We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace, perfect peace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parador de Cangas de Onis
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Cangas de Onis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This was our 3rd Parador on this trip - and the best. Very quiet, beautiful views of the river and the mountains and the best meal we had on our stay. It was also the cheapest of the 5 hotels we stayed in on this holiday and easily the best value for money.
We will definitely go back there.

Room Tip: Any room will do, we stayed in the cheapest and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 223 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

This Parador is situated in the hamlet of Villanueva, 2kms downstream from Cangas de Onis, so one can escape the tourist crowds. One cannot, however, escape noisy discotheque wedding parties on a saturday night. Given that this hotel was the most expensive of our summer holiday we were not expecting to have our late night romantic dinner conversation drowned out by the pounding bassline and wailings of Shakira's Greatest etc. It was interesting and revealing to note the response of the Parador staff when (inevitably) people complained. They agreed that it was awful, but emphasised that it was worse for them because they had to put up with it for most of the day. However, I wanted to point out, they were being paid, but we were paying. This difference is sometimes lost to Parador employees. Other than that, our room (in the new annexe) was new, spacious, characterless and comfortable (although you can hear the main road traffic with the window open, so it is hardly mountain isolation), and the reception staff friendly. The walk up river (stay on left side) to Cangas is pleasantly free of traffic and there are a couple of bars in Villanueva (although not great places to hang out: basically you have to eat in the Parador unless you bring a torch and brave the path back from Cangas in the dark). An enjoyable days walk can be had by continuing upstream from Cangas, crossing the Puente Romano and turning left, staying as close to the river as you can. After 90mins or so you cross the river at a hydroelectric station to reach the main road (bar to the left). This Parador maybe makes a interesting first stop for Brits arriving from the Santander Ferry, but unless you get an off-season deal our experience here made us feel it was overpriced. I would, in any case, recommend avoiding the North Coast of Spain during August.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Bicholisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My family and I spent 6 nights in this hotel, booking 2 connecting rooms. I cannot say enough about the staff, their warmth and friendliness. The property is rustic and lovely, in a beautiful area of Spain perfect for discovering the Picos de Europa. We had problems with the Wi-Fi in our rooms and the staff quickly resolved it by installing a "repeater" near our rooms. THAT was quite impressive, as the same problem was NOT resolved at other, more expensive properties we stayed at during this 4-month Spain/France trip. Our rooms were in the main building; they were spacious, comfortable and decorated perfectly, in keeping with the rustic ambiance of the hotel. The buffet breakfasts were quite good and the wait staff quickly brought anything you asked for that was not readily available, like tomato juice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank memwalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We have stayed at paradors before and know they can vary, but no-one else would be allowed to build hotels in the places they are found.

This is a very good one - recently built on an old monastery site, with good modern features, well-designed in sympathy with the original building of which sadly little remains.

After an excellent restaurant dinner (local fish), restful sleep in large twin beds & magnificent breakfast, we walked alongside the river 2 km into the bustling town of Cangis de Onis.

The parador is perfectly positioned for an easy drive to the coast - 25 km to Ribadesella - or up the twisty mountain roads to Covadonga & beyond into the Picos de Europa.

All the staff seemed very happy and were very helpful, from the barman serving tapas to the room maid bringing chocolates!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sid_Severn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

The setting,building, our room, and bathroom were all perfect. Loved the little museum displays about the archaeology of the monestry. We walked for quite a long way along the river bank, which is accessed from behind the church. I didn't rate this Parador as excellent only because I thought the dining room a little gloomy and it smelled a bit musty. The overhead lighting and the arrangement of the tables in rows doesn't help the ambience; this could be a lovely room. Apart from this I would happily recommend this fine historic hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingerpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cangas de Onis
15.1 km away
Hotel Maria Manuela
Hotel Maria Manuela
#1 of 1 in Benia de Onis
1,020 reviews
1.9 km away
La Cepada Hotel
La Cepada Hotel
#3 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
433 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Los Lagos Nature
Hotel Los Lagos Nature
#12 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 km away
Hotel & Spa Villa de Mestas
7.9 km away
Puebloastur Eco-Resort Wellness & Spa
2.3 km away
Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel Santa Cruz
#8 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Cangas de Onis? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Cangas de Onis

Address: Villanueva de Cangas, s/n, 33550, Cangas de Onis, Spain
Region: Spain > Asturias > Cangas de Onis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cangas de Onis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cangas de Onis
Price Range: ₹ 5,357 - ₹ 10,714 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Cangas de Onis 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Parador de Cangas de Onis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Cangas De Onis Hotel Cangas De Onis
Parador De Cangas Onis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing