We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst holiday ever!!”
Review of Vemara Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vemara Club Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Byala
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

We are a family of 8 and have recently left vemara club. Our holiday was a complete disaster. Filthy dirty! Wires hanging out everywhere. Dirty bedding and towels. 3 out of group got food poisoning from the all inclusive, couldn't even drink from a clean glass or eat from clean cutlery. Unless you're Russian then no one wants to help. Reception couldn't even order a taxi for us. Everything you ask at reception you get the same reply... "I don't know". Manager at the hotel was a waste of space sat around all day drinking coffee or beer. No animation team (also drunk) the man that runs the poor bar was lovely. Rooms wasn't cleaned so we had no toiletries, asked at reception for some toilet roll, obviously he didn't know where it was so passed us 4 bars of soap. You honestly couldn't make this stuff up. Russians have access to restaurant first, a hour and a half later we could go in, we was the only British in the hotel so was just left over food for us. Everyone should be treated the same, it's a disgrace. Pool was dirty full of people's hairs, flies and leaves. Birds nests on the balconies, so the balcony are full of bird poo which is full of diseases. I am making a full complaint about this disgusting hotel. I will also upload the pictures so you can see what I'm talking about. A week from hell.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Surena89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2016

Vemara Club is a 3* hotel but quite expensive (we had to pay more than trip to 4* hotel that got suddenly cancelled due to political sittuation) and this offer was our last minute decision. We have travelled as a couple and were looking for quiet holidays which is exactly what we found in this area. Hotel itself is not so big - 2 wings, 5 floors each (1 is counted as ground floor with reception desk), approx. 10 rooms per floor, but it was fully booked so also very crowded. We ordered room with sea view and got view on outside restaurant - if we wanted to see the sea, we had to bend over balcony and search trough trees. Nevertheless room was really nice: big bed, night lamps each side, closet, 1 chair, desk with hidden fridge and a flat screen tv on top (usb slot not working but bulgarian cable tv was ok). The bathroom was mid sized, with toilette, sink, hairdryer and corner shower (with cracked shower tray). As a start there were 4 towels prepared for us (2 large and 2 medium), after exchanging them we got 3 and next time only 2. The cleaning service through our 12 day stay visited us maybe 3 or 4 times only and once leaving a roll of toilette paper on door handle. The room air condition was working really well but after a week the condenser that was on our balcony started leeking and we had paddle of water few times a day. Almost each balcony and window in this hotel and every hotel in this area, had lots of swallows nests which were leaving dirty marks from the birds.
The reception area was mostly clean and with helpful staff, who is fluent in russian but not in english. The wi-fi connection was available only there and was occupied by children and adults almost all the time, so don't count on high transfer.
The swimming pool area had not enough space around and few sun beds available, which people were trying to "book" with towels or sheets even before 8:00 am. The pool is medium sized (approx. 4 x 12 m) and was very strongly chlorinated, so the water was almost sour. The plus was a pool bar just few steps away, with friendly staff and some extra chairs and tables. The snacks next to pool in the afternoon are myth - I saw a waiter bringing pizza only once and before she came to the table almost all food was gone :) after that they moved all food to main restaurant.
The main restaurant was just outside of the hotel's fence on the other side of street, it has two levels, where one of them was under the roof. With fully booked hotel it was almost impossible to find a free table to eat and the queue was almost to each stand, so it was better to wait for last 45-30 min of serving to ensure you have free place to sit. The restaurant staff could be doing better as the dirty dishes were not taken from the tables for quite some time and the tables were often dirty. The food was ok as in such hotels - some local, some universal food, but there are few things to complain here about. The food was cold - even straight after it was brought from the kitchen behind the wall. The "show cooking" means you can see large barbecue and fryers next to food station (with all the smell and smoke coming to the tables), the table behind the barbecue where huge bags of deep-frozen food are melting in the sun and then are thrown on grill or in the oil (positive - this was only hot food you could get there!;). We have not managed to get to the a'la carte restaurant (open on mondays and thursdays) as it was already booked for both days in our first week and in second week they moved opening day to wednesday (we were leaving tuesday), but I've heard the food is exactly the same as in main restaurant only less and served to you by waitress. So good advice - if you're interested, book it on day one. The Sky Bar on the roof was really nice place - open from 20 till 23, so you can get away from children animation time by the pool (each evening the same music and games). They served amazing cocktails and could prepare something extra (like burning tower) if you asked - plus the bartenders are super nice to everyone even if their english is not so good.
The hotel beach that is advertised as 450m away is not so great - you have to walk wavy, steep road to get to harbor with stony breakwater and on limited sand area with loads of green algae there is access to sea (with more floating algae for at least first 5 meters from shore). The better alternative, in walking distance, is a wild beach approx. 700 m from hotel. After going uphill through field road you get to concrete stairs which take you down to lovely quiet sandy beach. The beach is extending from headland till Byala Central beach with yellow sands and smooth entry to very clean sea. The way back is not the best one (313 stairs up) but you will have wooden benches to stop and rest few times - the beach is really worth the effort.
If you do not want to get tired, there is hotel shuttle bus (free of charge) that will take you to Byala Central Beach, with sunbeds/umbrellas/beach shops and loads of other tuorists. From 5 pm till 9 pm there is also additional bus that would take you to town centre and it costs 1 leva per person one way.
The better place to visit if you want more lively area is town of Obzor that is visible on other side of the bay. The most recommended trip you cannot miss is UNESCO heritage city of Nessebyr.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glusia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

It was the second time when we came for 8 nights in Vemara. First time we came as couple , and now with 2 years old baby. We booked sea view double room. They gave us the room but wasnt sea view and we talked with manager and he upgraded us to a bigger double room with sea view. Food was good. Entertainment for kids is great. The sea is quite far away from hotel and there is windy. So we choosed to go to Byala beach with personal car or with bus provided by hotel.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank IoanaDinescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

We just finished today an 8 nights vacation to Vemara club. We arrived in the hotel earlier than 14:00, but they checked us in, but we could not have the all inclusive bracelets until 14:00..
Wasnt a problem, we had very good and cheap lunch in the town. Family rooms are very big, evendough the partition wasnt done by a very good architect . Food was good, we like it, mostly cooked food, similar to romanian food. Staff very nice and helpfull, except some of the managers who felt like giving a hard time to waiters in front of the clients. Entertaintment for kids was good. Every evening at 9:30pm was a different show.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank IoanaDinescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2014

We booked the hotel via local travel agency with the idea to spend a week in rest and piece. But then all turned out a total nightmare. When we arrived the stuff wasn't completely sure in which room we should be. They made us go from one building to another with the entire luggage waiting for the cleaning lady to bring us the keys. When they finally cleared it out another problem raised – the elevator didn't work. Anyway after two hours we finally had our room. We spend the rest of day walking around, having dinner, etc. and imagine our surprise when at midnight we found a human hair on our bed sheets. The phone in the room didn't work, so we had to go to the reception (and that after we put our pajamas). Well, long story short – we waited another two hours a young receptionist to fix the problem. This is a good place to share we thought this is a 4 star hotel and the day after the bedding crisis the hotel manager told us it’s actually 3 stars and the thing they could do – offer us another “better“ room. So we packed our things and moved for 100 time. The new room wasn’t clean as well. The only difference was the view – we could see the sea.
The hotel offers a special dinner at the Panorama restaurant. I, as a vegetarian, decided to share this info and the reception lady called in front of me to the chef. Of course at the dinner there wasn’t something for me so they just filled up my plate with potatoes and salads.
In our voucher it was written we would have a free Wi-Fi in the hotel area. When we asked for the pass the receptionist told us we need to pay. After another conversation with the manager we finally got it. But then… the pass was only for one device. Even it was annoying we just couldn’t begin another fight.
I would never go to this place again. The stuff is polite, but the rooms are total mess (missing lamps and recycle bins, dirty bedding and towels, if you dare to step with bare foot on the floor you feel like you are at the beach), the drinks – unknown brands, low quality. The beach of the hotel it’s just awful. The only thing that was ok – the food. There wasn’t such a great diversity, but if you are there at the first hour you have the chance to eat.

Room Tip: Rooms looking at the pool are too loud. Every night the animation team organizes different events an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doshi_do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byala hotels
187.9 km away
Byala Beach Resort
Byala Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Byala
108 reviews
188.2 km away
Hotel Verona
Hotel Verona
#1 of 20 in Byala
11 reviews
1.4 km away
Silver Beach Resort
Silver Beach Resort
#4 of 37 in Byala
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Guest House Alla
Guest House Alla
#9 of 20 in Byala
3 reviews
2.7 km away
No photo provided
Family Hotel Rusalka
#8 of 20 in Byala
5 reviews
3 km away
Prostor Guest House
Prostor Guest House
#11 of 37 in Byala
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vemara Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vemara Club Hotel

Address: | Sveti Atanas Cape, Byala 9101, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Byala
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Byala
Price Range: ₹ 3,909 - ₹ 10,959 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vemara Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Vemara Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vemara Club Hotel Byala, Varna Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing