We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“the best vacation in dreams” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dreams La Romana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dreams La Romana
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Bayahibe
GreenLeadersGold level
plainfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the best vacation in dreams”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

i had a great vacation . it's everything that i expected to be . everybody was very friendly especially i like the logo "excelente" don't the drinks in addition to it .also the enterment team .especially caramelo ,ariel and coca cola 'andy capechino,foka ,jamesbond don't forget dj francis. th e wellcoming at the entrance on my fisrt day was magnificence of course the champagne.. the housekeepng lady was extremely good . she went above and beyond . overall the service was above excellent. i plan to come back again soon . sincerely joseph lafontant / alange dornelus .

Room Tip: we enjoyed our room "building # 5111.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joseph l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

9,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,623
    2,360
    857
    266
    149
See reviews for
3,162
4,116
109
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,950)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bonn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

It was our first trip to Dreams La Romana. The first thing I have to say " it was excellent". The waitres was always very frindly. The animation team was one of the best if have ever met in a Holiday club. There are a lot of activitis you can do like waterpolo or step aerobic, dance lesson with the entertainment team are excellent.

Room Tip: block number 7 are the best rooms. Club Preffered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TSchneiderBonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

went here in Feb 2011 for my sisters wedding with the extended family. on arrival we were greeted with help with our luggage and a glass of champagne.. a nice start i thought.. slight mix up on arrival with our room, we had booked a double but had a twin... short while later and no hassle the room was changed and we were left to begin our holiday. The rooms are quite spectacular, very large and beautifully decorated to a rather high standard. The view from our balcony was slightly disappointing. The surrounding area is so beautiful and so close to the beach that i was expecting a wonderful view but straight across from us was more rooms which is what we looked on to and there are palm trees planted all over so basically all you can see are palm trees.
however once out the room the resort is beautiful and there is so much of it! there are numerous restaurants and eatery's and bars. some of the fancier restaurants such as the italian are a little over the top in my opinion... tiny portions of food after a 45 minute wait!! i preferred the world cafe buffet because you didn't have to wait and there was a wide array of choices. there are 3 pools and they are spacious and very nice and the whole place was very clean. the only downside to the resort in my opinion was that it was too overcrowded. If you pay alot of money for luxury i think that's what you should get.. and it would have been if it was not so booked.... every day we struggled to find some sun loungers and it usually meant a 20 minute search just to find 2 somewhat near one another. that in my opinion should not happen in a 5 star luxury accommodation. other than that the place is beautiful and the staff were very friendly. i would recommend this hotel but i might suggest enquiring as to what the least busy times to go are and go then.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AmyLL11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We just returned from our second trip to Dreams La Romana, our first being when it was still Sunscape Casa Del Mar. I must say, our previous visits to the Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus were much better and I would not recommend this resort. We have traveled for 11 days in the start of April.

Most people come to this resort for the beach, although if you are a non-preferred guest, do not expect to get any space under the shade. Many locals are attempting to access the beach prompting the security guards to not allow guests of the hotel back in without showing a room key. Members of our group had to wake up at 4:00 AM to get 6 seats in the shade. The beach is nowhere like it was 5 years ago… Over half of the coastline is full of rocks and “pits” making it impossible to access the water without getting cut. I have tried the complimentary kayaks provided at the resort, although it is impossible to last more than 10 minutes in the kayak due to it not having any back support.

The World Café had the worst selection I’ve ever seen. The only food edible was the pizza, which is rarely available. Be ready to walk around the buffet for 10 minutes to find a clean plate. The worst experiences I had were during breakfast at the omelet station… The line takes about 25 minutes to get an omelet and don’t be surprised to see family members cutting in line. 2 days before we left, they held the Gala buffet, with the specialty being a seafood mix. A message to the chef: Please make sure there isn’t any sand inside the lobster. When cutting the lobster, we were very surprised to find a lot of sand inside it. We frequently had upset stomachs after eating the food in the buffet. The specialty restaurants were also a joke. Expect to stand 2 hours with a beeper and another 45 minutes to get appetizers. We arrived at the Asian restaurant at 7pm and left at 10:30pm. We tried the grouper there and spent all of the next day in the restroom. The meat at the Grill is impossible to chew making us regret waiting in line for 2 hours to enter. The only restaurant with edible food was Bordeaux, the French restaurant, although they attempted to refuse entry to an 18 year old teen who didn’t carry identification on him.

The only reason I’m giving this resort a 2/5 and not a 1/5, is due to the rooms. I stayed in the 4th building on the third floor and the rooms were great. We were given a partial ocean view at no additional charge. The ceilings were huge and the room looked very modern. Not all rooms were renovated, so I would specifically ask for one when checking in.
The snorkeling off the resort beach was alright, there are 2 places to go snorkeling, one to the right of the dock and another is right ahead of the swimming area, and the other straight out passed the swim area – near the poles warning boats of low water. Compared to the Iberostar, the varieties of fish were very limited although we did see some stingrays and cuttlefish.

The entertainment was nonexistent. Throughout the entire trip, the only activity being recruited for was darts with 5 year olds. The shows at night weren’t very original and I can’t say I was very impressed. The most commotion was during the Michael Jackson show. Roughly 10 minutes into the performance, over half of the audience got up and left.
Another issue I discovered during my trip is the lack of beach towels. It took multiple phone calls to a manager to finally get us fresh towels throughout our stay. Turndown service wasn’t provided during our stay, making me feel like I’m staying at a cheap Holiday Inn, and not a 5* resort like they say it is. We also came back to our room one day, to find tens of small bugs crawling on the bedside table. We contacted the lobby to report the problem, although they requested we call the operator as they are unable to help us. Overall, this has been a horrible experience and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. If you’re looking for a hotel in the area, I would suggest choosing the Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 4th building on the 3rd floor, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dshargorodsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was our second year at Dreams LR and the experience only got better. Visited Apr 4-11, which got a bit busy being Easter week, but the staff handled it just fine. We stayed in Bldg 5 which I highly recommend since it's a little away from the action of the pools/beach, but close enough to half the restaurants/gym/spa (ask for a room closer to the beach end, it's more quiet). The beach got a little crowded and you did need to "reserve" chairs early on, otherwise you'd be stuck (the shady cabana type places were taken very early in bulk by the Russian NYers which there seem to be a lot of this year).

The staff is the best part, the service is wonderful, everyone was great from the restaurants staff, the room maids, entertainment staff (Coca Cola, Picasso Caramello all so wonderful and hard working), the Explorer club staff etc all wonderful. Alexis at the swim up bar is unforgettable, he brings life to the place, too funny.. Belkis at the fruit boat and she also does the juice bar at World Cafe in the morning is amazing, always a smile on her face and just lovely. We only had one issue at departure where a staff member did not assist us, just a warning - if you reserve your own private car transfer make sure you tell Concierge (we told the bell boy at the front entrance to ensure our driver is let in through security gate, but he was not allowed in thus delaying us - only after I got upset did bell boy tell me I have to let Concierge know that I have a driver pick us up - he could have told me this 1 hour prior when I alerted him about our private pick up). Have a feeling he wanted to give the business to a friend driver of his, he kept telling me to take this cab driver if my driver does not show up in 5 min (meanwhile my driver was stuck outside the gates for 20-30 min)..

The food was fine, plenty of options to try, French and Italian were our favorites (be aware men have to wear long pants and no open toe shoes at these 2 restaurants - we saw plenty of men turned away for this)...Waiting time is also longer for these since only 1 of them is usually open per night - suggest getting there 6:30/6:45 otherwise you'll have to wait a while...Also if you are a big group try to get there early to sit together or even try to reserve a big table (even though they don't take reservations) with concierge early in the day (we had to split up a couple of times because they did not have big tables any more)..

Spa was great, Ana Maria was great masseuse, the setting is beautiful, definitely walk around the gardens, use the jacuzzi in there etc just beautiful..Concierge was also helpful, we had a birthday celebration and they were on top of all our requests (cake, champagne/balloons etc), we reserved the private room "wine cellar" in the French/Italian restaurants and it was worth it, privacy to be loud and celebrate without bothering the rest of the guests..Our waiter Louis was wonderful as well as Isabel the hostess, but again all the staff is really great.

Overall, a great vacation, will definitely be back and try other Dreams as well.

Room Tip: Bldg 5 at the beach end, top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kamommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayahibe
12.0 km away
Casa de Campo
Casa de Campo
#1 of 11 in La Romana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
4.0 km away
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
4.3 km away
Catalonia Gran Dominicus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
55.8 km away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
59.4 km away
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
#16 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,445 reviews
56.8 km away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams La Romana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams La Romana

Property: Dreams La Romana
Address: Playa Bayahibe | P.O. Box 80, Bayahibe 22000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 Green Hotel in Bayahibe
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,978 - ₹ 38,711
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams La Romana 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a world of pristine beaches, lush tropical jungle and turquoise sea on the southeast coast of the Dominican Republic, Dreams La Romana is the perfect resort for singles, couples and families. Unlimited Luxury Enjoy the many amenities of Unlimited-Luxury at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, where nearly everything is included. Every gourmet meal, every fine wine and cocktail, and so much more. At Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, these amenities include: •Elegant accommodations with incredible views •Gourmet dining at eleven specialty restaurants •24-hour room service •Unlimited top-shelf spirits at seven festive bars and lounges •All day and nighttime activities and entertainment •Option to upgrade to Preferred Club privileges •Free WiFi and international calling with Unlimited Connectivity (coming soon) •Full breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks •Unlimited natural fruit juices and soft drinks •Unlimited international and domestic top-shelf spirits •Complimentary mini-bar refreshed daily with soft drinks, juices, bottled water and beer •24-hour room service •Specialty restaurants with no reservations required •Themed parties, oceanfront bars and entertainment venues •Pristine swimming pools •Pool and beach wait service •Endless daytime activities and live nightly entertainment •Explorer's Club for kids with supervised activities •Core Zone Teens Club with teen activities •Fitness center •No wristbands required •All taxes and gratuities Unlimited Top-Shelf Spirits Enjoy international and domestic top-shelf spirits, fine wines and ice-cold beer at any of our seven bars and lounges. Then keep the party going with 24-hour room service and your own complimentary mini-bar. All of your favorite drinks are served without limit or expected gratuities at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa. World-Class Spa Indulge and invigorate your senses with a day in the Dreams Spa by Pevonia. Spanning more than 21,000 square feet, the on-site spa at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa offers a la carte treatment options ranging from the traditional to transcendent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Dreams La Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams La Romana Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Hotel Bayahibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing