We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Vacation & Wedding!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vacation & Wedding!”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My fiancee and I just recently got back from a Vacation for a friends wedding at Dreams La Romana in Bayahibe and it was fantastic! We were booked in building 7, check in was a breeze, they brought our bags to our room - and a bottle of rum was waiting for us! Air Conditioning in the room was PERFECT!

Tip - the key card goes in the slot by the bathroom to turn on your lights, if this is your first time at a resort this might cause some distress, haha.

I'm a vegetarian and ate very well - try to avoid the Oceana Grill and French Restro as your options are extremely limited there. Long pants are required at the French and Italian dining options - and Flip Flops on men are a bad idea for your dinner/supper.

During the weekend it seemed there was a conference and buses of locals filled the resort, to the point service went extremely down hill. It was a bit too crowded - week days are the best days at this resort.

Don't purchase all your goods on the resort, or even at the vendors - it's cheaper at the Grocery and Shopping stores in the small fishing village of Bayahibe which is a 10 minute walk west of the resort. Price things at the resort before bargaining with the vendors on the beach - they will try and rip you off, and over charge. Be firm and you'll be happy with your purchases.

We swam with Sharks and Stingrays on a wonderful Catamaran cruise with the Marinararium Tour in Punta Cana area - the drive is a tad long (especially if you fly into Punta Cana too) but it was WELL worth it. Underwater cameras are a must!!

There were some complaints on here about the beach, and how it had a "rocky" landscape on some parts - trust me, the sand is plenty and the landscape isn't the rocks your thinking of, it's beautifully sculped coral - as seen in the photos posted. It's a real Dominican coast line, real life - stunning beautiful.

Alexis in the swim up bar is the most animated of all the employees - make sure to not forget your money at this bar for a good tip - he deserves it!

Room Tip: Buildings 5-8 are the newer upgraded rooms - a little more modernized than the other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Ardnas87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

10,864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,787
    2,688
    952
    278
    159
See reviews for
3,808
4,776
125
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,250)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Over all , great hotel,good service,excellent restaurants,small portion of beach that wasn't rockey.Great pools,plenty of beach chairs.Stayed in block 4 , great location .This was the first use of our RCI points vacation and was very happy with it. The only reason we(mid 60's couple) won't go back ,we prefer adults only hotels and a better beach

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunnydaysvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We have just returned from this hotel, The rooms were wonderful, we had a partial ocean view room 4236 - was next to the pool and overlooked the sea, no complaints at all, which is unusual for me as i usually change rooms on arrival. our son and wife had deluxe garden view in bloc 4 which had amazing high ceilings, rooms were always cleaned and fresh coffee and mini bar stocked up every day. They even supplied factor 15 sun cream for us.
The food was never bad and you have the luxury of going to each restaurant as many times as you want. we used to have our breakfast at the seaside grille not in the buffet restaurant, it is right on the sea front, and we loved the ambiance it created each morning eating in the sunshine.
The entertainment team were very enthusuastic and always full of energy, they can not be faulted.
You could change your beach towels as many times a day as you wanted.
Our only criticism was the nightly entertainment, at 9.30 every evening it was either watching a dance group or watching people make fools of themselves (although the dance group shows were good) we would have liked a bit more variety. That is just our opinion and were not saying it wasnt good it just wasnt for us. A couple of evenings at 10.30 they had dancing on the beach which was lovely and had a magician one night as well.
Overall this is one of the best resort hotels we have ever been to and would highly reccomend it to any body of any age, catered for young children and teenagers which we thought was fantastic as they could enjoy their holidays as well.
Well done to the Dreams management and staff :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank KentHappytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

dreams la romana hotel is a very nice place with excellent service and the entertainment team are Excellent offering many activities all day and evening. the food is excellent, the bar staff are excellent. Had an amazing time here definetely come back again =D

Room Tip: block number 7 is very quite to sleep at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tora-mottram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio City, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I am a little late with this review but here goes: We enjoyed our October 2011 week-long vacation, but we will not return to Dream, La Romana. The main problem was the beach area. Beach was stunted by only about 6 feet wide of sand.We could not take leisurely walks on the beach because it was impossible. Lots of rocky, cliff-like areas and people sunning themselves ended up arm-to-arm closeness and laying mostly in the small patches of trees.

We have been to DR 13 times. This resort was ok and one perk was sitting at the buffet and watching the hummingbirds. Behind there they had a small enclose area that housed flamingos, turtles, peacocks, and a cage of interesting birds.

We found the staff pleasant enough and our room was fine but aged. Actually, it's not too bad there but a little boring even for us who are very low key and easily pleased. Just check out other reviews prior to booking. However, go to DR with good attitude and leave your worries behind.

*note: We flew into Santo Domingo and it is a very long ride to resort. Did not know at the time, there's a closer airport just minutes away. Please check that out depending who you are purchasing your vacation from.

We love the DR and have been 3 times just this year including Puerto Plata and Punta Cana. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Just pray! lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank yayaaiaaeop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayahibe
12.0 km away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
4.5 km away
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
55.8 km away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.4 km away
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
#13 of 112 in Punta Cana
11,183 reviews
56.8 km away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
37.3 km away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa

Property: Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Address: Bayahibe 22000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Spa Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 Green Hotel in Bayahibe
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,522 - ₹ 29,675
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a world of pristine beaches, lush tropical jungle and turquoise sea on the southeast coast of the Dominican Republic, Dreams La Romana is the perfect resort for singles, couples and families. Unlimited Luxury Enjoy the many amenities of Unlimited-Luxury at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, where nearly everything is included. Every gourmet meal, every fine wine and cocktail, and so much more. At Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, these amenities include: •Elegant accommodations with incredible views •Gourmet dining at eleven specialty restaurants •24-hour room service •Unlimited top-shelf spirits at seven festive bars and lounges •All day and nighttime activities and entertainment •Option to upgrade to Preferred Club privileges •Free WiFi and international calling with Unlimited Connectivity (coming soon) •Full breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks •Unlimited natural fruit juices and soft drinks •Unlimited international and domestic top-shelf spirits •Complimentary mini-bar refreshed daily with soft drinks, juices, bottled water and beer •24-hour room service •Specialty restaurants with no reservations required •Themed parties, oceanfront bars and entertainment venues •Pristine swimming pools •Pool and beach wait service •Endless daytime activities and live nightly entertainment •Explorer's Club for kids with supervised activities •Core Zone Teens Club with teen activities •Fitness center •No wristbands required •All taxes and gratuities Unlimited Top-Shelf Spirits Enjoy international and domestic top-shelf spirits, fine wines and ice-cold beer at any of our seven bars and lounges. Then keep the party going with 24-hour room service and your own complimentary mini-bar. All of your favorite drinks are served without limit or expected gratuities at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa. World-Class Spa Indulge and invigorate your senses with a day in the Dreams Spa by Pevonia. Spanning more than 21,000 square feet, the on-site spa at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa offers a la carte treatment options ranging from the traditional to transcendent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams La Romana Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Hotel Bayahibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing