We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nyungwe Forest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Wonderful location, although the actual mountain view is not that spectacular. We were not able to afford to stay here, but we did have a drink and dinner. Crazy expensive for house wine and the pour was 'small', $8. You can get the same wine in Kigali for about $4 a full glass. The set menu was $30 a person. the food was sparse, average and disappointing.
i would stay somewhere else, eat somewhere else and just go and have a walk around and a sit by the very lovely infinity pool.
no problem with the staff, they were very friendly and accomodating

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2017

After travveling 10 days through Uganda and Ruanda this was the perfect place to relax. Extremly friendly and welcoming personel. I dtayed 3 days and didn' t get bored, went for walks in the Nyungwe Forest, enjoyed the infinity pool and the gorgeous food. Just walking distance to the Tea plantation, but the massage is also advisable. It is quite a long drive to this place but worthwhile. So stay at least 2 nights.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nalitu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We looked so much forward (after reading all the positive Tripdvisor reviews about this place) to spend a romatic evening in the lodge with a nice dinner. What a misfortune! The design and location in the tea plantation is great. We were however very surprised that the price of the only housewine offered (we have had the same in many medicor places in Rwanda for 15 US Dollars per bottle) in this restaurant was 8 US Dollars per glass. We asked for another house wine alternative but neither the waiter nor the restaurant manager were able to offer us any alternative (what they offered was to open one of their normal bottles and charge us 15 US Dollars per glass). The hotel manager never responded on our request to talk to him. You can imagine what happens if this is your start of a evening. We experienced the food as average. We did not feel well afterwards (and we found out the next morning at chimpangzee tracking that we were not the only ones. Some other dinner guests felt not well after the same dinner and they had to stay at their rooms). We will not return or recommend this place. It feels like the Lodge behaves like a 5 star place but only delivers as a 3 star…..(at least dinner wise).

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank JAEMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016

Would I stay here again? Yes, absolutely, it's one of the nicest places I've ever visited and had excellent service--except on the bikes they give you to use. But for the price per night (upwards of 400 USD) you'd think non-alchololic drinks like soda and African tea would be included, wouldn't you? They're not. That left a bad taste in my mouth!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016

What a great spot. Yep it's expensive but it's on another level to pretty much everything else in Rwanda (and probably Uganda). Beautiful modern lodge and rooms in a mind-blowing setting (it's in a tea plantation overlooking the forest). Service is faultless and the food is spot on.

It's being taken over by One & Only so is undergoing a refurbishment from the end of January 2017. Hopefully they won't change it too much!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gafunzo
27.9 km away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#3 of 4 in Bukavu
23 reviews
2.4 km away
Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel
35.5 km away
Kitabi EcoCenter
Kitabi EcoCenter
#1 of 1 in Gikongoro
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 km away
Emeraude Kivu Resort
Emeraude Kivu Resort
#1 of 7 in Cyangugu
78 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Nyungwe Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nyungwe Forest Lodge

Address: Nyungwe Forest, Gafunzo 00250, Rwanda
Region: Rwanda > Western Province > Gafunzo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Gafunzo
Price Range: ₹ 75,796 - ₹ 1,02,548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nyungwe Forest Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is the only five star establishment within the Nyungwe National Park area. It lies in a tea plantation on the edge of the Nyungwe closed canopy rain forest and comprises of 20 luxurious rooms and two Presidential Suites – with 2bedrooms – luxurious suites, one with a Jacuzzi, each equipped with private decks with views overlooking the vast forest terrain. Lodge facilities include an outdoor heated swimming pool, a boma for outdoor dining and sundowners, a restaurant with private terrace, a tea lounge and bar, a relaxation retreat with two treatment rooms, plus a fitness centre with treadmill, cycle and weights. The lodge also offers the latest in Wi-Fi technology with exclusive conferences facilities accommodating up to 18 delegates. Furthermore, the main lodge is wheelchair friendly with relevant facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels and Booking.com so you can book your Nyungwe Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nyungwe Forest Hotel Kigali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing