients our primary goal; your opinion is essential to the continuous improvement and maintenance of the quality of our service.

We trust that you will allow us another opportunity to show you our improvement on your next stay with us.

Best Regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, VA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed here in February as part of a family of 5 celebrating a 50th anniversary. The bottom line is that if you want a vacation that is stress-free in every way especially if you have kids, this is the one. We agonized for weeks about this vs. other properties and have no regrets. Yes, there is a lot of walking, and yes, ocean view rooms do not exist, but with all the amenities and activities within the AI package, you won't care about the views and you'll need the walking to burn off the buffet food. The food is above average and you have to choose carefully to avoid eating the same chicken 10 different ways - the fruit is great, though. Here's a list of my pros and cons:
Pros:
- Lots of food places and everywhere you'd need them (pool, beach, lobby, etc.)
- Lots of clean, convenient bathrooms (if you have kids, you know how important that is)
- Awesome beach (activities for all, very clean, plenty of chairs/umbrellas, AI bar service, food, showers that aren't freezing cold)
- Fantastic staff that's always polite and accommodating even to disrespectful guests
- Beautiful rooms, buildings, and grounds...immaculate and well designed
- Plenty of towels
- Extremely family friendly (including polite guests)
- Very accommodating with special occasions (they did a rose petal bubble bath and bed display)
- Plenty of safe drinkingwater (in room, at beach, at pool)
- Very interesting pools that make you forget the beach (great for days with big waves)
- Awesome spa with many services included (sauna, hot tub, etc.)

Cons:
- Mosquitoes in the evening (not the hotel's fault, though)
- No ocean views (but the beach is beautiful and essentially private)
- Lots of walking (but you can arrange for golf cart rides to distant buildings)
- Too easy to get lost (they could use better signage and maps)
- A few maintenance issues but nothing to spoil a vacation

Tips:
- Don't feel pressured into making dinner reservations for each night because the buffet at the walk-in restaurant is fine and offers more selection (we liked the Italian place the most)
- The breakfast at the lobby restaurant is best and open only to Maya guests
- Get fresh towels the night before and send someone around 7am to the beach to reserve the prime chairs with those towels
- Budget some time in your schedule for the spa and shopping (it's far)
- Tip the bar tenders and then ask for stronger drinks with better liquor if you want it
- Use bug spray if you're going to be out at sunset/sunrise
- The hotel shuttle to Playa Del Carmen is $5 one-way per person and well worth it
- Plan to spend some time the first day memorizing the property map and walking around
- There are limited food options between 4:30 and 6:00pm so plan accordingly.

- Lastly, there is a Starbucks in town if you need a fix!

Room Tip: Ask for a building number close to what you want the most (pool vs. lobby vs. beach). Rooms near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Achilles07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Iberostar Paraiso Maya. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we played a part for this special anniversary.

Furthermore, it is an honor that you had a nice time with employees, we will especially compliment them for all their effort. Our team is constantly working to provide the best possible experience to our guests.

Please be assured that we have taken note of all your comments and thank you for your tips. I can assure you that we will keep working and do our best to improve your next stay with us.

We hope you will consider us when planning your next vacation.

Please feel free to contact us for any assistance you may need.

Yours sincerely,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We were at the Iberstar Paraiso Maya from January 28 to February 4. My husband, our daughter, her husband , their three boys and I had a very good time. There is something for everyone to do. I chose to sit by the pool and the rest of the family took advantage of offsite trips (caves, snorkeling, Tullum). I agree with Trish 88 from Edmonton that some people complain just to complain. The food was very good and there was such a variety. If you go to the Steak restaurant ask to be seated in Francisco's area. You will have service second to none. The staff at the other facilities took care of us like we were family. My only negative (and maybe it isn't so negative) comment is that I wish they had benches along the paths. It would be nice to sit and people watch or read somewhere else than the beach or pool. Would definetely return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tripors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico. at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to hear that your experience lived up to your expectation. We appreciate that you took the time not only to write but also to recommend our property.

One of the best satisfaction is to read that the most notable asset we have is the kindness and attention of our staff as this means that we have meet the most important principle of Iberostar.

It would be such a pleasure to welcome you back to your home: Iberostar Paraiso Maya!

Warm Regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.1 km away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,816 reviews
0.3 km away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,552 reviews
10.6 km away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.3 km away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#23 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20,697 reviews
11.3 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,926 reviews
15.6 km away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Property: Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,947 - ₹ 39,817
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach of Playa Paraiso (Mexico). All junior suites with Jacuzzi, DVD player, upgraded amenities. Exclusive dining plus dine around privileges at over 16 restaurants, 17 full service bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Riviera Maya
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Maya
Iberostar Grand Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing