We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
223
30
14
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
30
14
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tea plantation colobus monkeys national park long drive soups common areas one of a kind every meal an amazing place hot water chimp trek infinity pool trees lodge torch paradise scenery
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018

real luxury hotel, beautifully designed, so gorgeous you don't want to leave, staff incredibly nice, activities on site...but food really sub-optimal given the price paid...infinity pool facing the forest is one of a kind, absolutely spectacular

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank injimol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017

This lodge is a gem. It was absolutely beautiful. The lodge is situated amongst tea plantations. It's quite a journey by road depending on where you are travelling from. We were driving from the volcanoes national park and it was quite a long drive. The lodge is modern, tastefully decorated and spacious. The common areas were very comfortable to relax in with fire places and several different seating areas to enjoy a drink or snack. The breakfast is also of high quality, with a wide selection of options hot or cold. You can also eat outside on the balcony just off the dining room, if there are tables available and the weather allows. The bedrooms were modern and well furnished and the bathroom had a large tub. Hot water was not a problem here and was plentiful, as opposed to another lodge we had stayed at during our trip. The room was comfortable and had amazing views into the forest. Ideally located to see the chimpanzees etc, the forest was particularly mesmerising on our chimp trek, there was a morning mist and from a elevated vantage point, the tree tops were the only part of the trees visible, with the base covered in mist. The food was the biggest pro for us, we enjoyed every meal at the lodge and was the best food we had in all of Rwanda. The soups were absoloutley delicious. It can get very dark at night so make sure you take your torches with you, as the rooms are located a short walk away from the main areas. The service in general was nice and attentive. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, it was the perfect ending to our trip of Rwanda. Highly recommended!!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

and it is INCREDIBLE! Tell Justin (the manager) that Tony sent you because they nailed "the details"! the staff was super helpful. the food was amazing. exec chef named "Treasure" was truly that. he came from One and Only Cape town. His rise to his current position is an incredible story...and he is incredibly humble about it. someone should make a movie!

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

What an amazing place, breathtaking scenary, amazingly fresh air , the surrounding tea plantation and the beutiful hills, the wooden villas, i would recommend this to any one who is looking for a romantic location

Room tip: Try get villas close to the dining area hihihih
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EddyA232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

Nyungwe Forest Lodge was a perfect spot for a 3 night stop that allowed us to visit the golden and colobus monkeys and chimpanzees. The room was very spacious, modern and opening onto the forest. The meals were also of a high standard and the restaurant ambiance was very calming and connected to the forest. I would highly recommend this lodge for anyone needing a stopover for their Primates tour. Very impressive property.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 173FrancisB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews