We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family reunion in Gran Dom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Catalonia Gran Dominicus
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Fabulous week with my family: group of 18! Only issue was water (or lack of it) in bathroom for 2 nights. Was fixed but a bit rough not to have water. Super nice staff. Great food and cocktails. And let’s not forget the afternoon crepes!! All inclusive is the way to go

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank severinecjmurdoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and for your review. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We will share your comments with the involved department. Thanks for your observations. This is your home and we hope to welcome you back anytime soon.

Best regards.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (6,481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 6,481 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

Nice hotel , on a very beautiful place. The transfer from Punta Cana airport took around 45 min. Check in was fast and the reception team was kind and helpful.
Rooms- nice size, but very updated.
Cleaning- not the best, which we had.
Food -good choice of bars and restaurants. Our favourite place was Ma-loo bar and the Italian restaurant.
Animation- can’t comment as it was mostly orientated for Italians/French (80-90 % of the guests). Most of the animation team doesn’t speak English at all.
Beach -gorgeous. There were some damage from the hurricane, but still was beautiful.
Negative- the split of guests to privileged and not. Very annoying.
If we will go back to this hotel again- NO

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Hati D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominicus C, Director General at Catalonia Gran Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Dear guest,

We are very grateful to hear that you had a great time with us and that you enjoyed the services and facilities. Thank you again for the comments; we certainly look forward to your returning trip in the near future.

Best Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

PROs:
-Loved the grounds and tropical greenery-the hotel is pretty old but with a tropical hacienda-style charm.
-The hotel is not too big and easily walkable even with smaller kids.
-The kids entertainment is cute but mostly done in Italian/French or Spanish.
-Was choosing the place to have the calmest waters and kids-friendly beach. Almost hit the target. In December the sea water was very warm and almost all the time little to not wavy at all. There is a coral reef barrier (artificial?) that attracts fish for some snorkelling too.
-fine Italian tasting pizza at the beach side restaurant for lunch-time snacks (pasta is good too at this hotel, as it caters for Italians).
- good meat dishes at the Rodeo restaurant.

CONs:
-booked a standard room which was a total nightmare: water leaked from everywhere (air conditioning, sink etc), slippery tile floors made my child fall. The shower was barely working and only had cold water. Room was too old and outdated. That was absolutely not safe to stay with a small child, so got the room upgraded, but it almost killed the first impression.
-lots of mosquitoes (rooms too) and no fumigation in sight for the whole week-long stay.
-i have some basic knowledge of some European languages apart from English, otherwise your communication will be a little limited here.
-lots of smokers everywhere even with kids present (beach, bars).
- food selection is just ordinary-nothing outstanding and alcoholic beverages are not well-known international brands when you stay on a standard package.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank olgaUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominicus C, Director General at Catalonia Gran Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Dear Olga,

Thank you for your valuable time in posting your review on Trip Advisor. We hope you had pleasant return back home from your holidays. Please know we are very sorry in regards of the inconveniences presented and apologize for the discontent.

We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you again in the future, and give you the treat you deserve.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

The room was comfortable although a little tired. The cleaner was superb and the room was cleaned beautifully each day.
The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and as we were there just before Christmas the Christmas decorations made it look even better.
The buffet restaurant and bar was very good and the staff efficient and friendly.
Although the pool was very nice it was difficult to find a sunbed. This was also true on the beach.
The worst thing in the hotel was the so called "a la carte" restaurants. We visited the rodeo steak house. We ordered a bottle of red wine outside the all inclusive which was served direct from the fridge, unlike in the buffet restaurant where the house red wine was served correctly at room temperature.
Again the plates were cold rather than as in buffet restaurant where the plates were warm. The started was poor in that I had buffalo wings which had hardly any meet. The main course me and wife ordered was steak, baked potato and asparagus wrapped in bacon. The food arrived without the promised asparagus and as the plates were cold we ate what we were given. The steak was OK the potato poor. We could not attract anyone's attention as the guys dressed in black did not appear to be doing anything and the other guys seemed to have little or no English.
We discussed going to the other two 'a la carte' restaurants with other holiday makers and we were put off by the fact that they considered the steakhouse to be the best of a very bad bunch.

Room Tip: Avoid the la carte restaurants
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gragill_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominicus C, Director General at Catalonia Gran Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Dear guest

We would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations in some aspects of your stay with us. We thank you for bringing these matters to our attention in order to improve these shortfalls with the departments involved. Our staff will take into consideration all of your constructive comments and hope that soon, we will be honored with your visit to show you our improvements.

Best Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

We totally enjoyed being here , OK the room bathroom Decore and air con was a little tired , but the overall complex is beautiful well spaced out with lovely gardens beach and swimming pool and Always something to do which the staff worked hard at either entertaining kids ,beach party , beach BBQ , beach Pieala etc or you can just get out the way somewhere . We found all the food plentifull and very well presented and we always went for more as it was such good quality . A possible down side is that this you get a little harresment from sales reps as resort is upgrading and trying to sell I think ( time share ) but we just cut them short and said no thanks . The good side to that tho is things have to be perfect or people won't buy so in my opinion every thing was great WELL DONE I would visit again

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominicus C, Director General at Catalonia Gran Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comment's with us. We really appreciated your wonderful remarks to the delicious Restaurants and Bar's, the kid's club and, of course, our staff's courteous and friendly service. We hope to have you with us again, your second home Catalonia Gran Dominicus.

Warm Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayahibe hotels
0.4 km away
Catalonia Royal La Romana
Catalonia Royal La Romana
#2 of 16 in Bayahibe
348 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Weare Bayahibe
Hotel Weare Bayahibe
#8 of 16 in Bayahibe
927 reviews
4.4 km away
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
0.6 km away
Be Live Collection Canoa
Be Live Collection Canoa
#12 of 16 in Bayahibe
7,151 reviews
0.9 km away
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Gran Dominicus? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Gran Dominicus

Address: Bayahibe Playa, Bayahibe 10501, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Green Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 Family Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range: ₹ 8,938 - ₹ 32,642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Gran Dominicus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Gran Dominicus is an all-inclusive resort located on the south-east coast of the Dominican Republic and overlooks the white sandy beach of Bayahibe; 25 km. from the famous Caribbean art centre Altos de Chavon and 4.5 km. from the tiny fishing of Bayahibe, close to the Natural Park of the East, home of the biggest remains from the Island's first inhabitants, the Taino Indians; only 30 minutes by boat from Saona and Catalina both wonderful virgin islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Catalonia Gran Dominicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Gran Dominicus Hotel Bayahibe
Catalonia Gran Dominicus La Romana
Gran Dominicus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing