We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,042)
Filter reviews
7,042 results
Traveller rating
3,095
2,715
787
267
178
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,095
2,715
787
267
178
Show reviews that mention
All reviews privilege room main bar animation team privileged section privileged guests rodeo steak house la romana concierge office beautiful beach dominican republic yuca italian restaurant english speakers santo domingo language barrier other resorts honeymoon suite
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 7,042 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2018

This all inclusive resort of the Catalonia group is very popular and crowded during high season and summer and weekends and full of kids so don’t plan on tranquility but its large grounds and multiple restaurants/bars and large beach give lots of places to go. Room was old but adequate and you can pay for upgrades. The ‘animations’ are groups of roving entertainers, many quite good, who also put on shows at the theater in the evenings and even parade thru the restaurant for photo ops. 3 large pools, but at peak times the kids may make it hard to find a place for a decent swim, but there is always the beach just 30 meters away. Adjacent to the five star Iberostar and its smaller twin the Catalonia Royal, which is really a small part of the property divided off by security guards so that those who want VIP treatment can pay about double for it. Xlnt buffet meals in the main restaurant with custom cooked dishes for those willing to stand in line. I’d rate the beach at 3 stars as its nice but not world class (like those at punta cana) and when I was there in June there were constant small waves so the water was always full of sand. There are some rocks under water on the right side of the beach(near the pier from which trips leave) which could be a hazard at certain times of day and there are signs warning you that they have sea urchins on them, which I think is due to the small artificial reef they created next to the pier, which attracts fish, coral and urchins(but other signs forbid swimming there). Presumably they could remove the rocks as there are not that many nor are they very big. In any case everyone seems to see the signs so that mostly they only swim in the middle or the left of the beach. On site medical help during day hours. As with other inclusives they will charge for a daypass ($50) for locals or your visitors, which is good until 6pm, or they can pay $100 to stay all day. Small store on site with a few edibles, sunglasses, souvenirs, aspirins etc., but across the street there is a small market with more foods, drugs and clothing. Gym is really minimal for such a big place with a few poor machines and a monitor who has no chair so she sits on the equipment playing with her phone and you have to ask her to move. Also you want to avoid it at ca. 2pm when the cleaning guy arrives as he wets down the whole floor, including the treadmills and then brushes the water around, so not really cleaning anything. Overall it was a nice 3 or 3.5 star (but perhaps 4 if you upgrade or 5 if you choose the Royal) but I would pick another place next time such as the Iberostar or Wyndham nearby, but probably I will instead fly into Puerto Plata or Punta Cana instead of Romana or Santo Domingo.

Room Tip: good but you can upgrade if you wish
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Usasenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, General Manager at Catalonia Gran Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear Usasenior,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you and for your review. We are glad to know that overall, you had a good time, and that we could exceed your expectations with most of our services. Please receive our apologies for the situations you went through. We have shared your remarks with our team at the involved departments, and we will reinforce those aspects on our next training sessions. Thank you for helping us to make it better, we hope to welcome you back to enjoy a totally wonderful time.

Best regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

Just came back from there. The only downside on this resort is the garden rooms quality, BUT if you have come here to stay in the room ..... we came here for the beach. the resort grounds and food was great. staff always willing to help. My son, 6 y old, made a comment how all employees are so nice to him. The beach, water quality is 6 stars. this was our first time enjoying so clean beach, the best part, its all natural, they did not have to clean or maintain it. sand was so soft that we could even find seashells. Food was great, we had 3 dinner in the "specialty" restaurants, but in my opinion we just wasted our time (long wait). Entertainment, serenity, peaceful, secure, laid back. we enjoyed every second of our stay. Would go back, but we dont like visiting the same place twice, lol.

Room Tip: if you dont travel with kids, upgrade to "adults" only, but be aware after 9pm it was VERY quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BobbyM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, General Manager at Catalonia Gran Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Dear BobbyM007,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you and for your review. We really appreciate your wonderful comments about the staff being helpful and friendly and the delicious food offer. We will have your remarks about our service at restaurants and in-room maintenance into account, to work on the necessary improvements. We appreciate the time you took in sharing your comments and we look forward in welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

This place is amazing. The beach is clean and beautiful. Staff is super attentive to details and really nice to talk to. The pool is also great with many attractions to see and participate. Paella party and bubble dance is really fun. The theatre counts with nice spectacles. Privileged area is worth it as Terrace has nice drinks and food. The Caribbean food provided by Yucca is the best! Ma-loo bar provides the best juices ever and barman is really nice. Totally recommend it. We came in during high season so waiter service was a little slow but everything was so nice that we didn't actually cared :)

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, General Manager at Catalonia Gran Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Dear Vanessa B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. It is truly pleasant to read your detailed comments where you let us know how pleased you were regarding the service from our friendly team, with our entertainment, the Caribbean food offer at Yuca restaurant and our delicious juices at the Ma-loo bar. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to have the pleasure to serve you again at your home in paradise.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

We are still at the resort about to enjoy our last full day. I have always wanted to return home after a 2 week holiday but not this time. Such a stunning resort, well manicured gardens, every member of staff working so hard with a smile and always a hello. We stayed as a family of 7 in 2 privileged rooms, the rooms were lovely and chilled, just what is needed after a hot day outside, giving you a comfortable nights sleep, bathroom is clean and plenty of room. Being English I love my tea and if your the same bring a travel kettle, as there is a coffee perculator in the room but nothing for us tea lovers, mini bar replenished each day so your never without drinks.
Buffet restaurant has a good selection of food, fresh eggs cooked to order each morning or omelettes. Same with lunch and dinner, always a fresh meat or fish section. The Caribbean Yuca is very nice, as is Rodeo steak and the Italian but we did find we spent most of our time having lunch and dinner at the Privileged Beach bar, Tapas in the evening. The entertainment staff work so hard, they are there all day, always smiling, and in the evening offering some Salsa dancing before their show. They are very talented dancers and a pleasure to watch. Kids loved the swimming pool, shallow sections, roped off deeper sections. Our 3 & 6 year old were in there all day everyday apart from a couple when we went to the beach. No need for shoes on the beach due to rocks which I read in another review, the sand is fabulous (does get hot) and we also didn’t notice any seaweed. The sea is warm and lovely, just a little deep to let little ones loose in. We did take a trip to Saona Island, you can book a private boat or go with a party. We did this 10 years ago and again on this holiday, thoroughly recommended. If you don’t mind a noisy boat ride, with some dancing and rum and coke, it really gives you the Dominican experience so just embrace it. Or pay the bit extra for a quieter more relaxing trip. Saona is incredible, shallow crystal clear water on a stunning beach, party catarmaran there and speed boat back! Best day out and the kids loved it too. You can book this at reception or on the beach, there is also a charming rep Romeo who sells it who we booked through, he’s around the pool 6 days a week, you can’t miss him. Perfect family holiday, aimed at any age, something for everyone. I don’t want to leave and would come back in a heartbeat. I will be singing the Catalonia Theme Tune for months to come ....

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
6  Thank Cousinsparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, General Manager at Catalonia Gran Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Cousinsparty,

Thank you for your wonderful comments, we are so glad to know that you had an excellent stay with us and that you enjoyed the culinary offer, our comfortable suite and excellent service from the privileged guest service team, to make you feel welcomed and pampered. We believe that every aspect of your trip should be as close to perfect as possible to make sure you have an unforgettable trip and it makes us really happy to know that you already want to come back. Thank you again for your preference and great comments, we will be awaiting for your next visit with great joy of having you back for another memorable vacation time at home in paradise.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Fantastic hoilday beautiful resort amazing grounds.food good and plenty of choice. Infinity pool was amazing always beds to chose from.adult side is a lot quieter which we loved.only issue is the seaweed on the beach but they have workers out all day trying to keep on top of it. If your looking for a relaxing hoildays this is the one

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shirleya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, General Manager at Catalonia Gran Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Shirleya W,

Thank you very much for granting us the opportunity to host your recent holidays. We're glad to know that each one of your days was full of relaxing comfort, enjoying the top notch restaurants, the spectacular ground and our beautiful pools. It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back.


Best regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews